We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snazzy Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Snazzy Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel for a birthday weekend. Have been to this property before but did not review.

Hotel is a cool property especially if you are a music or rock junkie. Lots of cool offerings. Rooms are very modern, clean and well appointed. Universal Studio parks and restaruants are easily in walking distance or there is a water taxi to shuttle you as well. Lots of activities nearby - theme parks, restaurants, City Walk area.

Property has a great pool as well. Fun place to hang out and get some sun. Service overall is good. Nice bar in the hotel for late evening drinks or to just unwind.

Very family friendly as well. All in all, a great choice at a reasonable price when visiting Orlando/Universal area.

Room Tip: Ask about suite upgrades at checkin. sometimes for a bit of extra $$ you can get a really great roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,380
    1,226
    438
    210
    112
See reviews for
2,693
610
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having won a trip to Orlando i wasn't sure what to expect but when we got the hard rock i knew this was not going to be an everyday holiday experience. The lobby was decorated (tastefully) with rock n roll history and the service was just great. We had a two bed room which was huge and the contained all we needed for the week. Access to universal and islands of adventure was easy enough with a little walk or boat ride and you were there. The express pass was a godsend and was included with the room so no queues for us. The restaurants were good and the food in the kitchen was great. All in all a great hotel with very friendly staff just looking to help. I am back home now and missing the luxury of it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When you walk through the doors into the lobby after seeing the amazing guitar fountain you are greeted by priceless memorabilia, a comfortable lounge and a helpful checking in service. The pool is exquisite with slides and an underwater music system. On the first night our room was unfortunately cold as the heating had broken, however, they quickly sorted the problem placing us in a new room which was of better quality. It was an amazing experience and I recommend it to all ages.

Room Tip: Pick a room by the lift as it is massive and you might get lost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, it's very modern, and somewhat clean. We stayed in the Club room with double queen beds. We had checked in late at night and was very quiet as it was our Wedding day.

The rooms were clean but there were ants in the bathroom crawling up the wall, there weren't many but everyday there was a few spotted. The breakfast or snack lounge was very small and somewhat restrictive with seating at peak times. However the were clean and the staff were excellent and attentive.

We had stayed at the Royal Pacific beforehand and much preferred the style and atmosphere there as it was very relaxed after a very busy day at the theme parks.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room! no exceptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed a week at the Hard Rock Hotel and had an amazing time. The hotel itself is amazing, everything you would expect from staying at a Hard Rock Hotel. We had two rooms which were spacious, comfy bedding and clean. Plenty of food options which is fantastic and the pool was amazing. If planning a trip to Universal Studios this hotel is a must, just a walk away and the benefit of a fast pass which makes your time at Universal much more enjoyable - less time in lines. The early access to the park was also great for popular attractions such as the Wizarding world of Harry Potter. The higher price of the hotel is well worth the added value and convenience. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Great location for those planning a trip to Universal Studios. Staying at the hotel includes a fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Good to hear that you had an amazing time enjoying our amenities! We are happy to be your go-to destination on the Universal Orlando property and hope to have you join us again soon! Rock On!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was spending the day at Universal. I reserved two rooms. One for me ( couple around 53 years old) and one room for my son and girlfriend. Their age is 29. So I wanted to see if the hotel fit is both.
We thought it was great. Walk to park or boat shuttle. Fast pass was included with room rate and breakfast at "The Kitchen" Both of the options thrown in were so worth it. Fast pass is the only way to go at the park. For a family, this could be expensive so getting this from hotel was great. Breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine. Pool is large with a water slide. Great for kids. There are a few properties on Universal. The Lowes has Portofino which I tried 3 yrs ago but liked the Hard Rock Better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hard Rock Hotel and had a great time. Hotel facilities were excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed the swimming pool for a few hours before heading over to the Universal theme park for the evening. Our room key gave us unlimited fast pass for the full stay (from check in until park closes on the day of check out). Rooms were of a high standard (although charging for coffee seems a bit mean!). The benefit of fast pass makes the high price for the hotel worth the extra money. I would stay again. Try the Latin Quarter for dining. The restaurant is never too busy and the food is very good. Margaritaville is great fun and kids can stay until late.

Room Tip: Rooms next to lifts and ice machines are noisy so best to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
#45 Family Hotel in Orlando
#61 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.