We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Landscape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed for 12 days at the Port Orleans Riverside with my pregnant wife and 2 year old son. My wife had done research and chose this resort. I was very impressed with it. Especially the beautiful and extensive landscape. It has many small bridges, creeks, rivers and greenery. It allowed us to step away from our day to day lives and relax on our vacation.

Depending on where your room is located, it could be quite a far walk to the Lobby and Dining areas. However, most people on the resort, including myself, need the exercise anyways. On the other hand, the resort is conveniently located near all the Disney Theme Parks. I hardly used up any gas during our Park hopping binge.

There’s also little ferry boats which pass every 10 minutes or so and transport people to Downtown Disney. It’s about a 15 minute ride. The resort also features many pools and one main pool area on the Ol’ Man Island. There’s quite a lot of activities available on site such as horse carriage rides, boat rentals, poolside activities, fishing, etc. I love that their park doesn’t have sand which can get kids messy, but instead a rubbery surface. My 2 year old loved playing there and he especially loved the kids pool.

If I’m being picky, my only complaint is that when it rains (rarely), there are areas in the walkways that become mini lakes of water. You either have to skip around them on the muddy grass, or soak your feet in the large puddles. There isn’t many options when getting back to your room in some areas. They should have some drainage system in those areas.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,541
    2,028
    666
    260
    133
See reviews for
3,562
861
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Powassan, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is by far our favourite of the moderate resorts at Disney.

The grounds are fantastic and well maintained. They rooms are recently renovated and now include Queen size beds which are very comfortable.

Pool area is fantastic for the family and they even have a neat little fishing hole for the kids to fish using old bamboo poles. Small fee applies and I would recomend to get down there early as the fish stop biting once it gets warm.

Buildings are all spread out but it never seemed to far to the food court and main buildings.

Do not miss Yee Haw Bobs show in the lounge great family entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Port Orleans Riverside turned out to be the perfect resort for our Disney vacation. I was a bit nervous about the 'theme' and that it looked too wooded from the pictures, but the grounds were beautiful and the perfect getaway from a day at the parks. We stayed at the Riverside component (different from the French Quarter) and our room was in the Alligator Bayou villas as opposed to the larger buildings. The room had a small Murphy bed for our child and was perfectly situated between the main pool and the bus stop (short walks to both). Our building was also right next to a minor pool but on the other side of the building so it remained quiet. The main pool was fun, but not too crazy. If I had one complaint it would be the food court (quick service) area. It was not well designed and the food was rather heavy (few lighter options). Housekeeping was wonderful and check in was a breeze.

Room Tip: Room 3912, 3911, 3914 and 3915 are excellent choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed 9 days at this resort, in the Acadia Building and the property is really quite lovely. Recently renovated rooms which all include a mini fridge, flat screen and two new queen beds made this a very comfortable stay.

The property itself is a wonderful and relaxing respite after a long day of park hopping – you can take an evening walk along the Sasagoula Riverfront, enjoy a stroll through the beautifully landscaped pedestrian streets, hire a horse-drawn carriage or hop a boat to the French Quarter or Downtown Disney.

The Riverside Mill Food Court has decent enough meals and selection for a quick service location but can be extremely busy during the morning breakfast rush. I was not a fan of the very loud morning song-and-dance welcomes on the PA system at frequent intervals, followed by a parade of cast members prancing through the seating area with tambourines and other noise-making devices. It was a bit much.

We rented a car and didn’t have to rely on the bus transportation, but buses seemed to run at regular intervals.

If you have the means to stay at a moderate resort and are looking for a Disney Property that isn’t dripping with the Disney theme, characters and music like the value resorts (which is a nice respite following full days in the parks), then I will recommend the Port Orleans Riverside.

TIP: We stayed here in January, which happens to be a holiday in South America... and this resort was absolutely FULL of teenagers on school group tours, running around with very little supervision. They were very noisy at night and we had to call security a few times (great response by the way), food was spilled on the walkways, and other signs of late night partying could be found in the landscaping almost every day - it took away from the nice experience we were planning to have at this lovely resort. Avoid January at this resort if you can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just got back from our trip to Florida and stayed at Disney's Port Orleans Riverside. Once again it was perfect, housekeeping great, staff great, location great, couldn't ask for anything better! Thank you Disney!

Room Tip: We picked bottom floor corner room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family and I stayed in Sept 2012. We loved this resort. The staff was wonderful. The landscaping was lush and relaxing. The resort's amenities were fantastic. We rented surrey bikes, took a horse-drawn carriage ride. Rode the boat to Downtown Disney. The food court was good, but I do think I enjoyed the selection at French Quarter slightly better. We had a prefered room, so we were very close to the main building. The room was clean and the decor was fun. My family absolutely wants to stay here every time we go to Disney now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross On Wye
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ok, our second trip to Riverside in three years classified as a Moderate resort by disney so I take this as average and would rate it at that. Would not hesitate to go back but would go for a room on a upper floor.

Good points :-
River Taxi to Downtown
Nice pools (Busy and quiet ones)

Bad points :-
Rooms can be noisy (especially if you're on the ground floor and the people upstairs keep flushing the toilet)
The self sevice resaurant can get extremely busy a times (we reverted to eating most meals either in the parks or Downtown)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#62 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.