We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent 4 nights attending a business conference - clean and well appointed rooms. Modern television and free wi-fi. Do think that the price paid ($165 + taxes) is out of line for what is offered, but for convenience to other hotels where meetings were held it was worth it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,536 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,025
    1,650
    516
    223
    122
See reviews for
2856
709
44
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We are annual passholders and visit Disneyworld about 10-12 times per year. We often try many on (and off) site hotels. We've tried most of the resorts, but find ourselves continually coming back to Port Orleans (Riverside).

This moderate resort is probably my personal favorite. The only other property that I would choose over it is the Polynesian. However, the Poly is triple the price.

The rooms are well decorated and have enough room to fit our family of five. Sure we can't lounge around all day in the rooms, but it works... I personally prefer to stay on-site, simply for the Disney ambiance.

Our last trip we stayed at the Disney Yacht Club and were thoroughly unimpressed. We just booked another weekend (for the Not So Scary event); and quickly chose Port Orleans... for the price you really can't beat it.

The location of the rooms are fantastic. Most Disney properties you have to really hike to get from the parking lot to the rooms, but most are very conveniently located with nice views.

In conclusion, if you visit Disneyworld and want the benefits of staying on-site and don't want to front the money for the Poly; this is the best place hands-down!

Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the 'garden view' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA - NC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights in Oct 2012. It seems to be a centrally located resort for visiting the different Disney Parks. There is regular bus service to/from all the parks at no charge and bus service from Orlando Airport at no charge as well. We paid a little extra for the princess decorated room. I think around $20 a night more. Our daughter loved it so to me it was well worth the money for her first stay at Disney. The princess rooms have Disney Princess art on the walls and the furniture is a little more "royal looking." It had a nice large bathroom which is a plus. Our rooms was about a 5 min walk to the main resort building.

The resort building has bar, a sit down restaurant, and quick service cafeteria style restaurant. We did have drinks in the bar one night, but there was only one waitress working so the service was very slow. No fault to the waitress, but poor scheduling on the part of the bar mgmt since the bar was fairly crowded every night. The sit down restaurant we ate in one night and it was a little long in our opinion to get the food out. It would probably be better if you didn't have younger children who tend to get antsy when they are hungry. For breakfast and dinner we typically ate in the quick service restaurant which gave you many options and was, well, quick. We did have a meal plan we paid for which based on our math was a great deal since we used up all of our allotments throughout the trip.

Overall, this is a great family resort and contributed to a memorable vacation. The only downside was our room was on the other side of the resort from the other 2 rooms our group had, which I would have hoped the resort would have been able to accommodate to make us closer together, but in reality we did not spend a whole lot of time in our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Is great to stay at a Disney Resort, you are always in a dream. The service was good and everybody was very nice. You check-in get your key and don't have to check-out, just go. When we got there the room was very dirty with dust all over the place. I called the housekeeping and asked them to clean the room. When I got back it was better but not clean enough.

Is a very quiet and beautiful place, with a lot of trees and lizards (so cute) everywhere. The pool is very nice and there is a laundry just next to it.

The best part was never leaving, you wake up take the bus spend 13 hours at the park and take the bus back. Perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed at building 37 and was just next to the North Depot (Bus Stop).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Came to Orlando in 2010 and decided to try a Disney resort this time. WOW - when we arrived at the reception area and the super friendly staff checked us in. WOW - when we made the jaw dropping 6/7 minute ultra-picture esc walk (it was like being on the film set of GONE WITH THE WIND) to our adjoining ground floor Princess rooms on the Oak Manor site. Wow - when our grandchildren walked into the Princess rooms (complete with quality fittings throughout). WOW - when we came to use the FREE Disney transport system (the water taxi to Downtown Disney in the evening is a MUST) - apart from a few minor delays etc. it was perfect and beats driving & parking hands down. WOW - when we came to use the quick service dining plan + snacks - the grandchildren in particular loved it (Burgers, Pizzas, Fries, Ice cream etc.) - the adults would have liked a little more choice BUT still great value and choice particularly in the parks. WOW - for ALL the parks (too much to describe - just JAW DROPPING - even if you have been before). All in all - Two weeks is just long enough for you to appreciate this fantastic experience & leave you wanting more. It is not cheap BUT it is worth every penny and it keeps on giving - putting a smile on your face when you look back at the videos & photos - CAN'T wait to be DISNEYED again next year WOW !!! (Started saving - hope to try Saratoga Springs resort in 2013)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Port Orleans Riverside Sept. 29-Oct. 3. It was a nice resort. In my opinion, the grounds were well cared for, the refurbished rooms were very nice & clean, the food was good, the staff friendly & the buses ran as they do at any other resort we have stayed at. One of the things we loved was the main pools afternoon activities. The lifeguards were great & my kids had a blast. The making of s'mores in the evening was a highlight for them also. It was also great to have the boat to Downtown Disney as an option. The only thing that we were not so impressed with, is that I agree with other reviews that state that the walk from the main building to our room (alligator bayou) was soooo far. But, we were in Disney so I am not going to complain :) Overall it was a nice stay & we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 3rd October 2012 to 17th October 2012 and it is one of the best places we have ever stayed in Florida as we had previously been twice before.

We stayed in Magnolia Terrace, room number 8311. This room had two queen sized beds, two sinks and a bathroom, the room was neatly cleaned every day. The only disappointment was the mousekeeper only made swans and a mickey face out of the towels once.

The food court was always busy but had plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner, the make your own omellette and pasta always went down a treat and my partner recommends the pizza.

Even though the food court was busy, we never struggled to get a seat.

We would also recommend taking the boat to Downtown Disney on a night, the last boat is at 11.30pm from Downtown Disney but the buses run well into the morning.

All the staff we came across in this establishment was always happy and helpful.

We did go into the bar one night to see the performer on his piano, most people did seem to enjoy this, but it wasnt our type of entertainment.

We only used the main pool which had a bar (which we never used) you could always get a lounger any time of the day, be prepared to be disturbed by the children's entertainer.

I would recommend anyone to visit this hotel as we really enjoy it and would go back in a shot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#63 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.