We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with everything we needed and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
The Deep South, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great resort with everything we needed and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the new royal guest rooms that was decorated "by Tiana" and the girls loved the process themed decor and the headboard that lit up with the push of a button. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room, but we were very satisfied with it. The pillows weren't great, but we were so tired by the end of the day that we all slept great. The room stayed cold most of the time because if you turned up the thermostat at all it would blow out hot air, but I prefer a cold room so we were okay with the temperature. The only negative was that the bathroom didn't seem very clean when we checked in. It was obvious that the basics had been done; however, the floor behind the door to the shower room had not been cleaned, and I noticed that right away (and I am in no way a cleaning critic). The maids left towel animals for us on two of the days, and the girls loved it. We liked having the refillable resort mugs that we could use any time, but the quick service dining restaurant was always crazy busy and there were times we could not find a table. When that happened at breakfast, we just moved to the table service restaurant which was closed for breakfast, and no one said anything to us. We didn't use the pool, but it looked like a lot of fun. We did have to do quite a bit of walking from our room to the lobby and back, and we actually had a room that was fairly close. If we had been in one of the sections further away I would not have liked all of the walking, especially since we had to walk all day at the parks. The gift shop was huge and well stocked...no complaints there. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. Overall I think the only disadvantage to staying in a moderate resort versus a luxury resort on the property was the time we spent waiting on buses and the long rides from the resort to the parks and back. If we had stayed in the Contemporary, Polynesian, or Grand Floridian, we would have been on the monorail and we would have gotten to and from the parks in just a few minutes versus thirty to forty five minutes, but I'm not sure the extra cost would be worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Parterre Place to be close to the lobby...or Oak Manor. Also, the royal rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,293
    1,862
    590
    242
    127
See reviews for
3,221
794
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We last stayed at this resort in 2008 and really liked it as a moderate resort so came back this year. The resort is large and yes you may have to do a little walking to get to your room but your surroundings are so nice this is not a bad thing. Check in was straight forward with no hassle, this time we asked for a room with a king bed rather than 2 queen which we got and the bed was huge, at least by english standards anyway. The room was the perfect size although the toilet/ shower room a little on the small side. There is a little fishing hole at this resort where you can try and catch fish using a pole and bate which my husband loved to do first thing in the morning. The main pool is a nice size and there are other smaller ones dotted closer to the rooms. We were on the quick service disney dinning plan which is great but I found the choice for vegetarians in this resort is very limited. Pizza of Pasta that was it, other resorts (Caribbean Beach for expample) offered Vegtable sushi or a veggie sandwich as well as a veggie burger. There are 2 bars, 1 has a entertaining Piano player who people seemed to love and a pool bar (this one shuts about 10pm). The Disney shop in the hotel is one of the better ones in a moderate hotel. If you are looking to stay in a moderate resort then you cannot go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a 7-night stay at POR 9/29-10/6/12. We booked a Royal Room and were excited for the Princess theme for our 2 daughters (Ages 6,2). We have been to Disney twice before in the past 5-yrs and stayed at Deluxe resorts (AK and WL). We were very disappointed in this trip overall. It all started with the hotel, location of our room, its cleanliness and the 6+ hour delay in our luggage delivery. This resort is massive... Over 2000 rooms which means a lot of walking and tons and tons of people. The front desk staff was less than accomodating when we requested to change the location of our room... Said resort was fully booked thru Tuesday and instead gave us a $50 resort credit. The lines for blfst in the morning were atrocious, as was the cleanliness and availability of tables in the dining area. Boat to DD was not convenient as it took ~ 45-mins from start-to-finish. Buses were overcrowded with many stops in resort as well as dropping guests off at the next door French Quarter on hotel return routes. Parks were very crowded, lines long, weather was either 95% humidity or rain. Last trip was in Sept 2009 at AK and was a magical experience. This one, not so much. All in all, we suggest to either stay Deluxe or stay home. We heard great thongs about this resort and thought we'd try it to save a few $ on the room portion of our trip. Big mistake and lesson learned for us. The level of customer service and cleanliness at this hotel didn't even compare to what we had experienced in 2 prior trips. A disappointment overall. Needeless to say, it will be awhile before we return to see the mouse!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our first trip to Disney World. We stayed during a slower period. We only used the bus system once and it was ok. Not too far from the parks if you're driving. We stayed in Acadian House in a pool view room. Rooms were adequate sized, a little small but ok for two adults and two young children. Room decor didn't scream "Disney World!!!" which was nice. Housekeeping was good. The cafeteria food was decent enough but I would recommend some of Disney's table service restaurants. The quiet pool outside of our room was nice and having the laundry so close was great. The feature pool had a pretty good slide and sprayers. You could rent surrey bikes and catch a boat to Downtown Disney. The arcade was nice and it was clean. We had a good time here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Came here last year..beautiful place..the rooms are really nice and super clean..the pools get very crowded as does the dining hall..the food is very good and the workers are very friendly..would recommend and would like to go back..very relaxed setting

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Whilst we had a fantastic first visit to the Port Orleans Riverside in 2010, this visit was slightly lacking. When we checked in at night we were left to find our room in the dark with all of our luggage after travelling for a good 12 hours, the Disney service of our first trip (we were taken to our room on a cart) had been lost. We were in the Bayou area and we got lost trying to find our room and then found the room was not adequate for our needs, for instance we'd requested queen beds, not doubles, as our two children were sharing a bed and needed more space for the two weeks and we were also co-sleeping with our baby. We also did not like the rustic look of the Bayou rooms, the room appeared dirty and very dated.
After walking back to the main building we were given keys for a new room in the Mansions section and left to our own devices to find it. This room had not been cleaned and had the tip money, toothbrushes and rubbish of the previous occupants still in it.
Finally with two shattered children and a screaming baby we found our third and final room, but by this time it was two hours after checking in, we'd had nothing to eat or drink and it was after 10pm.
The Port Orleans offered a good range of activities, the Movie nights proved popular and the children enjoyed the arcade (extra cost), Pirates trip (extra cost), swimming pools, marshmallow toasting, fishing (extra cost) and playpark. The bus service was still good, but wait times were longer than during our first visit.
We were on the dining plan and ate a few meals in the Port Orleans food court. The food was generally adequate but the room felt dirty and sticky, with tables not being cleared very quickly, the carpet was absolutely shocking and the dining area just had a 'smell' to it.
We did enjoy our stay, but due to our growing family and this visit, we will look to one of the other resorts next time or may go for a villa.

Room Tip: Chose the mansions if you want to be closer to the main buildings and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this resort for our trip to Disney from September 23, 2012-September 28, 2012. We paid the extra for a preferred room and it was worth it. 5 minute walk to the bus and to the food court- cannot beat that! Staff were great. Grounds were clean. Room was refurbished and we had no complaints at all- Loved the single bed which is an extra bonus when travelling with kids. My only complaint would be the lack of dressers/closet space...had to keep a lot of our clothes in our suitcases for the duration of our trip. Other than that, would recommend this resort in a heart beat,

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#58 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#69 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2048
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.