We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Disney Property!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Save Saved
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Disney Property!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This resort is beautiful. If you're the type of person who likes long walks or bike rides in serene settings this is the place for you. I can't say enough about the beauty of this resort. Even though it's a Disney property it doesn't feel overly touristy. The rooms are nice. We had one that wasn't refurbished and I was surprised at how well maintained it still was. I even looked behind the sink and could find a spec of dust. Faucets shined. Felt totally comfortable walking around the room in bare feet. Nothing on these floors.

We arrived at the whopping early hour of 6am. We drove a straight 12 hours. I checked in fully prepared to be told our room wasn't ready and to sleep it off in the car. To my surprise and JOY our room was ready!!! If there's any doubt as to whether Disney holds out on rooms, saying your room isn't ready when in fact it is, you can rest easy. They want to get you into your room ASAP.

We ate at the Mill cafeteria everyday. It was quick and convenient. Didn't try Boatrights. Sit down dinners at Disney are just too crazy pricy for me. I prefer quick services.

This resort is enormous though. We did a 10 minute walk everyday to breakfast. If you have trouble walking I wouldn't recommend this resort. If you do make sure you get a room close to the amenities you need. I enjoyed the walks. It was beautiful. Ducks, lizards, and squirrels everywhere. Gorgeous.

Only downfall was the busses. Not that it was terrible for me, but the busses were pretty inconsistent. They showed up, but you might see 3 busses to EPCOT before you see a bus to Magic Kingdom. I know there are circumstances that cause the busses to get held up, for instance handicapped people take longer to get situated. I think they do their best to get everyone where they need to go. I just think it needs a little more tweaking.

We had a great time. I can't wait to go back. SOON!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,147
    1,749
    544
    230
    123
See reviews for
3040
729
45
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,096)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at a moderate hotel I have been staying in the deluxe Disney hotels for the past few years. We stayed in the alligator bayuo section in a remodeled room. The room was fairly large just a little bit smaller the the beach club. I liked the fact that you could pull the curtain across to change outside of the bathroom. The property is lovely but I wouldn't rely on the refillable mugs as it is a walk to get them filled. They have a refrigerator in the room but it doesn't get very cold. There is only three small drawers to keep your cloths in I didn't like that at all. Its a nice property but I'm spoiled and will not stay there again. It's worth the extra couple hundred dollars to stay deluxe with either monorail or boats.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and i decided to give it a shot usually stay at the dolphin, but got a great deal for florida resident. Well the room was all brand new and great!!!! highly recommend....grounds are kept nice, believe they are redoing pools next.. We had a room near parking lot munber 24 and was a 3 minute walk to disney transportation and a walk downstairs to pool area. The food onsight is better than average at the main building. Thanks disney for finally renovatinglong over do!. So book a trip and the riverside and enjoy renovated disney magic!

Room Tip: less noise ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I read others' reviews and understand that the rather long walks from many of the rooms can be a real downside, especially if you're trying to get as much Disney fun in as possible during your stay, or needing to go with children to/from the amenities. My husband and I weren't in that category. We live nearby and have been to the parks many times. This was the first time we splurged for staying on property instead of driving home, since we were celebrating our anniversary. We had a great experience from the moment we drove on to the property. The valets and bellmen in front were very friendly, even though we didn't use their services, and check-in was a breeze (we checked in around noon even though check-in is officially 3 PM). Our room was about an 8-minute walk, if that, from the lobby/restaurant area. (We were in a King bed room in building 25.) It was a very peaceful walk, past natural plantings and over little ponds/streams, and we didn't mind it at all. In fact, we usually saw rabbits hopping by or grazing, which was fun. Our room was very quiet (we did hear some kids playing in the nearby small pool on our last morning), and the decor was homier than most hotels (shuttered, corner windows, an amoire to hide the TV, no "hotel white" tiles in the bathroom/vanity area). The closet area was open and there was no cooler (dorm fridge) for drinks or leftovers - otherwise, I have no quibbles. The room was cleaned and made up nicely while we were away.

Since our aim was to relax (and sleep in for once!), we skipped the morning rush, getting to the food court around 11 AM and heading over to the parks after that. One night we took the river boat cruise to Downtown Disney and back, and would highly recommend that for a relaxing change. Boats were running every ten minutes during peak times, and ran until about 11:30 PM. We never waited more than 10 minutes for a bus to go to and from the park. When going to the park, the bus displays instructions including advising you to ask the driver exactly where to return to catch the bus. We didn't, and should have, because the pick up area was not exactly where he dropped us off, and we missed one bus before we realized this.

The food court had a lot of choices, including grab-and-go containers of fruit and so forth. I wasn't too impressed with the choose-your-own-toppings pasta station (shrimp was good, noodles were overcooked). One day we had breakfast at the French Quarter food court, and really liked the beignets and omelet we had. We may have saved some money compared with eating in the parks, especially since there are free refills on coffee and soft drinks.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to repeat the experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The room decor was very rustic and seemed old and tired. The two chairs were not comfortable and generally found the hotel a disappointment. The exterior and grounds were beautiful, but the actual rooms not impressive at all. From other reviews, it appears that some rooms have been updated, but obviously not the one we stayed in. Very few amenities in the room, believe only shampoo and small bars of soap. The bathroom was tiny, although the dressing area was large enough and contained two pedestal sinks. There was a small refrigerator in the room which was convenient, but an adjoining room for other family members had a fridge that was totally frozen with ice in it and had to be serviced before it could be used. It was a long walk to the lobby, the bus stop and the parking lot. Check-in was slow and I went to another line to purchase a 3-day pass to the parks. After an interminable wait for the pass, which took at least 15 minutes (supposedly a problem with the computers), I found the next day that the card was rejected at the park and had to be repurchased,so after waiting in line to get into the park, I had to get into yet another line to repurchase the pass. The food in the restaurant located in the lobby building was overpriced and of very poor quality. Fortunately the weather was good during our stay, but this hotel and location would have been a real nightmare had it been raining. If this hotel falls within Disney's "moderate" category, I can't imagine what the "value" category must be like.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are located much closer to the bus station or lobby - if you will be using the bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

we have stayed at this resort one or two times when we visit Disney. we are an English family and our party size was 7, including teenagers and grandparents. we have visited Disney world 16 times so far in total so we are very experienced when it comes to planning your stay here. WARNING. if you do not like huge resorts with a lot of walking, this resort is not for you. however if size is not an issue and you are willing to take the risk of being placed right at the back of the resort, to take in the fabulous scenery, we would recommend this one for you!!

we arrived at the hotel no problems checking it what so ever. very pleasant staff. Had a look around the hotel, huge gift shop filled with snacks and souvenirs, arcade is a decent size and you are greeted by a beautiful view of the water, horse drawn carriages and Disney boats. its so relaxing at night after a long long day at the parks.

ROOMS- rooms are a good size with a decent sized fridge and coffee maker and the room was everything else you would expect from a moderate resort. our rooms were always cleaned out regularly. because of having senior citizens in our party we had requested rooms close to the amenities on our booking. we were on magnolia bend which was straight in front of the bridge, beautifully located by the water. the walk was still quite long to the bus stops, and food court but this was the closest we were going to get! i recommend you request close rooms before you travel.

the food court is quite dark but we preferred to sit outside by the river and watch the boats. there is a good selection of eating options also a good point about this resort, if you don't want to keep walking to fill your resort mugs, take bottles of drinks to the room to store in your fridge. we found this very helpful.

the buses. compared to resorts like the all stars, instead of separate lines to section each theme park off from one and other, all the buses were directed to only 2 depots. It is a free for all to get on the buses with no lines. we did not find this easy. we once got to the bus depot first and ended up not getting a seat because of no lines. plus ts the end of the night when you catch the bus home, it drops off at 4 other depots before arriving at the main depot. This was draining after a long day in the park..

the main pool was quite a distance from where we were staying but there was another small pool nearer to us. not big enough though. the boat to downtown Disney from the resort is so relaxing and such a better way to travel, also the boats you could rent out is such a great experience. also the bikes is a great way to see the entire resort!!

overall, this resort is lovely, its a beautiful place to stay. just bare in mind if you don't like walking much to your room or you dont like crowds fighting over the buses, try another resort, i hope this review helped!

Room Tip: request preferred rooms before you travel or on your booking. ask to be placed as close to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I chose this place for the price, received a mailer with a discount code, and the cafeteria style setup. I got a "preferred" room in building 15 which wasn't too far from the food, arcade, shuttle to parks, and pool areas. The rooms are nothing special but the two sinks do help as well as the sliding curtain, when the kids aren't up yet and you need the light on. I didn't really like that we were on the first floor, near the parking lots (safety) but didn't feel unsafe during our stay. The beds were fine, the shuttle was consistent (never had to wait long), the main pool and jacuzzi was always crowded. The food was ok. We mainly ate breakfast, the choices were usually fried, more fried, sugar, healthy. We did not get the meal plan since I didn't want to commit, ended up spending $10-15 per person per meal.

I wouldn't stay here again, especially at the normal rate. There's nothing special about the place. The extra hours at Disney, discounted rate, shuttle service to/from airport, and shuttle service to parks is the only reason why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside

Address: 1251 Riverside Dr, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Dixie Landings)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#65 Family Hotel in Orlando
#77 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – Riverside was inspired by rural Louisiana. You'll feel welcomed back to a time and place where everything seems to move a little slower and simple pleasures flourish like magnolia blossoms in the springtime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Orlando Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans Disney Resort
Riverside Disney
Disney Port Orleans Riverside Resort
Port Orleans Hotel Disney
Port Orleans Resort Riverside
Port Orleans Resort Disney
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.