We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Palisades Resort is Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palisades Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palisades Resort to your Saves list
Palisades Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   14200 Avalon Road, Orlando, FL 34787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Palisades Resort is Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The Resort was great, the crew was excellent, and I would defiantly stay there again. Whenever you are in Florida this is where you need to stay. I got a lot of great recommendations on where to eat and different venues to attend. I travel a lot and having great service is paramount on where I stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    112
    53
    30
    29
See reviews for
321
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently. Upon arrival we were met by the manager (I think his name was Lucen?) who greeted us warmly. We were showed to our rooms which were clean and fresh after a long trip. The service was great and the staff went out of their way to get us anything we required.

We will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Here is the note I sent to ITS
To whom it may concern:

We just got back from Orlando (April 21-25) staying at the Palisades Resort. I am so disappointed and wanted to lodge a formal complaint. I paid over $110 per night to stay there plus the $200 I pay ITS every year to find us nice places to stay. I did call you and state my disappointment but was told that since we didn't file a complaint the same night we got there, there was nothing you could do. However, I paid you the $440.00 not the Palisades. Below is a list of things that went wrong:


1) Burner on the stove was broken

2) Vertical blinds fell off the window when we tried to close them. We told management several times but they never did come and fix them so we had to be careful at night so others couldn't see in. The person we reported it to was named Sky.

3) The carpet was really dirty with stains

4) Remote on the TV didn't work

5) Beds were in bad shape - noisy and lumpy and very hard

6) The hot tub couldn't be used because it was dirty

7) Cookware was in terrible shape. The handle on the frying pan was loose and was ready to come off. The cookware was Teflon but metal utensils had been used on them so they were badly scratched. Very cheap.

8) The continental breakfast consisted of packaged (who knows how old) pastries. The 2 toasters they had didn't work so if you wanted to toast your bagel, you couldn't.

9) When we went to print off our boarding pass to come home, the printer didn't work. We were not surprised.

10) If you wanted clean towels or any kind of maid service, it cost extra. $5 for a towel, $30 to make the bed etc.


We started talking to management about these problems the first day we got there but apparently the were never recorded. We wanted to make this trip special for my grandson before he left for military service. I am requesting a partial refund for our stay there. Several pictures attached.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This marked our 2nd stay here, 1st was back in February. We absolutely love the place. We like the fact that it is right off the beaten path and even has a "back" way onto Disney property. The first time we got a free upgrade from a 2 bedroom to a 3 bedroom unit. We asked to be street side just to be able to see the fireworks from the parks but we were on the 3rd floor and could just barely see them, 4th floor would have been better for this. Even though we were street side the traffic wasn't that bad to us, the street is somewhat busy but nothing like a main drag right through the middle of town. Everything was clean and well stocked and PLENTY of room for a family with small children. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your vacation memories with us! We’re thrilled to hear that you chose to join us a second time and that your stay was a great one. We can’t wait to see you again soon - third time’s a charm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was my first time staying at Palisades, and although it's a little bit further than some of the hotels near Disney, the extra 10 minutes of driving were well worth it. The staff we very nice and helpful, there was always plenty of protected parking, and being surrounded on all sides by forest and greenery was so very relaxing. We were 4 adults at and around 50 yrs old and our 3-bedroom unit was large and well kept, with the bedrooms separated by other rooms should you need to be 'discreet' with your companions - lol. The only consideration is that you need to have a rental car to stay here... to get to the nearest shopping mall, it's a $40US cab ride each way.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor at the "back" of the hotel for quiet comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We’re so glad you joined us for your Disney adventure and that you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We’re thrilled to hear that you loved our staff and parking. We hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Super apartment - I've only deducted a star because of a few minor details, like a blind missing in the dining area, that also had one torn dining chair out of 6. When you compare what you pay and get at a Disney resort, this is a bargain - certainly the Platinum Apt. Were we lucky to get a nice apt over what some others have said? I don't know, but all I do know is that we had no complaints whatsoever. Top floor corner position, huge amount of space, clean, good showers, great views, grab & go breakfast was adequate to get started. Peak Easter traffic did make it awkward to get anywhere - being on the west fringe of Disney - but the week after was fine. Besides, peak traffic would be awful, no matter where you were. I've heard complaints about the beds and all I can say is what a bunch of moaning ninnies! No problems sleeping at all. The staff were fine - the pool guy was a very jovial fellow. Wi-fi could be obtained in the lobby, which was all I wanted to do a twice weekly check of emails. This is supposed to be a holiday after all. Came back home depressed, which is the best compliment I can give! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a top floor corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your suite and the views. We are flattered- not wanting to leave is one of our favorite compliments! Your recommendations and glowing comments are appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in early April. The unit was very spacious, with lots of storage space and walking room, larger than a typical 2 bedroom apartment. The unit generally had a worn down look (old squeaky mattress, stained carpet, old towels etc). The master bedroom had an open bath attached to it, which was again quite spacious. We found it to be somewhat incovenient. I am an early riser and would need to use the sink and the shower but the lights from those would bother my husband who wanted to sleep late.

There is no restaurant onsite and the breakfast is just prepackaged bagels, danishes etc with coffee. But since the unit had a full kitchen, we prepared our own breakfast. The kitchen is sufficiently equipped, nothing fancy just bare minimum stuff. Same goes for the pool and the hot tub. There was a movie theater but it was only open till 8 pm and we could never make it there in time..

The resort is 3 miles from Disney, but farther away from Universal. If the management would invest in renovating the rooms and better upkeep, this can be good value for money.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mairead N, Guest Relations Manager at Palisades Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize if your unit did not exceed your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated as we continuously work to improve our atmosphere and services. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palisades Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palisades Resort

Address: 14200 Avalon Road, Orlando, FL 34787
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palisades Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Orlando resort is perfectly located on the quieter luxury west side of Walt Disney World and features two and three bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and private balconies. A great selection of restaurants and shopping spots are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palisades Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palisades Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palisades Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.