We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norman's

Norman's
4012 Central Florida Parkway, The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
+1 407-393-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 2,999 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to Norman's. Prices are very high - similar to an expensive restaurant in New York or Boston - but the food is outstanding. It's a large restaurant, given its location in the large Ritz Carlton hotel, but designed to be quiet. Service was outstanding as well. Definitely the place to go if you're in the mood to splurge.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    65
    10
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Service - very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We went here whist on holiday on Orlando a couple of weeks ago. The service was excellent, food was explained, wine choices were advised (we has wanted the tasting menu with wine but it was not being served that evening)
Whilst the food was very good, I would not say it was fantastic, or outstanding. All the food was served promptly, it was all very tasty, but we found the portions were much bigger than we expected, luckily our waiter did explain that to us, but nine if us could finish our meal.
We were told the dress code was 'smart business' so went dressed for the occasion. We were a little more than disappointed to see quite a few people watering shorts, tee shirts, flip flops etc, this is a high end restaurant which we thought was out of keeping! Probably would not go there again though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is definately a place to eat if you want consistantly great foo and great service! Our server is David H. But I'm quite sure you'll be satisfied with whoever you server is. I'm not a big fish person but thats what i get because it is so fresh and prepared so well. Everything is just so fresh and thats the way food should be eaten. the view is spectactular as well. And if it's nice weather outside seating is an option. Don't deprive yourself of this restaurant, make a reservation tonight!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a girls' weekend this weekend at the Ritz Carlton Orlando. Dinner here was the highlight. We had the June tasting menu with wine pairings. Every course was unforgettable and the wine pairings were perfect. The service was amazing. Fernando took great care of us and explained every course. Mustafa assisted him perfectly. The evening flowed well and the entire experience was 3 hours of which we enjoyed every moment. This was my second visit to Norman's in 3 years. I will be back for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormansNewWorld, Public Relations Manager at Norman's, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing NORMAN'S, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience, and your girl's weekend! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Island, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner Ruined by Paul, the Waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The title says it all. From the onset, our waiter Paul had an attitude. He was patronizing, did not get the orders correct, our host told him to put all the first order of drinks on his bill. Paul failed to do that. His attitude bordered on surly. Someone in our party made the comment " I think he hates us". Needless to say it turned out to be a stressful dinner that was very costly. The food however, was fabulous. We should have done take out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormansNewWorld, Public Relations Manager at Norman's, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. While we are very happy to hear you enjoyed the food, we are very sorry that you did not enjoy the service. We strive to make sure all of our guests have a wonderful experience, and when they do not, we are appreciative of the feedback so that we can take the appropriate steps to ensure your next experience represents the service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.