We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food served with the usual Southern USA batter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FishBones

FishBones
6707 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32819
+1 407-352-0135
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
FishBones is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 3,233 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: A local favorite, FishBones is listed as one of America's Top Ten Seafood Restaurants. FishBones offers the freshest just-caught seafood flown in daily, aged steaks cooked over an 1100° citrus and oak wood fire on our custom built pit and a 23-hour slow roasted prime rib that is to die for. An impressive list of wines compliment the seafood and steak, making FishBones the ultimate dining experience
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food served with the usual Southern USA batter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

It is difficult anywhere in Florida to get anything cooked that hasn't been dipped in batter and breadcrumbs and deep fried. No wonder so many people in the USA are fat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    727
    222
    97
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Busy place, decent vibe. Big fire grill right when you walk in. They have a list each day that tells you specifically where the fish came from...and who caught it. As in...the person's name and location....which was interesting. We had the grilled grouper which was just ok. Vegetable sides were also just ok. Nothing was terribly noteworthy in the delicious realm. Maybe we just ordered the wrong things. Had the king crab legs which were good. The house salad was tasty...had an interesting dressing on it but a little over saturated. Overall....it was not bad...but I likely would not go back as it seemed just "fair." A friend of mine loves the place and always gets the petite filet tenderloin with the lobster tail, perhaps that is their best dish and we should have ordered that. If I do return, that is what I will try next.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place to dine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Fish Bones was a great place to eat, with friendly staff, super service and the food was awesome. I had the bone-in strip cooked perfectly and my wife had the seafood mixed grill. Their house salad and fresh rolls were a great start to our meal and we tried the aligator appetizer which was great. The restaurant had a great atmosphere and the vallet parking was very nice......one place in Orlando we didn't have to fight for a spot:)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riviera Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our experience at Fish Bones was amazing. The food was fantastic and the service was superb. Marcos was our waiter and he was very professional and pleasant. The restaurant's atmosphere is fabulous and every one is very courteous. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates an over the top dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eating Steak in a Sauna”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great food, drinks, happy hour specials, and friendly staff.......HOWEVER, the A/C is broken in half of the restaurant. We were sweating nonstop, dripping down your back, and ridiculously hot. It was like eating a steak in a sauna! The bar staff said everyone complains but the restaurant manager, Andy Donato, doesn't do anything about it. I talked to Andy, but he just gave me a condescending smirk and walked away. If I'd known this restaurant in Orlando, Florida in JUNE didn't have air conditioning, we would NOT have gone there. Who's foolish enough to have no air conditioning in Florida in June with an open fire kitchen??? Andy Donato, the GM at Fish Bones. That's who. Never again. Consider yourselves warned.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FishBones also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to FishBones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FishBones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.