We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value-Close to Parks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #141 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Las Vegas, NV
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Value-Close to Parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This Holiday Inn is not like others we have stayed at. The room was really small like a studio apartment. The bathroom has only a stand up shower. This was all OK for us since we had no kids with us.The air conditioning in the hall to our room was as cold as a meat locker. The free buffet breakfast is great, no shortage of choices. There is a Wendy's next door for quick bites. Other restaurants are within a mile or two. This is fine if you have a car. We didn't so we ate dinner at the parks or CityWalk before returning at night. There is a free shuttle to the parks but you need a reservation. Be at the desk early morning to secure one. Our first day the bus broke down in the parking lot and after an hour we were told they didn't have another available. So we were on our own. Walk two miles to the parks or call a cab. Luckily for us a family from Jacksonville Florida gave us a ride. And to them I say THANK YOU again. All other shuttles were running the remainder of the trip. This hotel was clean and staff very friendly and helpful. A good value overall.

Room Tip: Not a great view from any side so I don't think it would matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We appreciate the good overall value comment! Thank you for the detailed review. We apologize that the shuttle bus broke down your first day and happy to report no bus issues since that day. Again thank you and we appreciate you chose our Holiday Inn Express to host your Universal vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    219
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
207
143
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 days. This hotel is clean and the staff was wonderful. It is located close to everything we wanted to do in Orlando. For the Price you just can't beat it. I was pleased with the breakfast nad very happy to have my flavored coffee cream. We had a small issue in or room and the staff had it fixed in less than 10 minutes. It is just down the street from Universal. It was less than 3 minutes from Wet and Wild and a great outlet Mall. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for the review and we look forward to your return visit! Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and your stay. We are in a great location close to restaurants, shopping and attractions. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am not a hotel diva... I can stay just about anywhere. But I have come to expect certain things based on the brand name of a property. We just checked in and this hotel does not meet the standards of a regular HIE. The room is so tiny...we are cramped. Its also damp. Had I known there was no bath tub (only shower stall) I wouldnt have booked since I have a 2 & 3 year old who love bathtime. No safe in the room... unheard of in Orlando. I am left wondering if the entire hotel is like this or if we got a low quality room because we used a travel site to book. Very disappointed. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello,

We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. All of our standard rooms are the same. We do have suites that are larger with bathtubs, and had we known you were not happy in your current room we would definitely have been able to move you to a suite. We do offer complimentary safe deposit boxes at the front desk available 24/7. Thank you for your comments and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went to spend a couple of days Here at the Holiday Inn. We had a very lovely time. Room are Clean. Pool was small but very nice. We absolutely love it. What we most like was the young lady that check us in early. Her name is Doris. Knows her stuff. Showed us all the eating places aroubnd the area
We will be back!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: High floors have good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We are all happy to hear you will be back and that Doris was able to give you some good dining recommendations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed 2 years ago and as expected excellenty once again
pleasant friendly staff and a fantastic base for the theme parks
Has a small pool
Free hot drinks in reception available 24 hours
Unfortunately no bar but close walking distance to some great restaurants and bars

Room Tip: Based very close to Universal studios so ideal if you are going to those theme parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We appreciate that you chose our hotel for your return visit to Orlando! Happy to hear we met your expectations again. I will share your comments with the staff. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

stayed here for 4 days on a family getaway with my pipsqueak...room was ok. a little on the small size but we endured. check in was a breeze, rooms were clean (although we did see a lot of tiny ants in our room which was totally weird but not worth me changing rooms as my son enjoyed torturing them lol!) there was plenty to eat at the free breakfast every morning but i got tired of seeing sausage everyday (my son was in heaven!) i'm not much of a breakfast eater but i did enjoy working the pancake machine....wish there were more fruit available as we only had bananas. there was a free shuttle to universal everyday but reserve your spot early as it is on a first come first served basis and spots fill up fast! (the shuttle serves two more hotels so its pretty packed). you could totally walk if u wanted but i wouldn't suggest it because u will have to cross a very busy street. the shuttle also only has like 6 different pick up times at the park so make sure u are aware of them or u will get left at the park! the trolley system was a fun way to see some of the sights around orlando. the trolley stops right in front of the hotel if u don't want to drive around i-drive...make sure u pick up a schedule in the front lobby and make a effort to go through some of the brochures as there were tons of coupons for various attractions. check out was a breeze. they even let me store my luggage as i wanted to do some shopping before my airport shuttle picked me up 6 hours later...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review. The pancake machine is great isn't it?? We apologize for the ant issue but it sounds like you had a nice time at the hotel and in Orlando. For future we do have suites that are larger than our standard rooms. Have a great day and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here as we wanted to have a night out at Universal's city walk while saving on cab fare in and out of the park.

The hotel lobby is clean, very updated and the staff is freindly and informative. Having an ATM in the lobby that accepts Canadian Debit cards is a HUGE selling point for myself.
We got the 2 room suite as we had a bit of a larger group (8 of us) this was perfect for our needs 2 queen beds in either room, a pull out in the main area of the room and a kitchenette.

So close to the park, price was great and the service as on point. Cannot wait to stay again. Was very surpized the Holiday Inn Express was as nice as it was!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmiller123456, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review and we are all happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you back at the Holiday Inn Express!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando

Address: 5605 Major Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites @ Univ Studios)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
#141 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Closest Holiday Inn Express Hotel to Universal Orlando Just steps away from Universal Studios and 10 minutes from the Orlando Convention Center, our central Orlando hotel offers both comfort and convenience. If you are looking for lodging near Orlando theme parks, look no further than our charming Orlando hotel, conveniently located at the intersection of Florida s Turnpike and I-4. Easy access to popular Orlando attractions like Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld Orlando and Aquatica. Cruise International Drive, also known as I-Drive , for the best shopping, restaurants and entertainment in Orlando. Prime Outlets, Festival Bay, and Mall at Millenia are all five minutes away. Also, we are only 15 minutes away from downtown Orlando. During your Orlando business trip, you will be impressed with the accommodations our Orlando hotel provides. From a central location near the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, to our well-equipped Orlando hotel meeting rooms, complete with high-speed Internet access and accommodations for up to 50 people - our hotel near Universal Orlando is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Orlando, FL. While vacationing in Orlando, enjoy several hotel amenities including free high-speed Internet access, pool heated (seasonally) and hot breakfast buffet. Book your reservation today and enjoy our great Orlando hotel deals and rates. Must be 21 years of age with valid credit card at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Universal Studios Orlando
Holiday Inn Express Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Universal Studios Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.