We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, it's very modern, and somewhat clean. We stayed in the Club room with double queen beds. We had checked in late at night and was very quiet as it was our Wedding day.

The rooms were clean but there were ants in the bathroom crawling up the wall, there weren't many but everyday there was a few spotted. The breakfast or snack lounge was very small and somewhat restrictive with seating at peak times. However the were clean and the staff were excellent and attentive.

We had stayed at the Royal Pacific beforehand and much preferred the style and atmosphere there as it was very relaxed after a very busy day at the theme parks.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room! no exceptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,382
    1,228
    438
    210
    112
See reviews for
2,696
611
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed a week at the Hard Rock Hotel and had an amazing time. The hotel itself is amazing, everything you would expect from staying at a Hard Rock Hotel. We had two rooms which were spacious, comfy bedding and clean. Plenty of food options which is fantastic and the pool was amazing. If planning a trip to Universal Studios this hotel is a must, just a walk away and the benefit of a fast pass which makes your time at Universal much more enjoyable - less time in lines. The early access to the park was also great for popular attractions such as the Wizarding world of Harry Potter. The higher price of the hotel is well worth the added value and convenience. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Great location for those planning a trip to Universal Studios. Staying at the hotel includes a fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Good to hear that you had an amazing time enjoying our amenities! We are happy to be your go-to destination on the Universal Orlando property and hope to have you join us again soon! Rock On!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was spending the day at Universal. I reserved two rooms. One for me ( couple around 53 years old) and one room for my son and girlfriend. Their age is 29. So I wanted to see if the hotel fit is both.
We thought it was great. Walk to park or boat shuttle. Fast pass was included with room rate and breakfast at "The Kitchen" Both of the options thrown in were so worth it. Fast pass is the only way to go at the park. For a family, this could be expensive so getting this from hotel was great. Breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine. Pool is large with a water slide. Great for kids. There are a few properties on Universal. The Lowes has Portofino which I tried 3 yrs ago but liked the Hard Rock Better.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hard Rock Hotel and had a great time. Hotel facilities were excellent and the staff couldn't have been nicer. We enjoyed the swimming pool for a few hours before heading over to the Universal theme park for the evening. Our room key gave us unlimited fast pass for the full stay (from check in until park closes on the day of check out). Rooms were of a high standard (although charging for coffee seems a bit mean!). The benefit of fast pass makes the high price for the hotel worth the extra money. I would stay again. Try the Latin Quarter for dining. The restaurant is never too busy and the food is very good. Margaritaville is great fun and kids can stay until late.

Room Tip: Rooms next to lifts and ice machines are noisy so best to avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ( family of four ) stayed here for 1 night early April this year to take advantage of the express passes over a busy period.
Check in was straightforward,the lobby was so cool,my son said it was like a palace !
Lots of memorabilia were on the walls, the pool was fun,there was a live band singing by the pool while we were there, and we found the ice creams and snacks/drinks reasonably priced considering where we were.
Loved our standard room, gorgeous smelling toiletries and a cool décor, very clean too.
We ate breakfast in 'The Kitchen' it was lovely,especially the waffles,strawberrys and cream !
We enjoyed going on the water taxi to Universal and IoA, it was a fun way to arrive at the parks, a tranquil start and end to the busy day !
To summarise, we loved our 1 night stay and would do it again :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On the surface, the Hard Rock Hotel seems a little pricey for a hotel when most of your intention is to be in the parks. After staying the weekend at the HRH, I would say it is worth every penny. The service from the time we rolled up and our car door was opened to the moment we left, the staff was friendly and accommodating. It seemed like the staff really enjoyed working there and it showed in the treatment of the guests. We had a garden room on the 2nd floor – the room is nothing to brag about itself. I will say that the bathroom seemed child size. I am petite and found the faucet and tub very low and the toilet small in size. Other than the few rock photos on the wall, you wouldn’t think you were in the “Hard Rock Hotel”. Its once you walk around the hotel that the memorabilia reminds you were you are., whether its in the restaurant or even by the elevator on your floor – there is rock history everywhere. The hotel has a great breakfast buffet in “The Kitchen” - $20 for adults, $5 for kids between 7-9am (Coffee and juice was included). Eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, pancakes, omelet station, etc.. all very tasty and fresh. This was perfect because it allowed us to enjoy our 1 hr early access into the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. The parks are only a 5 minute walk, much faster to walk than to take the shuttle boat. The premises of the hotel is beautiful with freshly cut grass and blooming flowers. Coming back, we had ice cream at Emack & Bolio, very fresh and creamy, unique flavors. Definitely a place to stop by. The true value of the hotel is the Universal Express Passes. The lines had a 30-45 minutes wait, however, we were able to show our pass and walk right onto the rides. Going to the parks with kids on a possible rainy day – this is a must have! If we were to buy these passes, it would be over $150 alone for my family! I will definitely be back to this hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed with our kids on 7th April to 10th April on the club floor and had a great time. The customer service overall was excellent.

We wanted to single out Nelson in particular who not only made us welcome but went out of his way to ensure we were happy. As a specific example he even saw us outside of the hotel walking down the sidewalk and offered us a ride in his car. This is above and beyond.

A special mention must also go to Peter and Britney who were also tremendously friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
#44 Family Hotel in Orlando
#58 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.