We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just spent one week at Port Orleans, Riverside, and I have to say it exceeded all expectations!
There was myself, husband and 2 children and I was apprehensive about how much space we would have in our room. I did not need to worry though, there was plenty of room for us all. 2 king sized beds, as well as a drop down bed on the wall. Enough hanging space but not many drawers. Unfortunately the fridge had been taken out of service due to a fault that had been found. Apparently 50% of the fridges were not in use.
We were in Aligator Bayou block 16 which was just perfect. 5 mins to bus depot, 3 mins to dining area and reception. We paid a little extra for a water view room, therefore our room was next to one of the smaller, quiet pools. The laundry room was also next to this pool.
The dining room offered a wide choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a Disney Dining Plan which saved us a great deal of money but we did find it a bit confusing at first, as to what we were entitled too. If you're not sure, just ask though! All the staff were very helpful and always appeared happy to help. We loved going back in before bed time and grabbing a lovely hot chocolate to take back to our room.
The buses to the parks were approx every 10-15 minutes and we never had any problems with them.
The large swimming pool is great if you have kids. Lots of activities, music etc. If you want peace and quiet, head to one of the quieter pools. Like I mentioned, there is one right next to block 16, Aligator Bayou.
We hired a Surrey bike one evening (extra charge). This was a great way to explore the rest of this complex. We also went fishing but were not lucky enough to catch anything!
To sum it up, this is a great Disney hotel but I think we were lucky with our room location. Some of the other blocks appeared to be a long walk from the dining hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main dining area. Aligator Bayou Block 15 or 16 are ideal. Pay extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,537
    2,024
    663
    260
    133
See reviews for
3,553
860
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 6 days. I requested a room near the lobby and was give a room about a quarter mile away. Also, it was on the second floor with no elevator even though they knew I had a baby with me. After complaining, they moved me to a room closer to the lobby and with an elevator. Rooms are pretty big and clean. Pool is great. Quick serve food area is mediocre at best. Service was slow, food wasn't so great. One morning I was able to get turkey sausage - the next morning I was told that they don't have it. Currently, Disney has removed all of the fridges from the rooms due to a defect. Good luck getting a replacement. I had to call 3 times and speak to a manager before finally getting one and I had to justify why I needed it or they wouldn't give me one. Not the kind of Disney service I'm used to.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed at a couple Disney resort properties -- without going to any theme parks -- just to get a little taste of Disney, before we headed on to our final Florida destination farther south. I had previously stayed @ Port Orleans on a business trip and spotted a couple things that looked like they would work out with the family.
First off, our typical Florida travel plans generally place us arriving in Orlando around 10:00 in the morning. Twice, we have tried early check-in at this time, 10:00am, and been pleasantly surprised to be given a room. Sweet! So don’t bank on it, but you might give it a try. (Our bail-out plan was to relax by the pool until our room became available, but the family always likes to obtain the room and settle in.)
Did I say pool? That should have been plural, because there are several pools on the property. The main event is certainly the Old Man River pool. It is big, attractive, and fun. Adults can score beverages. Kids can enjoy pool games, masterfully hosted by Disney team members. This is not an over-the-top mega-pool, like some of the resorts, but it’s pretty good . . . waterslide, theming, plenty of space. The lay-out and surrounding landscape is nice. You may have trouble finding an open chaise during prime time. Look over on the deck by the bar.
A pleasant, 10-minute walk along the canal leads you to the New Orleans end of Port Orleans, and another pool. This one is themed with a big, bright sea monster, but we prefer Old Man River – more shade, closer beverage service, better games. The sea monster must have scared away all the trees at New Orleans. The water was warmer at Old Man River, too.
So we weren’t going into a theme park, but there is a free way to access a little more Disney razzle-dazzle from Port Orleans. Ferry boats leave the Port Orleans pier for a free, 20-minute ride over to downtown Disney all day long. The ride explores some canals and crosses the Downtown Disney lagoon. it's low-key but fun. Since it is free, and space is somewhat limited, you have to think about timing and try to avoid the times when everyone else has the same idea . . . like before supper, when we went. (Hey, it wouldn’t be Disney without a little line!) We took the boat over to Downtown Disney and joined a massive crowd flowing along amongst all the restaurant options. We had booked a room at Raglan Road – good enough – then scored some chocolate @ Ghirardelli before riding the ferry back home. I was glad to ditch the big crowd and retreat to my peaceful southern plantation.
We watched the end of a movie, outside on the Port Orleans lawn.
Other reviewers debate the attributes of the Alligator Bayou rooms vs. those in Magnolia Plantation (all Port Orleans.) Alligator Bayou exteriors look better themed; inside, they're both basic Disney rooms. Magnolia Plantation feels a little dated to me.
So we enjoyed our one night @ Disney, checked out early, relaxed by the pool a couple more hours, and then pushed on south toward our final destination. Our little taste of Disney was just right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday 22 July to 5 August. Our party consisted of 7 guests. We have stayed with Disney a number of times before at their Allstar resorts...which we loved. On this occasion as we had no small children in our party we decided to upgrade to a moderate hotel and opted for Disney Port Orleans Riverside. On arrival our expectations were met, beautiful lobby area, great service and good located room in Aligator Bayou. Rooms were comfortable and there are Disney toiletries in the bathroom which is a nice touch. Rooms were cleaned everyday and lovely towel characters were left on the beds by the maid each morning

The dining hall was a bit caotic if visited at busy periods, however it is Disney so expected. The food choices were reasonable if not a bit monotonous. We were given a dining plan as part of our disney deal which was brilliant and saved us a fortune on dining in the parks and at the hotel.The maid service was excellent, in fact all staff we came across were cheerful and did an exceptional job

There is a main pool with spa and kids slide and entertainment, the pool is great if you like the hustle and bustle. We had a pool near our room but after one night at the pool were bitten by mosquitos...lots, ...after this we we opted for the quiet pool at the mansions, which has less foliage so less mosquitos.

We have had a truly amazing holiday and will return...but we have to mention the one negative experience we had...The transportation......There are 2 bus stops at the main entrance and buses arrive there for the various parks.There is no queying sysytem...On a number of occasions we arrived at the hotel bus stop as first pasangers, then people arrive the bus pulls in you go to get on the bus and there is a stampede of people who are quite frankly rude. They step onto the bus in front of you and on more than one occasion we end up standing or have to wait for the next bus.....We have never experienced this at the value hotels we stayed in...so were amazed at the caos of it all.....Please please Disney sort it out...you do an amazing job in the parks and have clear queing systems or ushers to assist with the line...please apply the same principles to this hotel. The other thing is one bus goes to 2 parks so can take a while and get very busy. We didn't experience this at the value hotels so not sure why the cut backs

All in all Port Orleons was a fabulous hotel, beautiful grounds, room was nice, beds amazingly comfy we loved it and will be back..but please sort out the buses

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds, great pools. Very expensive rooms!! We stayed in one of the princess royal rooms with all the frills! Decor down to every detail was amazing and decked out in princess themes. Headboard display of fireworks was the best part of it, but only last 30 seconds and you have to keep pushing the button to restart. The mattresses where very hard and uncomfortable to say the least! Not worth the over priced rate per night if your not going to sleep in comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

First of all, we are frequenters to Disney as we live 30 minutes away. We stayed in the Royal Suites which were recently remodeled. The room was wonderful! It was clean and very spacious for a Disney Resort. I think it was worth every penny. The pizza delivery was the best meal we ate on site. Food court had good selection but bland. The morning of our last day we had character dining reservations but my son fell in the room and had to be rushed to hospital for stitches. We didn't get back till 1 and I asked if anyone could help us get into an evening character dining session but they were all full. ( and I spend a small fortune at Disney over the year being weekly visitors.) I was hoping they could squeeze us in somewhere but they could not. A little disappointing from the staff there and from Disney. I would have been really fired up if I had to come a long way. S

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the Suite. Alligator Bayou rooms are very basic so I would book t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our 4th visit to a Disney Resort and the first time we visited a moderate resort (previously we went to deluxe resorts) and we were not disappointed,
Great rooms with lots of activities for the kids. We were lucky and got a preferred location room which was close to all of the amenities.
I am a Disney addict but even if I wasn't I would come back here in a heartbeat :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#62 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.