We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort-Food Court & Bus Service lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort-Food Court & Bus Service lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a BIG beautiful resort. We did think that the Food Court wasn't an adequate size for the number of rooms. The lines were very long at mealtime. On our last morning we took the boat to the French Quarter & I thought their Food Court was much less crowded. This section of the Resort has a lot fewer rooms. They also had great selections & Biguettes. Riverside offered a great Salad that they would mix for you with any toppings, meat etc you wanted. This fed 2 Adults easily. We loved the boat to Disney Downtown-very little wait. The bus was slow. Especially 1 PM it took us 1 hr from Bustop at Magic Kingdom to Hotel. All in all-had a great time at Port Orleans-Riverside!

Room Tip: Ask for closest Bldgs to Food Court. The closest ones are extra. #17 was very convenient and we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,046
    1,672
    522
    224
    122
See reviews for
2896
709
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just got back from an amazing holiday. The hotel is fantastic, the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are very clean. The staff go out of there way to help you and make your stay magical, I can not fault this hotel in any way. We have satyed in the Alligator Bayou rooms before which were lovely but this time we opted for Acadian house and they were just as nice, everything is fab, we were greeted with a Mickey Mouse shaped towel on the bed and our toiletries got replenished every day. We had a laundry room just at the back of our block and a swimming pool which was really convienient. The bar is great and piano bob is def worth a night in for. The only thing I found a bit much is the food hall at breakfast time which can get soo busy , but you can eat in the nearby bar or other eating place just next door which is what we did. We will definately stay at this resort again and would highly recommend it to anyone. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for our 20th anniversary. First thing to know is how friendly and warm your check-in experince is. The resort sits on a river. So peaceful in the a.m. and at night. All the food is typical Disney, not bad/not great. (But Fultons, Raglan Road, and Bongos in downtown disney are great). The main pool is busy. But fun! They have wuite pools around each of the bldgs. They have a piano plyer wed thru Sat nites. DON'T MISS!!! Hilarious, and very entertaining. Being on the river you rent boats. They also have bikes and horse drawn carriages. Everything is pricey, remember it's Disney. The bus system can be a pian at times, epecially the ones that go fom the main bldg to all the other bldgs. There are cabs too. The room was a themed room w/ LED lighted headboard. really cool. The rooms are small but whatever, just need a place to sleep and shower. This was my 5th time staying here. nice resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent five nights at the Port Orleans Resort-Riverside with my son and my two grandsons. This resort was a very good choice for us. We had a room with two queen beds and a drop down murphy bed. My 8 year old grandson slept very comfortably on this murphy bed which was much better than sleeping with grandma. The room was comfortable and a good size. The pool was very nice but we did not spend much time there because we were in the parks from dawn to dusk. The food area was clean with plenty of seating and the food was good. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The bus service to the parks was prompt and we never had to wait very long. The boat ride to Downtown Disney was fun and again we did not have to wait. We were very happy with our resort choice.

It may be important to note that we were at this Disney Resort the first week of November. I know that this is a slow time of the year so things might be different when there are more guests at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have written about this resort before, but I thought I would do one more! This is just a fabulous place to stay on a vacaton; if you are planning a trip to Disney World, please keep this resort in mind. It has everything you would want for a great vacation: great food, a nice store, a boatride to Downtown Disney, wonderful rooms and service. They refurbished the rooms,so this was a plus for us, as we have stayed here over 10 times and the nice new rooms were great! They have several pools, which is great for the kids. I don't understand the negative reviews because in over 10 visits here, we have never had a bad experience. Also, they have bus rides to all thej parks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay in a Disney Hotel and was very pleased with our decision to stop here. Stopped in building 39 which was handy for the North Bus stop and only a 5 minute walk to the restaurant area. Room was small and did not have much storage but didn't spend much time in there so wasn't a major issue. Walls are a little on the thin side so you can hear next door flushing the very noisy toilets.

Restaurant can get very busy in the morning and evening and can get a little stressful but food was good.

Will stop here again if we go back to Disney.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdys, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just returned from a week at Port Orleans-Riverside. We had 5 rooms in Lodge 17 in Alligator Bayou for 13 of us! They kids and grandkids had a really great time at WDW and at the resort! We were on the dining plan and ate a few times at the Quick Serve restaurant and the portions were good and the selections were also. Everyone enjoyed the Luau at the Polynesian and Chef Mickey one morning for Breakfast, which was a great use of the dining plan. I do have to say, I honestly believe that having desert included in each meal was a waste for us and Disney should consider a plan with EITHER an appitizer/salad OR desert! Busses were crowded and I was surprised at how many times we had to stand to/from the parks. My 4 year-old grandson was afraid of the full length smiling Alligator when the murphy bed was pulled down and refused to sleep there. I really don't think I blame him.....seems that Disney made a big mistake with that! The kids enjoyed the pools and fishing one morning. The grounds are just beautiful but it is a pretty long walk to everything, but certainly not as long as it could have been. The boat to Downtown Disney was convenient and a nice break from the bus. All and all everyone had a fantastic time and they are already talking of the next trip! After everyone left my husband and I spent the afternoon at Epcot, took the Monorail to the Contemporary and had a wonderful dinner at the Wave restaurant with our last table service meal and had a great time anaylizing the multi-generation trip and returned to Epcot for the fireworks and left for home! A great ending to a successful trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
The Walt Disney...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
Free internet...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
4.7 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.