We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed Nov 9th to the 12th. This is another great Disney property to stay on.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is extremely close to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studio's, and especially Downtown Disney. For a quick meal, their food court is very efficient and well run. If we have more time and energy, the boat ride to downtown Disney is very convenient and then the food choices are endless.
The resort is beautifully laid out, and very quiet. We virtually heard no one else our entire stay. It was very peaceful, and was quite welcome, especially after a crowded day at the parks.
We didn't use the pool, because the evening outside temps dipped into the low 50's.
The room were typical Disney small, but it was very comfortable. We don't mind so much because we spend so little time in it.
All in all, it was a very enjoyable quick trip to Disney, and I would definitely stay again at Port Orleans Riverside.

Room Tip: We stayed near the back of the resort, and it was extremely quiet. The downside, its a 5 to 10 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,052
    1,681
    522
    224
    122
See reviews for
2908
710
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Towels are like sandpaper. Was given defective key at checkin took an hour to get a new one after they sent someone to look at lock. They should have sent new key with maintenance guy first ( he was very nice) they should try simple fix first. After I called for new key after maintenance man discovered it wasn't the lock they called 20 minutes later and ask if called for new key I said yes then another 30 I got a key. I could not to get the rest of luggage until I got a key. Did not use bell service because it was so far room who knows when I would have gotten my luggage.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a close main lobby. Motel very spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Port Orleans – Riverside property for two nights at our family vacation last week. The property is huge, with a number of small buildings each containing a few dozen guest rooms. The rooms themselves aren’t huge and don’t have some of the amenities found in luxury hotels such as closets and separate toilets from the bath. The doors also face to the outside, which is not my preference. But the hotel rooms have some wonderful elements as well. We satyed in one of Princess Tiana’s Guest rooms. The headboards are huge carved pieces with images of a mystical swamp on them – and then you press a button on the side of the headboard they light up with LED fireworks displays! My daughter also recognized Jasmine’s magic carpet worked into the rug and the photos on the wall appear to be ones of Tiana hangin’ with her princess friends. One 3D image features all the princesses hanging out in front of the guest house you’re staying in. Another shows all of the princesses with their princes on the steps of a guest house. It was realistic enough that may daughter wrote Tiana a thank-you note for allowing us to stay at her guest house!

They also have a fun piano bar and nightly outdoor movies at the Oak Manor Guest House, which happened to be where we stayed. The Disney transportation is convenient too. It takes longer than I wish it would, but it’s still better than driving and parking. And it is lovely that the Disney service at the parks translates to the hotel as well – I love that the staff still trades Disney pins!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my first time staying at a Disney resort and I was happy with the choice. We spent five nights in a Royal Guest room in the Oak Manor area.

The resort itself is beautifully landscaped, quiet and offers all the amenities you could want. We didn't take advantage of most of them only because we spent our entire days at the parks.

The quick-service restaurant is pretty good. We ate two very late dinners there - one sandwich and once with the custom pasta. Both meals had huge portions and were decent quality. The gift shop is fine and the check-in staff was efficient and courteous in my experience.

Our room was a hit with my 3-1/2 year old son. He couldn't get enough of the fiber optic headboard. The room was small, I felt, with little free space, but it was well appointed. The double sinks and countertop were invaluable, as was the in-room refrigerator. I wish there was an actual closet to stow away clothes and suitcases, instead of an open hanging area, but that's just a personal preference. The a/c unit seemed to have two settings: arctic frigid and off. Fortunately, it was cool outside, so we kept it off for most of the visit.

This resort is enormous. Our Oak Manor building was well-located close to the main pavilion and bus service with an enjoyable short walk. I can imagine how staying farther away would be a challenge at times. The parking lot was also a pretty good distance from our room (5 doors down from the water), so if you have a lot of luggage, bell service is a must.

Room Tip: Oak Manor was a good location close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my family of 5. The room was great. I will admit fitting 5 in a room is snug but if you are spending a lot of time in the parks it doesn't matter. The only negative would be the busses. I know most of the Disney hotels have this issue. I think they need to add more busses to their fleet. It's very disheartening when you're tired from a day in the park and the bus line is super long. Other than that the hotel was great!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We travelled here in August for our honeymoon and had an amazing time, cannot wait to go back!
Service was brilliant, staff could not do enough for us, hotel and general areas were clean and tidy at all times, even in the pouring rain the guys were out tidying the leaves an twigs that had fallen on the path! Facilities were great, we were tucked away near the back of the site close to a quiet pool area. Was around 5 minute walk to main dining area and main bus stop but close to other bus depots. Would take less luggage next time - washing and drying facilities available on site and they were cheap too! We were on the quick service dining plan, which we wouldn't go again without! I think we must have saved A LOT of money by having this. Tricky to get to grips with initially, we couldn't believe how much food constituted one meal each! Got a little bored with the choices at the end of 2 weeks but nothing to stop you eating elsewhere with the same plan.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples, families and anyone else who fancies slipping into the Disney dream! Also try and go to the MOVIE UNDER THE STARS - was a great end to each day :o)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Sorry for the late review ,can't believe how time flies by.
Well let me start off by saying that This was by far the BEST family vacation we have ever had!!!!
We are a family of 5 (3 kids ages 5 -8 -9) and we loved every minute of our stay at Walt Disney worlds Port Orleans Riverside. From the time we pulled up to the main lobby we new this was going to be a time to remember. The lobby was so grand and beautiful ,we were able to check in very quickly and the kids were able to sit and watch some Disney cartoons in a little area designated just for children. We then were escorted to our room for 5. It had 2 double beds and a trundle bed that pulled out from underneath one of the beds. It was ok for a small child but not exactly what I was expecting for disney standards. When we were there we were told that the resort was undergoing a major renovation and that all rooms were getting a face lift. I just wish that we could of had a reno room instead because the rooms were a little old and the bathrooms were just crying out for help. In the main building they had a great General store with everything you can imagine a disney store to have like cothes gifts ,movies ,candies ,drinks and snacks. There was also a great little hotel bar with a great entertainer who played the piano and made people laugh and sing along. The food was equally as good ,the breakfasts had a wonderful variety of food ,anything from pastries to eggs and bacon or pancakes and waffles ,it was perfect. We never had dinner or lunch there as we had the disney dining plan and were always somewhere else for those meals. The pools were very fun too ,they had a little something for all ages! My kids especially enjoyed the water slides and the buckets that dumped water on you. All in all this was a great place to stay!! We will for sure be going back in fall 2013 for another AWESOME stay at this amazing resort. Thank you Disney!!!

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are now renovated so any room you get I'm sure you'll be happy wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#67 Family Hotel in Orlando
#78 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.