We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Port Orleans Riverside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Loved Port Orleans Riverside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We just returned from a beautiful wedding that took place at Disney World. We spent three nights at Port Orleans Riverside. I can't think of anything I didn't like about the property. For anyone considering going there, I will describe it:

It has a large pool on a little island in the middle of the resort. You can walk across a pretty bridge to get to the lobby. We stayed at a place called Alligator Bayou, and it was located on a beautiful, lush, tropical-style setting with a bayou. Although there is one large pool on the island, there are smaller pools near the lodges.

The dining area is large and set up like a food court. You have many choices for food. If you buy the refillable mug, you can get as many drinks as you want during the duration of your stay. The mug makes a nice souvenir to take home. We actually found that the food was better at the lodge than in the parks.

The lobby and other main building areas are very attractive. There is a large paddle wheel at the back of the building, and people apparently rent paddle boats and bicycles there. The gift shop has a lot of Disney souvenir items, some of them reasonably priced.

We liked this resort because it was quiet. We were actually able to sleep there. The room was very cute, with log beds and New Orleans bayou themed items. Service was good at the hotel, and the employees were very friendly and helpful.

Bus service goes from several places, including by the lobby. It is probably better to get onto the bus at the lobby area, even though you can get on at a location closer to your room. The bus tends to fill up at the lobby area, so you will most likely have to stand when the bus gets to your bus stop. The only thing I really hate about Disney transportation is that they really need more buses than they run. We rode on one bus that had enough people on it for two buses.

I'd definitely stay at Port Orleans Resort Riverside again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,297
    1,863
    590
    243
    127
See reviews for
3,223
794
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We were here for only 2 days, so didn't see much or room or resort. The rooms are OK, with sinks outside of bathroom. 2 double beds. Safe was a nice touch. Only problem here was that the shower curtain had mildew on the bottom (also other small spots of mildew in bathroom). We complained and Disney replaced with a new one within the hour.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel was great! The garden scenes and landscaping was gorgeous. The dinning area had amazing food and a very beautiful look to it The staff was very kind and made you feel at home. After a long tiring day at the Disney parks it was nice to come to a cozy comfortable room. The rooms were pretty and kept extremely clean. The staff always left extra towels that came in handy. The scenery around the hotel was the best part. It was very nice to take walks at night. The pools were very pretty although they were a little crowed at times. Over all I loved this hotel and would do it all over again!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Port Orleans riverside.....best place to stay in walt disnet resort......loved the trip...will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We have just returned from Port Orleans and have had a very pleasant stay. We asked for an upper floor (due to previous mentions of critters!) We had a great location in Magnolia Bend. Room is a good size - air conditioning unit is huge and noisy. The main pool is located on an island where everyone has to cross a bridge from their rooms to go to. This pool really was packed at all times of day. It was too busy for our children and they opted for the quiet pool next to our room. Sunbeds always available here - however you had to obtain pool towels from the main pool.

Refillable drinks mug a must at 14$ but you have to go to the main food hall to use - like the pool you have to cross to the island then cross to the food hall. Not miles but far enough in the heat!

The staff were very pleasant and the hotel very clean. This really is a 3/4 star hotel nothing flashy but does a good job. Personally if we went again I would upgrade to the next level of hotel - as a bit of Wow would be nice from the rooms, rather than this is fine.

The bus service was very good - especially to Magic Kingdom from here.

Loved all the parks - we spent 2 weeks just in the Disney parks. If you do go do not miss out on Disney Quest - if you have game loving children - this far exceeded our expectations!

Also if it is a birthday while you are in resort - you get a gift card for the value of a days pass - my son got 63$ to spend - he loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

My husband and I love Port Orleans Riverside. We've stayed at the Caribbean Resort, the Wilderness Lodge, Animal Kingdom Lodge, and Beach Club. The Port Orleans is by far our favorite. Even though the Caribbean is essentially the same resort, we have found the service and cleanliness of the Port Orleans to be much better. We don't have any kids, so it's just me and my husband. The rooms are plenty big for 2. Everything is always kept clean. The staff is always very friendly. The dining hall gets pretty crowded in the mornings, but if you get there fairly early, you won't have a problem.

One of our favorite things to do at Port Orleans is to take a little boat out on the water. You can take it all the way to Downtown Disney and back. It's a great way to spend some time with my husband and get a little sun.

The Port Orleans is the best moderate hotel in Disney!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This is my 4th visit to POR and have to say nothing has changed. It is a beautiful resort: beautiful groups, pools, buildings. However I was disappointed that the rooms have not been kept up like I would expect Disney to do. We stayed in the Magnolia Terrace mansion. Upon entering the room, its decor and furnishing were the same as prior visits. I was disappointed to see that the furniture was chipped and worn. The arm on the chair was loose and the refrigerator cabinet didn't even match the other furniture. It also was worn and chipped. I recommended this resort to relatives that was traveling with us and was embarrassed to see this. The towel/wash cloths were thin and worn-very cheap looking. The amenities were at a minimum so we had to ask the room attendant for more soap/shampoo. The rooms were clean but lacked the polish you would expect from Disney. The beds were fine and the bed linens were of quality. It is a shame that Disney would neglect the resort to a point that it would need a complete rehab very soon before its too late.
My stay was enjoyable and would consider staying on property but at another resort. POR is showing its age and unless you get a great discount, I would look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#56 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.