We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great magical place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 328 Hotels in Orlando
lancashire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great magical place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Our fourth stay here..affordable, quiet, great hot tub, pools clean and plenty of sun beds,umbrellas,towels..now they have hammocks, although some need repairing..rooms great, only three of us sharing. Food court expensive, but onsite they all are unless you're on the dining plan, we only snacked there anyway.we hired bikes which was fun and the added bonus of this hotel is the free boat transportation to downtown disney and to other resorts, we took a trip to old key west, thats great too but more expensive . For a moderate hotel this is excellent value and we will be backin a couple of years, we know what to expect and it delivers every time..

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,590
    2,055
    673
    264
    134
See reviews for
3,614
886
53
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from spending Halloween week at Walt Disney World. Stayed again at the Port Orleans-Riverside, Magnolia Bend property, Magnolia Terrace building. My friends and I prefer the Magnolia Bend portion of the Riverside property because of its southern charm along side the meandering river. We had two second story rooms and one first floor room. My room, #8526, must have been converted from an accessible to a regular room because the bathroom was large with all facilities included in the same space (versus the small tub/toilet room with outside sinks that my friends had).

The food court at Riverside has a nice pasta option that allows for customizing your selection, is quite ample and arrives steaming hot. The seating area is large compared to the Port Orleans French Quarter. There is entertainment in the bar Wednesdays-Saturdays. A great performer with a hokey but fun routine.

While we love the Polynesian, we no longer feel the need to be on the monorail since the addition of two theme parks not connected to it (we drive to the parks now). Additionally, the rates at the deluxe hotels preclude the three of us booking separate rooms as we do at the moderate hotel.

The Port Orleans-Riverside, Magnolia Bend is a great moderate resort at WDW.

Room Tip: I liked #8526 in the Magnolia Terrace building. It was a small walk from the parking lot and did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in Building 18 (a Preferred Room) in the Alligator Bayou section. It is very close to the main pool and a quiet pool, lobby, boat and bicycle rentals, walkway to the French Resort, parking lot, and bus transportation but there was no noise or congestion. It is well worth the upgrade. An area near the lobby is set aside for charging scooters. Beautiful, tropical landscaping situated on the river. The food at the main restaurant and at the Food Court was excellent. Many options to choose from. The Food Court is very large and never felt crowded and was not noisy; prices are reasonable. All of the staff that we met were extremely courteous and helpful. Research is highly recommended when choosing to stay at Port Orleans. Port Orleans is divided into two resorts, i.e. Riverside and French Quarter. Riverside itself has two sections (lush Alligator Bayou and the Magnolia area with its' stately mansions).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed Nov 9th to the 12th. This is another great Disney property to stay on.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is extremely close to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studio's, and especially Downtown Disney. For a quick meal, their food court is very efficient and well run. If we have more time and energy, the boat ride to downtown Disney is very convenient and then the food choices are endless.
The resort is beautifully laid out, and very quiet. We virtually heard no one else our entire stay. It was very peaceful, and was quite welcome, especially after a crowded day at the parks.
We didn't use the pool, because the evening outside temps dipped into the low 50's.
The room were typical Disney small, but it was very comfortable. We don't mind so much because we spend so little time in it.
All in all, it was a very enjoyable quick trip to Disney, and I would definitely stay again at Port Orleans Riverside.

Room Tip: We stayed near the back of the resort, and it was extremely quiet. The downside, its a 5 to 10 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Towels are like sandpaper. Was given defective key at checkin took an hour to get a new one after they sent someone to look at lock. They should have sent new key with maintenance guy first ( he was very nice) they should try simple fix first. After I called for new key after maintenance man discovered it wasn't the lock they called 20 minutes later and ask if called for new key I said yes then another 30 I got a key. I could not to get the rest of luggage until I got a key. Did not use bell service because it was so far room who knows when I would have gotten my luggage.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a close main lobby. Motel very spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Port Orleans – Riverside property for two nights at our family vacation last week. The property is huge, with a number of small buildings each containing a few dozen guest rooms. The rooms themselves aren’t huge and don’t have some of the amenities found in luxury hotels such as closets and separate toilets from the bath. The doors also face to the outside, which is not my preference. But the hotel rooms have some wonderful elements as well. We satyed in one of Princess Tiana’s Guest rooms. The headboards are huge carved pieces with images of a mystical swamp on them – and then you press a button on the side of the headboard they light up with LED fireworks displays! My daughter also recognized Jasmine’s magic carpet worked into the rug and the photos on the wall appear to be ones of Tiana hangin’ with her princess friends. One 3D image features all the princesses hanging out in front of the guest house you’re staying in. Another shows all of the princesses with their princes on the steps of a guest house. It was realistic enough that may daughter wrote Tiana a thank-you note for allowing us to stay at her guest house!

They also have a fun piano bar and nightly outdoor movies at the Oak Manor Guest House, which happened to be where we stayed. The Disney transportation is convenient too. It takes longer than I wish it would, but it’s still better than driving and parking. And it is lovely that the Disney service at the parks translates to the hotel as well – I love that the staff still trades Disney pins!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Disney resort and I was happy with the choice. We spent five nights in a Royal Guest room in the Oak Manor area.

The resort itself is beautifully landscaped, quiet and offers all the amenities you could want. We didn't take advantage of most of them only because we spent our entire days at the parks.

The quick-service restaurant is pretty good. We ate two very late dinners there - one sandwich and once with the custom pasta. Both meals had huge portions and were decent quality. The gift shop is fine and the check-in staff was efficient and courteous in my experience.

Our room was a hit with my 3-1/2 year old son. He couldn't get enough of the fiber optic headboard. The room was small, I felt, with little free space, but it was well appointed. The double sinks and countertop were invaluable, as was the in-room refrigerator. I wish there was an actual closet to stow away clothes and suitcases, instead of an open hanging area, but that's just a personal preference. The a/c unit seemed to have two settings: arctic frigid and off. Fortunately, it was cool outside, so we kept it off for most of the visit.

This resort is enormous. Our Oak Manor building was well-located close to the main pavilion and bus service with an enjoyable short walk. I can imagine how staying farther away would be a challenge at times. The parking lot was also a pretty good distance from our room (5 doors down from the water), so if you have a lot of luggage, bell service is a must.

Room Tip: Oak Manor was a good location close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#59 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a place where simple pleasures flourish and Southern hospitality abounds. From the stately white-column mansions of Magnolia Bend to the quaint backwoods cottages of Alligator Bayou, delight in this picturesque Resort hotel that evokes the romance and tranquility of the rural Louisiana Bayou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.