We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great time in the resort, very convenient for Disney buses. Decent eating options, enough things to keep kids busy. Very neat and quiet. Rooms are bit smaller, but they are good. Only problem was entire resort did not have a fridge during our stay, which was a pain. We will definitely recommend this to any family.

Room Tip: Ground floor is better than upstairs. Choose the one closer to bridge to main building, as you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,534
    2,024
    663
    260
    133
See reviews for
3,550
860
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This large resort is so well kept, the grounds get attention every day! The rooms are nothing special but clean and adequate. The riverside mill was a great meeting location with a wide selection of food and drink although can become repetitive after 14 nights. The bar area was great for a nice drink in the evening especially when Bob the piano man was playing, he is great fun. The kids loved him.

We stayed in magnolia bend, I have read a few comments about the length of time it takes to get to the facilities, you are talking a nice 5 min walk from Magnolia bend. If you have kids ask for a pool room view, if we had one I think the kids would have made more use of the pool.

The added extras such as the boat rentals and bike rentals are a nice option and the boat to Downtown Disney was a useful service although we only did it once we enjoyed the trip.

The main pool was good although we onlyusedit once, quite busy and lots of wasps about? The camp fire was good but again just for the experience only did it once, never seemed to be around when it was on at 7pm?

The reception is nice and adequate, was not impressed with the check in, was expecting a warmer welcome, we felt like we were just some extra work, the whole arrival by car experience definitely needs looking at! Gateman shows you the way then your on your own, no welcome, no help.

The night time movie was done on the grass in the light with lots of locusts and unwanted creatures, we only did that once also!

The shop is handy with quite a wide selection available, restaurant menu did not look great so we never tried it, the arcade for the kids is good, the card system is really useful and our kids did use it for a few hours or so.

This is not a bad review overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the resort to anyone, we would not stay again but that's because we have done it and if we went back we would like to try somewhere else.

We tried the bus service once, to Epcot which was really good, a little waiting on the way back but service was good enough, we did not use again as we had hire car.

The staff overall, apart from reception were in the main helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view if you have kids, you will probably get more use of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic two weeks in July/August and this was the 2nd time we stayed at this hotel! The setting is so beautiful. The grounds are absolutely immaculate and so picturesque.

Check In: The check in process was smooth and easy. We knew in advance that Disney had a problem with their fridges so we asked if we could have a room with a fridge, however the cast member told us that we had a Royal Room assigned to us so we quickly forgot about the fridge woes as we were too excited about the room!

The Room: We stayed in room 9211 in Oak Manor and when we walked in through the door it took our breath away. The décor is stunning - so much detail has been put into the theming - I wont ruin anything by giving the game away but they are pretty special. The friendly cast member at check-in pointed out where our closest bus stop was and this proved to be very useful so that we didn't have to queue at the main depot with the larger crowds. The only time we heard our neighbours, was when they flushed the toilet (it's a really powerful toilet!) The shower is one of those showers with the really big heads so it feels like a REAL shower! Mousekeeping would come round each day (except when we requested for privacy) and our towels and soaps etc were regularly replaced. We even had towel animals left for us! The room itself is about a 5/10 minute walk from the food court which for two adults with no children was no problem at all. We did hunt for a vending machine for some snacks and after a bit of a trek finally found one... which was turned off but hey ho! The TV in the room I am pleased say has more adult channels added now (and not the naughty kind) but it's not all Disney channels and we were able to watch some of the shows we watch at home whilst we relaxed in the room (like Family Guy and American Dad which they didn't have last time we come)

The Food Court: I am always so pleased with the large variety of food that is found here. My favourite section being the build your own pasta station. Love it. The food court can get extremely busy though and it can get a little difficult trying to weave in and out of the criss crossing queues whilst avoiding small children and balancing your tray. Sadly I lost a chicken nugget one day (but the other 7 tasted great so never mind!) The ice cream station always has a particularly long queue so you may need to get savvy with other people in your party and send one person off to the ice cream whilst everyone else gets their hot food.

The Shop: The gift shop is huge for a hotel gift shop! I wish it sold a little more food items that we could have taken back to the room - it only really sells crisps and donuts (as well as medical items etc) in a small section. They have soft drinks and alcohol too. It's a shame that this section of the shop is so small. I recommend if you are wanting any kind of snacks for the room to head to a walmart and buy them in that way. It will be ten times cheaper too!

The Transport: The Disney buses run really regularly and we rarely had to wait too long for them. The drivers were really friendly and informative too. At POR there are 4 bus depots - the South Depot being the main one which is the busiest. If you are able to use one of the other depots (especially if it goes to those stops before the South Depot) then use them! We also rode the on the boat to Downtown Disney down the Sassagola River and this is always such a charming boat ride... except for the incessant blaring of the horn! Almost had a headache as we got off and I really felt sorry for the people whose rooms were close to the river as they were a lot of horns blasting throughout the day and evening.

All in all, we LOVE this resort hotel. The setting, the music played, the food, the rooms... everything about this place. It is Disney...without Disney being rammed down your throat! It is Disney for adults! For two adults, this place is ideal. We will definitely be coming back and soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9211 Oak Manor which was just a 5 minute walk from the Lobby and Food Court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My mum passed away in April last year at the age of 58. God bless her she left me a small amount of money.

I decided to spend it on giving my 10 year old daughter and my partner the holiday of a lifetime to Disney World Florida.

This hotel is ideal as a base. It's a relatively short bus ride from any of the main Disney resorts but this can take a while to get there depending on which way round the bus drivers go through the resort. Seemed to go a different route every day lol..

Staff are fantastically helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much bother.

Hotel is kept to a very high standard both in looks and hygiene.

Rooms are fairly compact which is ok For the amount of time you spend there.

The food in the main buffet restaurant would be my only grumble as it was the same choice every day so if you are on a dining plan take that into consideration as it can become monotonous.

There are various serving areas in the restaurant. One does ice cream and dessert, another does burgers, nuggets, chips etc. there is a pasta area, pizza hatch and salad zone.

All sounds very exciting but gets a bit much. It's like feeding time at the zoo sometimes. Not very well laid out or organised.

If you have the quick service dining plan this will be your main restaurant especially breakfast.

Hint: split your family and all get in various queues at the same time. Don't all queue in one line then move to the other or your food will be cold coz then you have to queue to pay.

The restaurant set up and choice of food is my only grumble.

We absolutely loved our stay. Boat down the river to Downtown Disney from main hotel building area was perfect.

Hotels on Florida don't need to be 5* and have everything on tap because you hardly spend any time there.

Thank you Disney for a truly magical holiday. We will remember it forever thanks to you all and my beloved mum. Giddiest her soul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wow...I was impressed with this trip from the start to the finish. Check in was smooth and we arrived a day early and got a main floor room in the Oak Manor. (Room 9034), situated half way between the main pool and the lobby and right next door to the evening outdoor movie. The Royal Rooms are done up so well, you feel like a princess. Disney should have let us know that the headboards light up and simulate fireworks...we discovered that on our second last day. The main pool is set up like an old swimming hole and they have kids entertainment from 9-5 and it looked quite fun. The whole stay was a 10. Not a single complaint. I have stayed at Animal Kingdon, Disney Fort Wilderness, Coronado Springs and a few value hotels and this was the best one on the grounds to date.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was great, the bus service from the airport to the resort and the customer service was excellent. They went out of their way to help and seeing it was our first time there, they upgraded our room for free. When my wife was hurt they resort couldn't do enough to help us.
The location was also great, with the bus services that are provided throughout the park for free.

Room Tip: Great for kids. Try and get upgraded to a princess room, if there available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited July 21st to August 8th 2013. Stayed Magnolia Bend Building 87. My family and I loved this hotel, the grounds are well maintained, the rooms clean and the dining had more variety than I've been used to at Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort, they have a salad bar, sandwich bar, plus all the usual "fast food" type of meals. Can be a bet hectic at busy times, this said we always managed to find a table to sit at. You can take a boat trip to Downtown Disney, which feels more "laid back" than taking the buses, and probably takes about the same time as the bus, when you take into account the bus stop for Typhoon Lagoon. They show a different Disney film each night (weather permitting) outdoors at 9.00pm, again weather permitting you can even toast/ roast your own marshmallows over a camp fire! The building pools appear to be quite most of the time, however if you get to the main pool early enough (pre 11.00am) that isn't over busy .

The only downsides that we encountered is that some people, in adjacent rooms, seem incapable of shutting their doors, without letting them slam shut, which can be a little irritating when you're trying to get to sleep at about midnight. As the doors are all self closing, people seem to think that you cannot, actually let the door close quietly, without letting it slam on it's own! Also toilets can be heard flushing in adjacent rooms, but we did not actually hear anyone's t.v or them talking, so it may just be the insulation in and around the bathroom areas that is the problem.

This aside it was a great hotel, all the cast members are helpful, and cheerful and actually seem to like to help out their guests. Especially Paul at Reception, who went out of his way, to give us some insider tips, about the Orlando area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#62 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.