We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 332 Hotels in Orlando
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We liked it a lot!
We had a standard room with 2 queens bed, nothing to complain about! The room was clean and nicely decorated and furnished, big bathroom.
There's an empty mini refrigerator to storage any perishable food or refreshments, which turned out extremely useful for us traveling with our 13 months old son.
Every day we got new shampoos and soaps (have to remark it as a pro since the last time we came to Disney World and spent the weekend at the Caribbean Beach Resort had no refills at all).
The resort has all the comforts you may want: pool,store market, playground, boat shuttle to downtown Disney, nice river walk.
Best deal!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,802
    2,227
    724
    278
    142
See reviews for
3,959
946
56
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Disney does not disappoint and this was an incredible place to stay. We had a newer room Furnished by "Princess Tiana" and the decor and extras were just stunning. The small details - the faucets looking like magic lamps and the details on the headboards that allowed fireworks to go off in the dark - these little things just made my kids smile to no end. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff did a great job every day of leaving something different for the kids to notice. It was easy to tell that this room had been updated, but the fact that the staff takes great care to clean and fix things was obvious because the room did not have a feel like thousands of other families had stayed there before me.

The grounds around the hotel are fantastic and you really feel the Southern Charm. There is a bit of walking to get around and at the end of a long day - that is a bit much - especially if you want to go to your room and then back for drinks at the food court, but by being spread out - the sleeping are was always quite and we were not disturbed by the large number of people. Both My wife and daughter mentioned how when we were near our room it felt like we were the only guest, but when you went to the food court - you could see we were one of thousands of guests. Amazing.

The gift shop, food court and lobby were all very nice - they were very typical Disney - with lots of choices and many people willing to help out. The ride from the hotel to Downtown Disney via boat was a nice option and allowed for some variation from the buses.

Overall as a midlevel resort - the cost and amenities make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Disney World Port of Orleans-Riverside from Nov 26th thru Dec 2nd. We booked the Royal Rooms which had Disney princess pictures, light up royal headboards, overall royal themed decor, and even Aladin lamp sink faucets(rooms also had mini fridges). Our party consisted of 2 grandparents, 2 parents, two sons (10 & 7), and daughter 2.. The enire group enjoyed the rooms. We stayed in rooms 9749 and 9750. The rooms were a short walk to the lobby, gift shop, dinning hall, pool, and south bus terminal. I would stay in this same section of the hotel again when we return. Rooms were very clean and resort grounds were extremely clean. Buses to and from this resort were always on time and there was always plenty off room. We ate at the quick sevice resturant for one breakfast and one dinner. The selection was good and the food was above average.
I recommend taking advantage of the Magic Express if you are flying into Orlando. We checked or bags in Pittsburgh and never had to touch them at Orlando. They were delivered straight to our rooms. Going home did curb side check-in outside the hotel lobby. Very nice feature..

I highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Walt Disney World.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando Lover in Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 14 nights from the 13th November. This is our second time at this hotel and we just love it.
As a family of 5 it can be hard to find a Disney hotel that will fit us all for a good price.
The room Buliding 16 room 6 was a good size with 2 king beds and a pull out bed. The room was nice and clean (i am not the type of person to look under beds and pull my finger along skirting boards, I am on holiday after all)
Our Mousekeeper kept the kids amused with different towel animals.
The resort is big but the setting is amazing, it's not in your face Disney but does not lose the Disney Appeal, the kids loved all the wildlife around the hotel.
No problem with the busses or the water taxi to downtown Disney.
My only little moan is that the rooms do not have much draw storage space but we just got on with it.
We have stayed at the Animal Kingdom Lodge, all the All Star Resorts and this is the only hotel we would now stay in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the food hall we recommend Block 16 or 17 as they are close to a small quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so we didn't sleep at this resort this trip. However, we love Riverside so much and enjoy their large gift shop so much that on our last night we ate at the food court, walked the grounds, and did our shopping. There is a charm here that for us none can compare. We were so sad we didn't stay this visit but we were traveling with a party of 6 instead of our usual 5 so we opted for the cabins. We've decided next time we will pay the extra $$ and just get adjoining rooms at Riverside. It will forever be our home away from home

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Resort is old. The bathrooms are tiny with little to no privacy. The wifi is terrible and if you move 2 ft froom your room it doesn't work. Your cell phone won't work in the rooms. The food is terrible. We had two decent meals the whole week. Everything is expensive. Lunch is about $75 for 3 people and $150 for dinner. Just ok at best. Mickey merry parade is a ripe off!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside in October 2012. We absolutely loved this resort. Grounds – yes, the property is quite expansive, but we didn’t mind having to walk to get around. Amenities – my girls LOVED the main pool. The waterslide was great, there were organized poolside activities for children too, and a cute playscape. The poolside bar was great. We ate at Boatright’s Restaurant one night. We were not expecting anything spectacular, and our meals exceeded our expectations. The quick service dining area was exactly as expected. Rooms – our room was very clean and nicely decorated. I was surprised by the lack of drawers for clothing. And the curtain that separated the sinks from the sleeping area was a little odd, but given the limited amount of time we were in our room, it was fine for us. Buses – we had no issues with the buses. Of course we took our vacation when the park crowds were low. The longest we had to wait was maybe 20 mins? And that was the exception and not the norm. Most of the time we didn’t have to wait more than 10 mins. The resort DOES have three (or is it 4) stops. Ours was usually the third stop. But often we would get off at the first stop (near the lobby), and just walk through and back to our building. No big deal. Staff - It’s Disney, so the staff is wonderful. We had to extend our stay by an additional day due to Hurricane Sandy. As soon as we changed our flights we alerted the resort that we would like to stay an extra night. They were extremely accommodating. Because of the circumstances they discounted our additional night by 30%. We also got to stay in the same room, which was so convenient!!!! Oh – by the way, we stayed in the Acadia House. It is one of the mansions and is very close to a bus stop, a small pool and the laundry. We loved the convenience of this building and would choose it again. Overall, we would highly recommend this resort and will stay here next time. Unless we give the French Quarter a try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.5 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
2.3 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
4.5 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#50 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#73 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.