We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 328 Hotels in Orlando
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside on a 2 week trip in August 2013. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. Our room was very clean with all the facilities we needed (apart from the fridge not working due to a maintenance issue but this did not really effect us as we were on the disney dining plan!) We stayed in the Arcadian house which was a 5 minute walk from the main buildings and right next to a small pool which was never busy. Ferrys ran frequently from the hotel to downtown disney which was lovely especially at night. Buses also ran frequently from the hotel - we never waited more than 20 minutes for a bus to our destination even in mid August!.. We ate a few times at riverside mill - there was a great selection we especially liked the omlettes and mickey waffles with strawberries for breakfast! Over all an excellent experience! We would definitely recommend this hotel for couples! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,590
    2,055
    673
    264
    134
See reviews for
3,614
886
53
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our 4th trip to Disney and we stayed at Port of Orleans a "Moderate" hotel versus the value hotels on property we usually stay at. We were in Alligator Bayou Building 36 room 3616.Standard room garden view. The room had two queen beds and a small pull down murphy bed on the wall. The Murphy bed is great for smaller kids, it is smaller than a twin. There was no Fridge in the room since they were being replaced. There was a coffee pot, but the faucet water tasted terrible so bring bottle water for your in room coffee. This building was near the back of the property and it was 10-15 minute walk to the front lobby and food court. The North depot bus stop was approximately a 3 minute walk. There was a smaller pool near our room that had a bathroom and laundramat. $2.00 per washer and dryer. There was a playground near the large pool near the food court. The food in the food courts is expensive , but we had the free dining plan during September. The French Quarter hotel is a 15 minute walk from the lobby or 10 boat ride and we were allowed to use their pools and food court also. Their food court offered poboys and beingets cooked to order. Riverside food court did not have. The pool at French Quarter is larger and has a water slide in the pool for the kids. Housekeeping was great and did a good job everyday. The drink mugs were included with our dining plan so you could get as much coffee, hot cocca, soda or water as you wanted. The only problem is keeping up with the mugs if you leave from breakfast straight to a park and don't go back to your room you have to keep them in your backpack. The biggest differences that I found between the value and moderate resorts was that you got queen beds instead of double and we had an extra pull down bed. The rooms were approximately the same size. The moderate resort had 4 bus stations so you would walk to the one nearest to your room or use the main one at the lobby. In the value resorts there is only one huge bus stop for everyone at the front. I found the food courts at the value resorts and port of orleans to be about the same in quality and quanity of food.The moderate resort seems less crowded than the value resorts.This resort is considered in the Downtown Disney Area so that is your closest destination. Since we did not stay at our hotel very much, I don't think I would pay for the moderate room again. Great hotel no problems.

Room Tip: If you have little children and want to be closer to the food court, lobby , big pool and playground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

lovely hotel,excellent location,free disney transport. free,water taxi from hotel down to downtown disney if did not want to use the bus,excellent quality rooms,2 double beds,his and hers sinks,large area to relax and quality en suite,maid service impeccable.horse and carriages outside in the evening.quiet at night as rooms are situated away from the main lobby etc.if possible get the disney dining plan when you book as this saves loads of money on food,if you book before january virgin airways usually add this for free and therefore food costs nothing.entertainment in hotel not up to much but normally time you get home from the parks and downtown you are too tired,anyway.disney buses pick up free just outside main lobby.to all the parks,taxis available to get to universal studios etc quickly.and reliable if booked the night before.

Room Tip: we stayed at magnolia court which is away from the childrens pool area,adult pool just a few yards a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been coming to Port Orleans for 13 years now and its never failed to make me feel happy and at home. This was my girlfriend's first visit to Disney World and she loved the hotel as much as I do!
We stayed for 14 nights in one of the mansion rooms and took advantage of the Quick Service dinning plan which was perfect for us as we could have breakfast and dinner at the food court and get a snack whilst in the park (we never ate lunch as were always full from breakfast, great portions!).
The staff were nice with some being exceptional, they were all very helpful and knowledgeable.
Disney transport buses are good, but they can be a bit sketchy on when they turn up and especially on evenings coming back from the park with some queues being incredibly long. This isn't a fault of Port Orleans but just be warned if you stay for some fireworks shows you may be waiting a while to get back to the hotel.
The food at the food court is good, there isn't much variety with the same food everyday but having said that the food is good and if you want variety you can go to a restaurant at a park or downtown disney. You can also walk down the river to French Quarter and try out their food court!
The pool was really nice and can be open even after midnight! There's also other quieter pools in-between the mansions if you want a quieter swim.

All in all we both had an amazing time at Disney World and at Port Orleans Riverside and we will be coming back again in the near future!

Room Tip: Make sure you put your AC on while you're at a park, after you get in from the heat its amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at Port Orleans Riverside. We were in Bajou Cabin 25 - while I will admit this was a good 10-minute walk from the main lobby, it worked out well for pool access and the West Depot for Disney buses. We stayed in a standard, garden view room. It was very nice to have the double sinks in the bathroom and the refrigerator came in very handy for water and snacks. Housekeeping did a good job keeping things clean and the room stocked with fresh towels and amenities. The ceiling fan was great since our time there was very hot and humid. The decor was cute for what the hotel was - nothing super fancy, but being at Disney, we don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. The smaller pool was close, but was never noisy and we enjoyed being away from the main pool for quieter enjoyment. Access to the West Depot was an easy 5-minute walk for the Disney theme park buses. The main general store off the lobby was great for all things you'd need...including groceries to help minimize theme park food expenses. We did not participate in the drink mugs, but most people seemed to be carrying them around and using them frequently.The ferry to Downtown Disney was nice, but they really need to increase the capacity of these boats (we were not even on-site during the peak of travelers). Plan on a good hour from the dock to Downtown Disney while waiting for boats and then also stopping at French Quarter....we luckily made it just in time for our La Nouba tickets. Overall, we really enjoyed our time here and even though we did not have any kids, it was still a great experience for two adults who just wanted a fun weekend away.

Room Tip: Building 25 was great for West Depot access, but far from the lobby. The Food Service area was alwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were moved to Port Orleans Riverside as an upgrade due to a booking error in 2003 and to be honest it was the best thing that could have happened. This has now become our absolute favorite hotel and we've been staying here ever since!

GROUNDS: The peaceful serenity of the Louisiana Bayou themed landscaping and decor is perfect for some much needed R&R after a day at the parks. And if you need a little fun there is plenty of biking and fishing to go around in addition to the wonderful pool options! In fact, my boys ages 9 & 5 actually made a rule that we would spend half the day at the parks and half the day at the hotel pool. They loved it!

FOOD: We also thorougly enjoyed the food court. So many options and enough variety for everyone to find something. We ate there on multiple occasions during our stay. There is also a restaurant on site but we opted out of that this year as we were unimpressed last year.

ROOM SIZE: Last year we stayed as a family of 5 when grandma came along and I have to admit, space was in the room was limited so we pretty much lived out of suitcases. This year however it was only the 4 of us and there was ample room to go around. The rooms are also very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping left us wonderful little gifts made out of towels and cloths.

VALUE: I think the value for this hotel is great. Although I have to admit as the prices continue to climb it becomes more and more out of reach as a yearly vacation destination that truth rings true for ALL Disney properties leaving this one still in the "best value" category. I feel like you get much more for your money at this hotel and would choose it over most deluxe resorts.

TRANSPORTATION: The ferry boat to downtown disney is a very beautiful and peaceful ride. I definitely reccommend trying it at least once. As for the bus service. As always it was fantastic although I will admit it did seem a little slower than usual causing the wait to be longer. I am not sure if this is possibly because the hotels popularity has picked up?? Either way we waited 30 minutes on 2 different occassions, 45 on 1 occassion and I don't even want to think about the outrageous line that awaited us after wishes one evening. That being said, looking around at the other resort lines the story seemed to be much the same so I tend to wonder if this was possibly just a lack of staff especially with this being value season.

SERVICE: As if all of this wasn't enough the staff is absolutely outstanding. The essence of Disney Service. At one point during our stay my husband was in the room feeling a little ill so I decided to use this time to get some questions answered by the concierge. The lobby was nearly empty so it was perfect! However, my 5 year old was pestering me to go swimming as I was trying to speak. The manager noticed this and took him aside to talk with him on their own. The next thing I know he has probably 10 staff members in a circle around him as he is demonstrating the "Jedi Push" he had used on Darth Vader during the "Jedi Training Academy" at Hollywood Studios. And sure enough, when he threw his hand sideways they all hit the floor in role play laughing. My son was in awe of himself and I guarantee this is an experience neither of us are likely to forget any time soon. Thank you Kristin and staff at POR!!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the little extra for the preferred room and try to get buildings 14 or 15 in the alli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This resort is very large and requires a lot of walking from lobby and food area to hotel rooms. Even the closest rooms are a fair walk. This resort contains 4 park transportation stops and you can be on the bus up to 20 minutes and still be in the resort. If you are planning a few days at the parks and a few days to relax at a resort then this might be for you. Lots to do, pools, carriage rides, boat and bike rentals, but for sleeping and visiting the parks I think this resort is too spread out. The food court area is vert crowded at meal time and does not seem sufficent to handle all the guest. The Buildings of hotel rooms are very poorly marked to find your room.

Room Tip: The Royal Princess rooms seem to be closest to the front. As of my stay last week rooms still do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#59 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.