We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, unreliable wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 332 Hotels in Orlando
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service, unreliable wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Riverside. The pools were enjoyable. The cafeteria was clean and the staff were helpful. Very easy access to the attractions. The major negative was the wifi. The wifi was unreliable and if working was terribly slow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,795
    2,218
    721
    278
    141
See reviews for
3,943
943
56
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrillville, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I loved the Southern Plantation look of the resort. The grounds are lush and flowers are beautiful. The ferry to downtown Disney is always a welcome time to relax and just take in the magnificant views of Disney grounds. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. My only complaint is the resort is enormous so make sure you wear your walking shoes. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Being at Disney is awesome, but after a super long day of lots of walking, you'd like to not be right on top of one another. We stayed in Alligator Bayou, this resort is the only moderate that accepts parties of 5. It's an average sized room which makes for a tight squeeze for a family of 5. The one thing they have done is added Murphy beds instead of roll always. This is nice but it causes less storage. The only drawers available were under the murphy bed, they were 3 very small drawers. Nowhere near the amount needed for a party of 5 staying for a week. We lived out of our suitcases. Another negative about the room is the bathroom. There are double vanities behind a curtain but the toilet and shower room are tiny, you can hardly spread out to dry off after a shower.
The pool at this resort is great. The kids loved all the water features and slide. The closed pool times are not enforced but lifeguards do leave at pool closing times. The grounds of the resort are gorgeous and well maintained but it's easy to get lost on the many trails if you don't tote around your map. We did like the fact that there were several bus stops throughout the property.
POR has 2 places to eat. The Mill has your average food court feel and the same foods as most Disney resort food courts. There is also a table service restaurant called Boatwrights. POR also has an adult only lounge area with nightly piano bar. The arcade is like all the rest of the Disney resort arcades.
Having stated at several Disney resorts, this one will only be chosen by us again if we need the room for 5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to busses and main lobby if you intend on eating breakfast at the resort. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Disney always has great resorts, no matter the price point. Clean, neat, beautiful grounds, you will never regret staying on property! Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Grounds are very spread out, lots of walking but that goes with the package with Disney, bring comfy shoes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road and parking lots, much better views, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Family and I stayed at Port Orleans ~ Riverside thru Christmas. We had a flight delay that caused us to have to cancel our dining reservation, Disney was very accommodating and gladly helped us cancel and put the credit back on our meal plan. (HIGHLY recommend using the dining plan.)

We checked in Christmas day, which took a while, but our cast member was friendly while during so. The room was nice, clean and enough space to put your luggage up. The safe was a bit small, and the bathroom felt very dark, but it's just a room, the time is really for the parks. Was quite a far walk as we were in the back of the Magnolia section. I'd ask for a preferred room!

The dining area always went smoothly. There was so many choices! My mother and I loved the pasta bar.

The grounds are immaculate and all the pools are beautiful. Didn't spend much time in them because of the December weather, but there were lifeguards on hand and lots of seating area.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We'll be coming back in June to stay in the Royal Guest rooms. ~Magical!~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Because the 4 Disney World parks are spread over a distance, it is important to choose your Disney World hotel with care. This hotel is very centrally located, so it didn't take long to get to any of the parks. It was great amenities and a good selection of dining experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

this our first time taking our kids to disney, we wanted to stay in the park but didnt want the value hotels, i chose this hotel for the lousiana feel and the fact that it had queen beds instead of full size. this hotel was beautiful. it was right on the water so you were able to take a small ferry boat over to downtown disney which was nice. the atomsphere was very laid back and calm, they had great pools and something was always going on at the main one, we had a really wonderful time here. i would definetly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#73 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.