We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet Rooms. Expect Long Walks.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Rooms. Expect Long Walks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our room was located in Alligator Bayou in building 26 on the second floor. There are no elevators and it was not near anything. Expect a good 5 minute walk to get anywhere.. the lobby, the bus depot, the main pool, the parking lot. However, because of the location, it was quiet and comfortable. We had great weather so I didn't mind the walking, but if it had been cool or rainy, this would have been an awful property to stay at. Everything was clean and well maintained. The lobby staff was kind and welcoming. Having stayed at other Disney hotels, I wouldn't stay here again, but there wasn't anything wrong with my stay. Just personal preferences. I prefer a more traditional hotel experience with everything under one roof. Good value. We had a room with 2 beds and a trundle bed. Everything was clean and welcoming. Our housekeeper was great and kept things tidy. Restaurant was great, good food. Everyone is helpful. Plenty of storage space. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if you don't want to lug suitcases up staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,514
    2,006
    652
    258
    133
See reviews for
3,515
852
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When arriving on the morning of November 23, 2012 we had already done an online check-in telling them we would arrive at 7:00 a.m. Upon arriving the lobby was full of people trying to check in regularly and people like us who had already checked in online. We waited one hour and 30 minutes before we could check in, it was horrible. I asked to speak to the manager after waiting about 45 minutes, there was two people checking us in, and it wasn't going very fast. I asked what the problem was since we had had to tell what time we were arriving and the rest of the online people checking in had also had to give a time for check-in. She said she was sorry more times than I care to count but really didn't do anything until I asked why the people at the concierge's desk (there were three workers over there) couldn't help check someone in. She said they weren't trained for that, I told her that was not true I was almost sure, and when I returned to my place in line and there were no other people wanting to use the consierge's desk, all of a sudden they were checking guests in. It wasn't a very good start to our "magical movements" at Disney. The properly overall is quite nice with a lot of woods and trees, Our room had been remodeled since our last stay and was clean with a bed that now comes folding out of the wall. We had two queen beds and the Wi-Fi worked well for my husband in our room, it was a nice addition.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room close to the parking lot and on the first floor so you don't have to carry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We liked it a lot!
We had a standard room with 2 queens bed, nothing to complain about! The room was clean and nicely decorated and furnished, big bathroom.
There's an empty mini refrigerator to storage any perishable food or refreshments, which turned out extremely useful for us traveling with our 13 months old son.
Every day we got new shampoos and soaps (have to remark it as a pro since the last time we came to Disney World and spent the weekend at the Caribbean Beach Resort had no refills at all).
The resort has all the comforts you may want: pool,store market, playground, boat shuttle to downtown Disney, nice river walk.
Best deal!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Disney does not disappoint and this was an incredible place to stay. We had a newer room Furnished by "Princess Tiana" and the decor and extras were just stunning. The small details - the faucets looking like magic lamps and the details on the headboards that allowed fireworks to go off in the dark - these little things just made my kids smile to no end. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff did a great job every day of leaving something different for the kids to notice. It was easy to tell that this room had been updated, but the fact that the staff takes great care to clean and fix things was obvious because the room did not have a feel like thousands of other families had stayed there before me.

The grounds around the hotel are fantastic and you really feel the Southern Charm. There is a bit of walking to get around and at the end of a long day - that is a bit much - especially if you want to go to your room and then back for drinks at the food court, but by being spread out - the sleeping are was always quite and we were not disturbed by the large number of people. Both My wife and daughter mentioned how when we were near our room it felt like we were the only guest, but when you went to the food court - you could see we were one of thousands of guests. Amazing.

The gift shop, food court and lobby were all very nice - they were very typical Disney - with lots of choices and many people willing to help out. The ride from the hotel to Downtown Disney via boat was a nice option and allowed for some variation from the buses.

Overall as a midlevel resort - the cost and amenities make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Disney World Port of Orleans-Riverside from Nov 26th thru Dec 2nd. We booked the Royal Rooms which had Disney princess pictures, light up royal headboards, overall royal themed decor, and even Aladin lamp sink faucets(rooms also had mini fridges). Our party consisted of 2 grandparents, 2 parents, two sons (10 & 7), and daughter 2.. The enire group enjoyed the rooms. We stayed in rooms 9749 and 9750. The rooms were a short walk to the lobby, gift shop, dinning hall, pool, and south bus terminal. I would stay in this same section of the hotel again when we return. Rooms were very clean and resort grounds were extremely clean. Buses to and from this resort were always on time and there was always plenty off room. We ate at the quick sevice resturant for one breakfast and one dinner. The selection was good and the food was above average.
I recommend taking advantage of the Magic Express if you are flying into Orlando. We checked or bags in Pittsburgh and never had to touch them at Orlando. They were delivered straight to our rooms. Going home did curb side check-in outside the hotel lobby. Very nice feature..

I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lover in Cumbria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 14 nights from the 13th November. This is our second time at this hotel and we just love it.
As a family of 5 it can be hard to find a Disney hotel that will fit us all for a good price.
The room Buliding 16 room 6 was a good size with 2 king beds and a pull out bed. The room was nice and clean (i am not the type of person to look under beds and pull my finger along skirting boards, I am on holiday after all)
Our Mousekeeper kept the kids amused with different towel animals.
The resort is big but the setting is amazing, it's not in your face Disney but does not lose the Disney Appeal, the kids loved all the wildlife around the hotel.
No problem with the busses or the water taxi to downtown Disney.
My only little moan is that the rooms do not have much draw storage space but we just got on with it.
We have stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge, all the All Star Resorts and this is the only hotel we would now stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the food hall we recommend Block 16 or 17 as they are close to a small quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so we didn't sleep at this resort this trip. However, we love Riverside so much and enjoy their large gift shop so much that on our last night we ate at the food court, walked the grounds, and did our shopping. There is a charm here that for us none can compare. We were so sad we didn't stay this visit but we were traveling with a party of 6 instead of our usual 5 so we opted for the cabins. We've decided next time we will pay the extra $$ and just get adjoining rooms at Riverside. It will forever be our home away from home

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#62 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.