We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if going to the parks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Save Saved
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 327 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Long Island, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great if going to the parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night to take advantage of the early opening of Harry Potter and our love of the Hard Rock brand. The place is very nice and the rooms are spacious. We stayed on the concierge level so we had access to breakfast and a nice commom room. A nice lit walkway to the parks or a boat is available. The pool is a good size with a very nice slide. Expensive but well worth it. With front of the line access to all the rides as well it was great fun. No more than 3hrs are needed to complete either park due to your minimal wait time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We love loyal Hard Rockers and we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves when you were here with us. Glad to hear that the Express Passes that come with the room worked out so well for you all also! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon! ROCK ON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,827 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,097
    374
    190
    98
See reviews for
2379
500
24
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brook Park, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My son and I enjoyed a marvelous father-son vacation at the Universal Studios complex in Orlando in early February 2013. We stayed on the grounds at the Hard Rock Hotel. From the moment of our arrival to our departure five days later I experienced possibly the most friendly and helpful hotel service in my lifetime.

The hotel building itself is a pleasure to look at. The huge lobby is magnificent and welcoming with rock and roll memorabilia adorning same. The room was comfortable and exceptionally clean. The view from the room was an overlook of the huge pool with partial sand beach with
scenic palm trees on the fringes.

The breakfast buffet served in the hotel's The Kitchen restaurant offered a great variety of breakfast foods along with several varieties of fruit juices. Hotel guests use free shuttle boat rides
from the hotel dock along a scenic canal to the parks entrances. A magnificent perk of staying at
the hotel is the express pass you receive which puts you at the head of the line for various choice rides . You also go to the head of the line at most of the restaurants on CityWalk. It,s wonderful to walk onto a ride without a wait. Everyting you buy anywhere at the Universal complex can be charged to your room by just showing your magnetic room key. Every souvenir you purchase dous not have to be lugged around but can be delivered to your room the next day.

Well, I'm sure I haven't covered everting I liked about the wonderful hotel; but I am sure if you decide to stay here you'll love it.

Room Tip: Choose a swing pool view or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We made a reservation 6 months ahead for a kind bed and a room with two beds. We were told by a CSR and a front desk manager that no king beds were available. A 30 minute discussion ensued with 5 people in our party listening to an explanation that "there was nothing they could do". We asked to be upgraded since the hotel was not honoring our original king bed request...the answer was no. After requesting to speak with the front desk's manager's supervisor we waited another 10 minutes...the front desk manager appeared and stated the supervisor was not available but he somehow "found" a king bed/room for us to use. An hour after the inital front desk discussion we were on way to the correct room.

The Hard Rock is a clean hotel. All other hotel services were as expected. It is adjacent to the Universal Parks and allows one hour early entrance to them along with free express passes to most rides. The food and drink prices at the hotel are exceptionally high. They claim they treat you like rock stars...expected to pay rock star prices.

Room Tip: do more than "request" a room type....confirm the room type the day before arriving and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel was very convenient for visiting Universal Studios. We were able to walk to the park in less than 5 minutes. Also if you stay on ground you can go to certain rides in Islands of Adventure an hour early and you get Express Passes which allow you shorter lines. The hotel does have loud music playing late at night and early in the morning so bring ear plugs. Also, the walls are thin so you can often hear people in the halls. The hotel alarm went off around 7am one morning which was unfortunate. The pool area was gorgeous and the pool is heated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and clean, pool was great, nice restaurant, and service was helpful. We went to the park and with express passes there was no wait and the location was perfect. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the hard rock hotel for a few nights over christmas. this is the perfect place to spend christmas:) there is loads to do and you will never get bored. we were in the parks all day everyday, even christmas eve and christmas day! there are lots of things to see and do in the hotel and it is ideal for teenagers! the pool is excellent! the rooms are very clean, the service is amazing and there is overall a very friendly atmosphere. i would definately recommend visiting here for christmas and i would definately visit here again myself! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family of 4 had a great stay at the Hard Rock Hotel Universal. It was a very short walk to City Walk and the parks and the early entry and Express Pass options were great. The hotel itself was very pleasant and the sound system and slide in the heated pool area were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at our hotel! Pay us another visit soon! ROCK ON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#30 Green Hotel in Orlando
#44 Family Hotel in Orlando
#51 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#82 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.