We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value - clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #142 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value - clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night before our cruise. No major problems. Room was a bit on the small side but clean. Free breakfast was great but we did have trouble finding an empty table. Free internet use in the lobby was nice. Overall, good place to stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the review and we are pleased to hear you will return! Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    208
    63
    24
    19
See reviews for
197
133
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came to this hotel last week from Ohio due to the death of our mother/mother-in-law. The hotel was very nice. The continental breakfast that they served each day was very good with a nice selection of foods to choose from & there was coffee ready 24/7. The rooms were clean (but with a few small ants in the bathroom), the pool was nice & clean as well. The cleaning staff visited our room each day & made our beds and supplied fresh towels. I especially enjoyed the staff at the front desk. Each person that I spoke with whether day shift or night shift was always super friendly (shout out to Ruthie!) & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Ruthie will be pleased you remembered her and that you enjoyed her company. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haines City, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one nite because I was unsure how my house that was under renovation was going to react to the potential bad weather predicted. I booked online using priority club points and was pleased with the service and room - as I had stayed here before. When I checked out the next morning I was in a hurry to get to work and didn't realize I was charged for the nite. When I contacted the hotel via email - I was pleasantly surprised at how quickly they not only responded, but reversed the charge on my credit card. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to be in the Universal area -- even tho I actually live within an hour of the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments, and we apologize regarding the incorrect credit card charge. We are happy to hear the staff corrected this immediately. Thanks for the recommendation and have great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Holiday Inn is not like others we have stayed at. The room was really small like a studio apartment. The bathroom has only a stand up shower. This was all OK for us since we had no kids with us.The air conditioning in the hall to our room was as cold as a meat locker. The free buffet breakfast is great, no shortage of choices. There is a Wendy's next door for quick bites. Other restaurants are within a mile or two. This is fine if you have a car. We didn't so we ate dinner at the parks or CityWalk before returning at night. There is a free shuttle to the parks but you need a reservation. Be at the desk early morning to secure one. Our first day the bus broke down in the parking lot and after an hour we were told they didn't have another available. So we were on our own. Walk two miles to the parks or call a cab. Luckily for us a family from Jacksonville Florida gave us a ride. And to them I say THANK YOU again. All other shuttles were running the remainder of the trip. This hotel was clean and staff very friendly and helpful. A good value overall.

Room Tip: Not a great view from any side so I don't think it would matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We appreciate the good overall value comment! Thank you for the detailed review. We apologize that the shuttle bus broke down your first day and happy to report no bus issues since that day. Again thank you and we appreciate you chose our Holiday Inn Express to host your Universal vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 days. This hotel is clean and the staff was wonderful. It is located close to everything we wanted to do in Orlando. For the Price you just can't beat it. I was pleased with the breakfast nad very happy to have my flavored coffee cream. We had a small issue in or room and the staff had it fixed in less than 10 minutes. It is just down the street from Universal. It was less than 3 minutes from Wet and Wild and a great outlet Mall. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the review and we look forward to your return visit! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay. We are in a great location close to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am not a hotel diva... I can stay just about anywhere. But I have come to expect certain things based on the brand name of a property. We just checked in and this hotel does not meet the standards of a regular HIE. The room is so tiny...we are cramped. Its also damp. Had I known there was no bath tub (only shower stall) I wouldnt have booked since I have a 2 & 3 year old who love bathtime. No safe in the room... unheard of in Orlando. I am left wondering if the entire hotel is like this or if we got a low quality room because we used a travel site to book. Very disappointed. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello,

We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. All of our standard rooms are the same. We do have suites that are larger with bathtubs, and had we known you were not happy in your current room we would definitely have been able to move you to a suite. We do offer complimentary safe deposit boxes at the front desk available 24/7. Thank you for your comments and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went to spend a couple of days Here at the Holiday Inn. We had a very lovely time. Room are Clean. Pool was small but very nice. We absolutely love it. What we most like was the young lady that check us in early. Her name is Doris. Knows her stuff. Showed us all the eating places aroubnd the area
We will be back!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: High floors have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are all happy to hear you will be back and that Doris was able to give you some good dining recommendations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn
Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in Orlando
#142 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#142 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#156 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. From a central location near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, to our well-equipped Orlando hotel meeting rooms, complete with high-speed Internet access and accommodations for up to 50 people - our hotel near Universal Orlando is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.