We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite place to stay at Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A favorite place to stay at Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the river provides a lovely feel. There is a marina with boats to take you to downtown Disney. The main pool is great, but very busy. There are quieter pools near the rooms. The rooms are clean and updated. Walking around the mansions and through the gardens to your room is wonderful! Regarding the Food Court; While it has the usual Disney fare and prices, Riverside happens to have the only food court where you can get bowls of fruit and berries. And the beer at the pool bar is great! Make your reservations for Boatwrights before you go. It has good food (we liked the prime rib, fish and cornbread). The bus service is good, but not great because of the many stops. Overall it is a lovely place and the staff are wonderful. My one complaint it that the jacuzzi is not supervised (although there are several lifeguards and Kid's Activity directors a few feet away)and there are always young kids jumping in and out (although there is a sign clearly stating they cannot be in the jacuzzi without an adult). I understand parents on vacation may not be noticing their kids doing this, so I think at least one of the staff could walk by occasionally and remind kids to get out. It is not at all relaxing for the adults to use the jacuzzi. That aside, it is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are just as nice and conveniently located as the "water view" rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    1,781
    555
    235
    125
See reviews for
3,095
752
46
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 for five nights. The hotel is very large but in lovely grounds so we didn't mind the walk to the breakfast area / bus depot in the mornings. We stayed in Arcadian House and had two queen sized beds. The room was nicely furnished with a flat screen TV but the bath was very small and low down compared to most hotels. There was some damage to the curtain fixing. The food court was very large and busy but there was ample choice of food. There were 6 swimming pools in total which was more than enough for the size of the resort. Transportation to the theme parks was excellent and very regular. We also took the boat to Downtown Disney which made a nice break from the theme parks. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013. Beautiful property with lots of lush plantings. It is a large resort with many walkways. We enjoyed meandering around in the evening. The main buildings are nicely themed. We thought the food court was good. They had a make-your-own pasta station for dinner that was a large portion - easily shared. They also have a make-your-own salad station that was equally as good. We stayed in the mansion section and the room was nicely themed and had plenty of storage. The bathroom area has a nice curtain that separates it from the bedroom area. We did not use the Disney buses as we had our own car. We did take a boat to Downtown Disney, but we felt it was actually easier to drive. The boat engine was really loud and made the trip a bit unpleasant. The main pool was nice, but unfortunately we were only able to swim one day. We had cold weather during our stay. There are about 4-5 quiet pools around the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The rooms at Port Orleans Riverside are a bit bigger than just your standard room & many have pull out twin trundle beds below one of the beds making it ideal for larger families..But, the rooms are still very small & the beds are small (Full sz) so there's not a lot of room to spread out! The hotel is spread out over some pretty extensive grounds & unfortunately, our section was quite far from where the park busses dropped off which made for some pretty miserable walks back to our room after a long day at the parks.
Food court was decent, sit down restaurant not worth the money. Overall rating: average.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will reitterate a few other reviewer's comments in that boy, did we pick the wrong week! Do not go the weeks before or after Easter! In Canada, these are not big travel weeks, not near Spring Break, so we foolishly didn't check when most of the Eastern US had holidays! yeah, it was busy! I can't say this is Riverside's fault but it didn't help that there are actually 4 separate bus stops at this resort as it's so sprawling so even in non-peak hours, the drive to/ from the Magic Kingdom was 45min-1hr. One morning it took us over an hour to get to Animal Kingdom and we left the resort at 7:30am! With two little kids in tow (ages 3 and 6) and temperatures requiring 4 layers in the morning, this really was a disappointment.
Good stuff about the resort: scenic grounds, well laid out pool/ main house area, convenient bike/ boat rental.
Bad stuff about the resort: long bus commutes to theme parks, dated rooms (we had a princess room) that are small, musty and had some ants in our room too!, restaurant selection and cleanliness were poor, front lobby staff were slow and check-in process seemed unduly complicated given we had actually used the e-Check in in advance.
What I am doing differently next time (if there is a next time): staying on the monorail resorts, going on one of the least busy weeks (apparently there are 4 weeks/ year that are ideal and not too hot), only going for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Port Orleans Riverside is a great location for families with smaller children. We booked 2 rooms - 4 nights. First room housed daughter, husband, 9 and 5 yr old. We (grandparents) were in adjacent room. Rooms were clean, fairly quiet, a/c was little noisy. Rooms, were located some distance from the lobby (resturants), pool, and dock. Still can't complain as overall Port Orleans Riverside did an excellent job. Only big complaint was with ferry service to Downtown Disney, as we waited for 2 ferrys to get aboard and missed a dinner reservation. It was, however, spring break, and extremely busy.

Room Tip: Rooms are distant from lobby, pool, dock.... Good to get something close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband, 5 year-old twins, and I stayed at Port Orleans - Riverside, in one of the Royal Guest Rooms. (November 2012)

FIRST IMPRESSION: When we checked into the resort, there were 4 or 5 employees standing in the lobby talking with each other. They did not acknowledge us, and finally a Manager started clapping her hands and telling them to "get to work." Then, they could not locate our reservation, which was made through a Mouse Planner over 10 months earlier. Although our reservation was eventually found, this was NOT a great first impression!!

ROOMS: The Royal Guest Rooms had been newly renovated and they were in good condition. The fireworks on the headboards were neat, but the excitement only lasts a short while. The bathrooms were somewhat clean, but the bathroom floor had random hairs on it when we first checked in.

FOOD: Riverside Mill Food Court was convenient, although not relaxing by any means. It was always crowded, and the tables and chairs were always messy/dirty. I took my own cleaning wipes and would clean the table before we sat down. Trying to get seated at Boatwright's was ridiculous, so we never got to eat there.

BUS SYSTEM: The bus system seemed to be fairly slow on certain days. One day we waited 45-50 minutes for Magic Kingdom bus to arrive.

OVERALL: Riverside is fine, as long as you don't have high expectations! The rooms are very basic, somewhat small, and service was lacking.

We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request one of the newly renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#51 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#71 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.