We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Third stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I really like this hotel A LOT. I've always had great luck finding awesome deals in this specific one. The rooms are nice, the location is beautiful and great for walks. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I'd definitely pay the extra few bucks and stay here instead of one of their All-Star hotels. It's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,284
    1,856
    585
    242
    126
See reviews for
3,209
792
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Overall our stay was as expected. This Disney resort is adequate, offering all the ammenities of staying "on property" It is a beautiful location, with lots of plants, water and flowers. This was our second stay, and I have to say it was less efficient than we had experienced the first time around. The biggest complaint was with our maid service. The room was less than clean, lots of dust (on bed rails, floor, corners, etc) along with dirt and trash in the bathroom upon our arrival. The maid also spilled a bottle of face cream, which made a huge mess! The housekeeping folks cleaned it up right away after we called. However, they promised to have a manager call, and no one ever did follow up. It was not the most expensive stuff, but it was nearly gone after it was knocked over. Would have been nice to have someone call and apologize.
Other items that were a bit frustrating included the hotel not sending our magical express tags for our luggage. That meant we had to drag our bags from one end of the airport to the other. We did not receive an explanation or an apology. All they said was there was a mix-up. We also had some VERY cold weather, and our heat was not working in our room. They did send someone out to fix it, but it did take some time, and he was less than friendly.
The rooms had been remodeled since our last stay. The beds were larger, but not very comfy. Also they added a bed that folded out from the wall which eliminated lots of storage space for clothing in drawers.
Despite the issues, it is still a nice place to stay. Lots of kids, so if you are seeking quiet, this is not the place for you! It is however, filled with friendly folks, space to relax with nice pools, and offers some things to do, such as bike and boat rentals.
It is certainly worth considering if you are planning a trip to Disneyworld.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was the first time we stayed at Port Orleans Resort and we loved it. The beautiful surrounding of the resort was so relaxing and calming. Yes, it is a big resort and you have to walk a ways to get to the lobby and bus stops, but the walk is so nice on the way there. We loved taking the boat to Downtown Disney. We stayed in the Royal Guest Rooms, they are nice however a regular room would have been just as nice. The price we paid for a family of four for 5 days 4 nights including meals, hotel, and park tickets was just a little over 3000.00. Great price.
Make sure to include a meal plan for your stay. It is so worth getting it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Overall, we had a nice time. We were close to the main building, so we didn't have too much walking. We were with friends, and I had never used the food courts before. It can be a bit overwhelming when you're not used to it, but the food is good. The rooms are nice and quiet, we didn't have much of a view (parking lot) but we're not in our rooms much. There was a dog kennel across the street from where we stayed, and it was always loud with barking, but we were unable to hear it in our rooms. The rooms themselves were roomy and clean. There are so many positives to staying on Disney property, mainly the convenience of everything. Disney is about service, and you get plenty of perks, such as sending merchandise to your resort and not having to carry it around the parks, not having to drive the car once you arrive, the food plan, even the convenience of having your room key, charge card, park tickets and meal plan ticket all on one credit sized card card.
If I have one complaint, it is the bus situation. Port Orleans Riverside is quite a large resort, and the buses were very crowded. Sometimes, coming back from a park at closing can take you 3 buses filling up and leaving before you are able to get on. I think in a weeks time I was able to actually sit around 4 or 5 times. The rest of the time it's standing room only. Port Orleans French Quarter mostly has its own bus so there was never a line. It almost got to be a joke when we were leaving the park after a busy day. When we would approach the bus stops, we would look for the one with the massive crowd and say, that must be Port Orleans Riverside. We were often correct.
We had a great time, though! You can't beat Disney!

Room Tip: Stay in an upstairs room for less noise. Choose a corner room - more light and privacy. If you are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I took our kids for their first Disney trip from 2/24-3/2. We had an excellent experience, and it started with our home away from home - the Port Orleans Riverside.

We did the online check-in option in advance and the line was significantly shorter than the traditional check-in. We booked the Magical Express shuttle from the airport to our hotel - they take care of getting your bags to your room and all that. We stayed in building 25 in the Alligator Bayou. We had 2 queens and a Murphy bed in our room, and this worked out great. Our little one slept in the Murphy bed, our oldest slept in one queen, and my wife and I slept in the other queen. The 2 sinks in the bathroom were a great feature for getting ready too. There's a curtain that divides the bathroom from the bedroom, as well as a door to close off the toilet/shower from the rest of the bathroom. Everything was clean and well-maintained.

Housekeeping really has their hands full with a property this large, but they pass with flying colors. Each day our room was made up and the bathroom was touched up. When we asked for extra towels for the little pool near our cluster of buildings, we always got them. (You don't need towels for the main/big pool but you do for the little pools.) There were nice little touches like the Mickey ears made out of towels, etc. that the kids really liked.

Foodservice options are limited but the choices are extensive. We got good value and quality for the price. The tables in the dining areas were very clean, as were the floors.

The resort property is HUGE so you will do some walking. Just bring comfortable shoes and you'll be fine! Would stay here again in a heartbeat and would gladly recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Disney World using the Magic Your Way package with our stay at Port Orleans Riverside. Port Orleans is a wonderful Louisiana-style architecture laden complex. Beautiful picturesque property, sweet smiling helpful staff, and exquisite details in the rooms only Disney can provide. Guest rooms have two full-sized beds, and a drop down trundle bed which was the perfect size for my young daughter. Rooms also include double sink vanities that can be closed off with a curtain for dressing and a bathtub/shower with a separate door. Nice additions in the room was the Cuisinart coffee double pod brewer, glass drink ware, key safe for valuables. and a mini-fridge. Although overall, I think the room was a bit cramped for my family of 5. This complex is closest to Downtown Disney which we were able to access twice during our stay with a quaint boat ride. Transportation to and from the parks is provided via bus which is shared with Port Orleans French Quarter during the off season. (Wait times were still acceptable) Food court overlooks a working paddle wheel and features an assortment of tastes and treats. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our family of four stayed here for 6 nights and really enjoyed it. Check in was fast and ALL staff for the entire visit were exceptional. We stayed in the Alligator Bayou and had what appeared to be a standard room. It had 2 very comfortable queen beds and a murphy type bed for an extra (my little ones loved that). The rooms are not big, but they have ample closet space, a separate sink are so that when using the shower/toilet someone else can still be getting ready. We were very close to the pool (there are several pools so you are never far from one), which was quiet and clean. There is a central pool with a bit more fun things to do. That one was less than a five minute walk away. Also less than a five minute walk was the lobby/restaurant and the bus stop. Bus service to the parks is very good, but plan a little extra time for Animal Kingdom since it appears to be the farthest away and took us almost an hour to reach. The food court is a little hard to maneuvre. Every food type has its own line up which can be challenging if darling daughter wants pizza and prince charming wants a burger, however the staff were very accommodating (we were on the dining plan) to allow us to come back and pick up the remaining items that we were entitled to once we had settled the kids at a table. With the dining plan, you get a refillable drink cup...the problem is that it is refillable with pop, coffee or hot chocolate, no milk products or juices (hard for the kids).
Good: 1-well worth the extra cost to have the ambiance and quiet which is lacking in the value resorts; 2-boat ride to downtown disney is beautiful, especially if you get one of the more animated captains who will tell you all the trivia you could ever want to know about Disney while cruising! Yet another example of the excellent staff on site!
Not so good: 1-Limited food choices in the food court - after two meals, we were done eating there.
I would go back and stay again anytime!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the lobby seemed to be much busier and therefor noisier. We were away a bit (bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#55 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.