We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norman's

Norman's
4012 Central Florida Parkway, The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
+1 407-393-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 3,100 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I were staying at the Ritz and decided to have dinner at Normans during our stay. The decor of the restaurant was unique, the people eating there were well dressed (say what you like, but if I'm going out to a $200+ dinner for two I don't want to see people wearing flip flops and t-shirts...that's just my preference though).The staff was very friendly, our waiter was one of the most knowledgeable waiters we have had at any restaurant we've been to.His description of the ingredients and how each dish was prepaired was second to none. The food was both unique and amazing.

The only thing that prevents us from being regulars here is the price. Given, we had apps, drinks, and dessert but by the time everythign was said and done our bill was over $300 plus the tip, which cost more than our room! If you are careful on how you order price you could probably get out for under $100 though to be honest. If you are into fine dinning and haven't been here yet, I would certainly reccomend putting it on your to do list!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    171
    39
    7
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I went out to dine at Norman's and from the time we walked in until the time we walked out are dining experience was above average for the area, involving good food and service. We will be back soon !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Normans is a great restaurant but on the expensive side. Very accommodating, wait staff always smiled!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, Classy Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The restaurant is beautifully decorated, and had an unusual shape to it- circular, if I remember correctly. The menu and wine list had many outstanding choices. We were there for a conference and during Spring Break season, so it was challenging to get a reservation. But the staff made every effort to keep in contact with us when tables became available so we could plan. The food was high-end and on the pricey side- but you get what you pay for. We even saw Jill Kelley there of Petraeus scandal fame!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor executed food, inappropriate service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Despite their 4 stars Forbes and 4 diamond AAA exposed and mentioned on menus, the food and service were poor.
We entered in the restaurant and no host/hostess was at the the door greeting us.
A server approached when we already were in the dining room and offered us a table.
We accepted and after we sat he asked us to change "for a better table".
The server brought us the menu and no wine list (I had to ask for) then he took the water, the wine and the food order. Bread was served, no variety of bread was offered, water was served.
Before appetizers arrived server came back saying "sorry o forgot your order can you repeat please?".
Appetizers arrived. Although the ingredients were high quality the execution was very poor and the combination of the different elements was unpleasant.
Once the appetizers were served the server came over and asked "how can make your dishes more enjoyable?" I said "can you please bring us the wine to start?". Yes he forgot to bring us the wine which it arrived when the appetizers were cleaned.
Main course was served and both fish has same issue of the appetizers good ingredients but ruined by the kitchen personnel.
At the end the dessert - Creme Brule' - was very good very wel balanced and creamy, the espresso was like water unfortunately no foam on the top and served warm in a cold cup.
Over all I would say that a brand like RItz Carlton cannot just let all these mistakes happened in one night. The all experience was extremely disappointing. Certainly we won't go back

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.