We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norman's

Norman's
4012 Central Florida Parkway, The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
+1 407-393-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Norman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 3,116 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: NORMAN'S showcases the menu of legendary Chef, Norman Van Aken. Chef Norman is known internationally as "the founding father of New World Cuisine". His cuisine is a celebration of Latin, Caribbean, Asian, African and American flavors. Chef Norman is the only Floridian to be inducted into the prestigious "James Beard list of 'Who's Who". Located at The Ritz-Carlton, Orlando Grande Lakes, NORMAN'S offers picturesque views of the Greg Norman Signature Golf Course, lake and gardens. Enjoy dinner in our Main Dining Room, on our Terrace, or book your next get together in our Private Dining Room. The team at NORMAN'S is ready to create a memorable evening for you and your guests. Whether a small family gathering or a large corporate function we will take care of your every need.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a great dinner at Norman's. Was by myself so I ate at teh bar area while watching the basketballgame on the tv above. The bartender was attentive and the food was fantastic. Great drinks also. Great wine lost.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    183
    42
    7
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience. Top Notch Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently dined at the Bull & Bear at the Waldorf Astoria, and I rated them highly. I know regret that. The service here at Normans was twice as good and the food was superior. The Ritz Carlton is way more fancy, as is Normans decor. If looking for an elegant dining experience. I would choose Normans again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Expected greatness, but average at best ... and slow ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had heard great things about this restaurant. Went with a business group. The menu items were interesting (e.g., conch chowder), but the preparation and tastes didn't match. Ordered the snapper, but pretty sure I got the halibut ... no waiter around to complain to. The service was friendly, but extremely slow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellence for group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall excellence in all aspects with service, meal and wine. Salad was average. The spiced rubbed ribeye looked and tasted more like a filet, however it was perfect. The seasoning, for those who enjoy spice and some heat is a top choice. Fish and chicken dishes were above average. A selection of desserts were plated for each guest at our table, all delicious. The only negative would be a set menu with less choice offered for groups rather than full menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place for a special occasion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and made a great choice with Norman's. We were made to feel special from the moment we walked in. The hostess wished us a Happy Anniversary, and once seated, our server greeted us with glasses of champagne. The service here is top notch - very professional, and appropriately attentive - exactly what you would expect in a top tier restaurant. Loved the atmosphere in the restaurant too - marble flooring, wood plank ceiling, and nice views throught the numerous windows out onto the grounds. There was a hint of a Latin influence to the restaurant in the background music and the menu items; it was very nice.

The food was very, very good. A must have starter is the shrimp ceviche. It is prepared table side, and was absolutely delicious. For the main entree, I had the yellowtail snapper, which was fresh and flavorful (and I could only finish half of it). My husband had the bone in rib-eye, which was very good. Loved the bread service, which came with individual olive oil dipping plates made table side with your choice of seasonings.

Overall we had a wonderful experience, and would definitely go back to celebrate a special event.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norman's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Norman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norman's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.