We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Northern Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

THis is one of Disney 's better resorts. Worth the money if you can use Florida rates or passholders. We got a free upgrade. Great location, great heated pool and slide. Good bus transportation, friendly service. I left something there, they not only called me but shipped it to me and no charge. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool or bus stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,043
    1,672
    521
    224
    122
See reviews for
2893
709
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family stayed at Port Orleans Riverside in December 2012 for 10 nights. We loved this hotel with it's fantastic food court and pool area. The only problem with this hotel is the grounds are very large and it was a 10 walk to the main entrance/food court. The hotel does have 4 bus stops so you can catch the bus to the Disney world parks and don't you don't have to walk back to the main lobby. There is a sit down restaurant but we never tried it.
The bar has entertainment nightly and on select nights Yee Hae Bob plays.He is very entertaining and really worth seeing.
The resort also has many pools. We had a small heated pool just outside our garden view room. My kids 17 and 15 really enjoyed this resort and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great location. Food court was good. Staff were fun and friendly. LOVED the relaxing boat ride to downtown Disney in the evenings! Bus service was great as well. Room was well decorated in Magnolia Bend and the housekeeping was excellent. Very romantic to walk around the beautiful trails in the evening. I would highly recommend this resort to adult couples!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We've been to Disney several times and have always stayed at deluxe Disney properties. This time after speaking to a travel agent we decided to save some money and stay at Port Orleans Riverside and so glad we did. This was our favorite property so far! It was everything we were promised. New renovated rooms and our room was close to the main lobby area. Our only request was to have connecting rooms and even though they couldn't guarantee that we got what we had requested. Our family of six was very comfortable with the 2 rooms.

The quick service dining hall was okay. The resort was at full capacity so I can't complain, but it was very crowded for breakfast. We didn't go till 10 am each day, so I can only imagine how busy it must have been earlier. The breakfast meals were mediocre at best.

The table service restaurant was awesome! My son and I both had the beef medallions and it was cooked perfectly and delicious!

The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and there is lots to do. I wish we would have spent a day at our resort just relaxing by the pool, but you know when you are in Disney there is just so much to do!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at POR Jan 2-7, 2013. We have stayed here prior to the renovation with the trundle bed near the floor which we never used. We LOVE the new murphy bed and my 8yr old niece actually slept by herself (well, for a couple of nights)! There are less storage space as others have mentioned but we did ok living out of our suite cases for 5 nights.

I do prefer the French Quarter as it is a smaller resort (less walking) and we like the food choices in the food court better.

Port Orleans is our favourite moderate resort!

Room Tip: Request a specific building # (near foodcourt, bus stop, etc). Call 3-5 days prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barmouth, Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Disney World can be a very overwhelming place. It's huge, the theme parks require a lot of energy and planning to get the best out of them, and it can be a little, (how shall I phrase this?), 'in your face' perhaps. However my wife and I may have discovered the perfect resort to enable you to enjoy a vacation at Disney World and yet feel that you have escaped somewhere else.

Port Orleans Riverside is the larger cousin to the French Quarter resort and at 2000 rooms it's a whopper. However the layout and construction means it never feels overwhelming. The main buildings contain the lobby, (much more elegant than you might expect), a general store, a cocktail bar and lounge and two eating places - a food court and a table-service restaurant, and are arranged around a riverside wharf. The theming takes you back to the Mississippi, here called the 'Sassagoula River' and the whole ambiance is laid back and relaxed. The accommodation is spread across a huge area and divided into two styles of block - Mansions and more rustic lodges. The rooms are of the same specification in each - it's just the decor that varies, both inside and out.
My wife and I had elected to stay in one of the lodges of Alligator Bayou and we loved it. The lodges are spread across a large area, but the landscaping is such that you never really see more than one or two at once and so it feels far more intimate than it is. The general landscaping is lush, green and amazingly beautiful - it's one of the most physically attractive resorts we have ever stayed at, anywhere. One tip would be to pay the modest up-charge to book a 'preferred location' lodge, (one of 4 closest to the main buildings). This meant we had a 2 minute walk to the food court whereas the lodges at the furthest extremes of the site would face a walk of 10 minutes. Great when you are not in a hurry and the weather is good - not so great if it rains....
The rooms were of a decent size and reasonably equipped and were kept clean by 'mouse-keeping' but honestly this resort is not about the rooms - it's all about the landscaping. If you are familiar with the UK the closest I can liken it to is a CentreParcs resort. It has that same traffic-free, wooded, green, quiet feel to it. Just walking around the grounds one morning with the autumn sunlight reflecting in the waters was sensational. It really is an escape from the maelstrom of the parks and it is a genuinely relaxing environment.
Transportation links were good and regular and there were a good number of nice swimming pools amongst the lodges, as well as the big resort pool.
We would happily stay again and thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pay for a preferred location room. It will save you a lot of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited this resort as a party of five adults, sharing two rooms, with payment for a third rollaway bed in one of the rooms. When we arrived following a long international flight, we were told they don't have rollaways despite having paid for this! Told hotel full, no other room available and nothing they could do! They suggested third adult slept on a fold down child's Murphy bed, or take the small mattress of this and put on floor!!!

We ended up sleeping on the Murphy taking shots each at this, not the best way for a Disney Resort hotel to treat ladies all in their sixties! I was so disappointed in a Disney hotel, had pre insult stayed out with Disney with much superior accommodation. The dining area could only be described as similar to a works canteen, but more chaotic and overpriced.

I would have reservations about booking this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.