We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Have Asked for Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Couldn't Have Asked for Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were a family of 12 travelling on this trip - 6 children aged 7, 6, 4, 3, 16 months and 8 months, four parents and two grandparents. We had stayed at the Caribbean Resort 25 years ago with our two sons and decided to stay at Port Orleans Riverside just to try something different. It was a great choice. We had three rooms side-by-side with two of the rooms having an adjoining door between them. They have changed the bedding and it is very fresh looking with a white sheet on top and a bluey green coverlet at the bottom of the bed. There is soap, shampoo and conditioner supplied. We did not have princess pictures on the walls. We had a lovely print of a steamboat, as did our kids rooms. Our rooms were in Magnolia Bend in the Acadian building on the ground floor, very convenient for the strollers. The building is very close to the North bus stop, a three minute stroll. We only ever had one or two buses pass us because they were full, and we never had to stand when leaving that stop. Often they were empty. It was a great location. We love to walk so the walk to the food court was enjoyed by all of us. We only ever ate breakfast at the resort and (speaking for my husband and I) we enjoyed everything we tried. Probably our favourites were an omelet and the breakfast wrap. They were delicious. The oatmeal was also very good - $3.99 with fresh fruit toppings - strawberries, raspberries, raisens, craisens, sunflower seeds, whatever you chose, plus brown sugar. It was a bit less without the fruit. Tropicana OJ was $3.79 - pretty expensive. There is a lovely gift shop off the main lobby and as others have said, be prepared for Disney prices.
On our last day (Jan. 28th) one of our grandchildren got lost in the afternoon. She thought she was following one of us who was with her siblings. One of the grounds staff came upon her and had her sit on one of the benches overlooking the river until we found her. She was only gone 6 to 8 minutes but it seemed like forever to her and to us, and we are most thankful to the gentleman who found her. We wish we had gotten his name, but hopefully management will read this and be able to pass our thanks on to him.
We had a great time here. The staff were professional and friendly and we would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Somehow we had a handicap room and it had a huge bathroom. It was a corner room so it was nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    1,921
    609
    245
    130
See reviews for
3,317
812
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Port Orleans Riverside is the larger of the two port orleans resorts. It offers a lot of activities, right on the water, and very near downtown disney. Busses run frequently to all the parks. Rooms are on the small side, but the one we had slept 5 comfortably. However, there was no room to put your clothes away, to stay there you would have to keep clothes in suitcases, and there is not really enough room for more than 4 pieces of luggage.
there is a large food court for eating and a sit down restaurant as well. It is not too far from the French quarter resort which is quite a bit smaller.
Maybe I'm a bit spoiled but I do prefer staying at the deluxe resorts! However for a moderate resort, I do recommend this one! Queen beds too, rather than double beds at some of the other moderate resorts.

Room Tip: you have to pay extra for a preferred room near the pool, and even those can be a walk to the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was a lot of thought put into designing the hotel rooms....lots of storage for luggage, a fold down bed for a third bed option, sinks outside of the toilet/tub area, and a curtain that closed off the sink area from the room for changing.
I'm not so sure I'd want to stay at a Disney resort again, but that has nothing to do with the quality of the hotel...everything to do with the inefficiency of their transportation system and how all you do is wait. You wait for a boat to get to downtown Disney. You wait for buses to get to parks - they're continuous, but this just means they're never here - I would rather they just came at set times like at non Disney resorts...I felt like I waited a lot less. But the real transportation issue is that Disney convinces you a meal plan is essential for your vacation, but then they have no transportation options between their theme parks and downtown Disney where most of the restaurants are. So you easily spent hours a day in transit. In retrospect, should've rented a car.

But this is a hotel review. Hotel was great. Pool was great. Lifeguards were diligent. Hot tub should've been larger for volume of people. Not sure this is the best option to see the Disney parks. Having stayed at a non Disney hotel before, I'd likely do that route again...plus it is cheaper and right next to downtown Disney.

Room Tip: Not sure. Have to walk a long ways to all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travelled to WDW during the week between Christmas & New Year's. It was very busy.

Our room was downright filthy!!!!!!! We went to the front desk after our first night---we'd had a late check-in---to talk to the manager, who was condescending. That attitude immediately changed when we showed her the photos we'd taken of the filth in our room. That filth included:

-Body fluids & hair stuck on walls & the ceiling in the bathroom.

-Large splash of brown liquid all over the wall above the sinks (sinks are not enclosed with toilet & tub). We were unsure if this was coffee, or Coke, etc., but it was disgusting!

-Large stains on the chairs.

-Cobwebs along parts of the ceiling.

-Long body hair off of someone's head inside the room's in-wall safe.

-Candy wrappers inside the nightstand drawer.

-Broken latch lock on the main door.

The manager ensured us that she'd order the room to be properly cleaned, and PERSONALLY inspect it later.....1 of the stains on a chair was cleaned, and NONE of the other filth was corrected!

Therefore, even after viewing the photos, and ensuring personal inspection of the corrections, the manager utterly failed us!!! Being busy on vacation, and having virtually NO other local accommodation options during this very busy week, we suffered through the next 3 nights there.

This is part of an overall trend that we've been observing at WDW for a few years----THEY'RE GETTING 'TOO BIG FOR THEIR BRITCHES', and the world-class service that they're renowned for is now gone. The company knows that they're going to realize obscene profits with only marginal service, so their incentive to provide their historically-excellent service is negated.

This is wholly disappointing.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for five nights in January which is supposed to be low season at Disney. Resort buses and counter service food area were very crowded at peak times. We booked a river view room (so we wouldn't be too far from the center of the resort) and were assigned a room in Alligator Bayou. Room was average and no complaints about housekeeping. Didn't get to use the pool as it was too cool during our stay. I had stayed at Port Orleans French Quarter in two previous stays and I would go back there if I chose a moderate again. It's more compact and much less crowded (per past experience). We ate dinner at Boatwright's Restaurant one night and thought it was probably the best meal of our trip.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As usual, Disney does up its hotel for Port Orleans Riverside in beautiful classy style. Who else would install a fireworks button on the headboard of the beds? The grounds were lovely, and the bus depot was very convenient. Their food court had the BEST cheese danish I have ever eaten, and Boatwright's Restaurant is wonderful.

The down side is that it is extremely tailored to children -- especially little girls, since all the rooms were filled with portraits of princesses. Not really my cup of tea, but it's Disney, right? I was okay with that. I was not okay with the pools and the hot tub closing at 8 p.m. One of my favorite things to do after a long day walking in the parks is to get in a little swimming and relax in the hot tub before going to bed. Even on the days we came back early from the parks, our reservations for the restaurants were based on the amenities staying open until 10 or 11. The pools closed up before we could get to them. We thought about walking over to the French Quarter, whose pool was open until 10 p.m., but just didn't get motivated.

I did love the hotel staff, who were helpful and friendly as always, but I probably will not stay here again. If you have a bunch of little girls or little kids, it's probably a perfect place for you!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife booked us in the Port Orleans Riverside property for our Disney trip this year, and I can honestly say I am very pleased with the choice. The property as a whole as a nice laid back feel, and the room was comfortable and clean. Despite some reviews of being far from the lobby and or the busses I found that neither were that far of a walk (4 bus stops to choose from). An added bonus was the water taxi service to Downtown Disney, it was very nice relaxing way to get there, about a 20 minute ride down river. The lobby/main buildign provided several food options, as well as a small well stocked bar and a gift shop.
overall I very much liked the property!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room close to one of the bus stops to make trips to the Parks easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#52 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.