We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Disney Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Cedar Rapids, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scenic Disney Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a good stay at Port Orleans Riverside. Great pool with a bar (fun for kids and parents). Our kids had fun roasting marshmallows in the evening after swimming.

The hotel food was just ok, but we had the dining plan so we ate at the parks and other resorts as much as possible.

Our room was well kept and comfortable. There was a small Murphy bed that my son loved. You could have 5 family members stay comfortably when you have this extra bed. The maid service was good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,027
    1,653
    517
    223
    122
See reviews for
2860
709
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,010)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We stayed in Oak Manor, in the newly rennovated princess rooms. I was tickled pink by all of the Disney touches in the room. From the boarder on the wall to the Genie lamp faucet and the fireworks headboard. The room was nice and quiet, clean. Walking over the bridge and to the Riverside Mill for breakfast each day was fun. It was hard to find a seat most mornings for breakfast, but I was happy to see that if I put my mind to it, we could get a filling breakfast for a decent price, and we could fill up our water bottles here. We used the transportation daily to the parks. This was my first time to Disney World, and compared to Disneyland it takes much longer to get to the parks from the hotel. By the time you wait for the right bus to arrive and then get to the park, we decided that coming back to the hotel for a change of clothes or lunch during the day was out of the question. Sometimes in the morning the bus to a certain park would be filled up before everyone could get on, so you would have to wait longer, but I feel that this is just how you need to be prepared for Disney World and isn't a reflection on the hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful, transportation back to the airport was no problem. Just be sure to get off at your correct bus stop, we got lost one evening! (At the parks be sure that you are in the correct line for the bus. Sometimes the sign says port olreans, but it is for the French Quarter only, other times it is for both hotels, we almost got on the wrong bus one evening!)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was the second time I had stayed at Riverside. It was just as wonderful as the first. It's beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable. I loved getting the Mickey Mouse "voicemail" on our room phone for my daughter's birthday. Unfortunately we happened to be staying there the same time several teenage groups were staying. We had our nights interrupted many times by prank phone calls, kids running back and forth in front of the room, and even random knocks on our door. Of course, we will be staying there again because we love Disney so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is beautiful. They offer carriage rides, surrey bike rentals, as well as boat rentals. The rooms are spacious and clean. However,this hotel is not made for people who cannot walk long distances. We stayed at the Alligator Bayou which is supposed to be the closest to the restaurant and marina. Although you do have options to rent a scooter from a separate company, the paths are not as wide to get around and they do have many twists and turns. We found it very confusing. My suggestions are that you call ahead and request a handicapped room, this way you will get a building with a ramp. Also, if you walk with a cane, like I do, consider bringing a wheelchair. If you cannot bring one or you don't want to rent one, then skip this hotel altogether. The food is very good and they prepare it in front of you. Go for the "create your own pasta" it is awesome and you just tell them what you want. The chef puts all your chosen ingredients in a pan and tosses it up for you. Breakfast is very filling and well made as are the burgers and sandwiches. The water taxi to Downtown Disney was relaxing. Summing it up, it was a nice couple of days, but I don't think we will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family did quick Disney escape in January, and stayed at Port Orleans Riverside. The property is very nice and the rooms are comfortable and clean. We could stroll between the Riverside and French Quarter resorts and use pools on either property. The ferry to Downtown Disney was very convenient. The onsite restaurants were good. I would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plattsburgh ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've stayed at about half of the Disney properties and would rank Port Orleans Riverside as my favorite moderate category hotel so far. I loved how quiet the facility was considering how large. The payoff is that you get to do a lot of walking! Grounds and buildings are very spread out. Lovely scenery and walks, but bring a stroller always if you have any kids under 6 or 7 and all of your belongings when you head out (don't have to go back to room to head out for day for instance after breakfast). This part, or if we forgot something, got very tiring. The grounds are just beautiful and serene. So peaceful in the evening. Pool area is wonderful and fun to be able to get to PO-FQ easily. The latter might be slightly more friendly for small children with its pool theming and size. We may stay there next time due to this. The cafeteria at POR was good, busy but not as bad as some other Disney hotels- both Deluxe and Value resorts.

We stayed in a Royal bedroom and we loved it. It would be worth the slight upcharge if your kids enjoy that theming. For the small rooms found across Disney hotels we found the room very functional, very clean and comfortable. And for our family, most importantly, QUIET! It was low season and we requested a remote room so this helped, but the whole facility seemed very peaceful. Beds and pillows and great AC unit made the room very comfortable for sleeping.

We had a car and parking was very convenient. If we had not been driving I would have worried somewhat about the bus system which as others have mentioned, is shared. That can always be a headache. Road system into Disney is complicated, I got lost getting in and out as usual; the headache of the car rental!

The boat service was somewhat disappointing; we waited nearly 30 minutes for a boat and the stops made it slow. I would not do a return trip to Downtown Disney; it was painfully crowded (even in low season) at night. This is a downside to POR as this is the only connection other than by bus if you do not have a car. I think the Boardwalk area is better for kids. We really enjoyed the outdoor movie, although as a pregnant mom traveling with an elderly parent, sitting on the ground for a whole movie got pretty uncomfortable and they would not let you bring your room pillows.

We would certainly consider staying here again sometime, but more likely try French Quarter since we have one (and soon two) young children, for ease of getting around the site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed at other Disney resorts, but wanted to try something new in the moderate price range. I was pleasantly surprised at all The Port Orleans Riverside had to offer. When checking in, children can sit in small chairs and watch cartoons in the lobby. I requested a room that would be near the bus stop and that was accommodated. The room was near one of the leisure pools and near the larger pool with a waterslide. Our room, although small, was fine for three adults and a child. There were two sinks which made the morning dash to get ready for the parks much quicker! The queen sized beds were comfortable. It was fairly quiet with no noise other than an occasional toilet flushing from another room. The only negative was the heat/a.c system. It didn't maintain a constant temperature so we would alternately be cold or hot. The grounds along the river were attractive. A huge plus was the food court where many options were available including turkey, pasta, burgers, pizza, bakery items and sandwiches. Frequently, there would be a little "Riverside parade" where children would be given tambourines and walk with cast members around the restaurant singing the resort theme song. It was very cute. Each child received a Mickey curly straw for participating! For adults, there is a lounge which hosted a singer/comic who played the piano. It was very entertaining. There is also a sit-down restaurant which we didn't try. A delightful man, named Birdie, was near the front door in the morning handing out Mickey stickers to children and adults. He was so friendly and fun! There were so many happy, smiling faces indicating contentment with this resort! We didn't have time to take the boat to Downtown Disney, but that is on the list for our next trip.

Room Tip: Request a room near the lobby. Some rooms are quite a hike from that area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#76 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.