We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient for Universal visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“So convenient for Universal visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hard Rock for 4 nights starting Christmas Day while we visited Universal. This location really cannot be beat--a few minutes walk to the parks or a convenient water taxi (complimentary) to take you there. The best benefit of staying here is getting the included Express Passes for everyone in your party. We realized what a benefit this was when visiting during the holiday season as most rides had over 2 hour waits in the standby lines, while we went in the Express line and usually only waited 5-10 minutes! We would not have been able to ride as much as we did, had we not had the Express passes because we would not have splurged ($89 pp, I think) to purchase them on top of the ticket prices.

Our room was nicely appointed with 2 beds and a rollaway ($25/nt) for our family of 5. The Keurig coffee maker was enjoyed--we have one at home--and the bath area was large enough with a sink outside the shower area. The beds were very comfortable. Our room was very quiet and we only heard noise from a shower next door in the morning. We used the laundry room ($3 ea for washer/dryer)--very convenient. The pick-up and go breakfast/snack/Starbucks area was great for a fast meal on the way to the parks in the morning.

All the staff, except for 1 server in the Kitchen, were really great and helpful and welcoming. It was a little chilly during our visit and most of our time was spent at the parks or City Walk, so we did not actually use the beautiful pool. The short amount of time our sons had available to use it, they chose to take a nap--highly unusual for them- ages 20, 16, and 12. We wore them out evidently!! My husband and I went to the lobby for free wifi and then to the pool bar while they napped, so we saw how great the pool was. Quite a few people were using it (it is heated) even though it was chilly outside.

Check out was easy and when we asked the bellman to call a taxi to take us to the airport, they took us in the limo for the same price as a taxi. That was a big hit with our sons!

We would definitely stay here again when going to Universal because of the value of the included Express passes and the positive experience with the staff and quality of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,725
    1,359
    480
    231
    116
See reviews for
3,041
698
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Very close to entrance to the parks. Also it gets you free express passes which is well worth it. Universal does the express pass better than Disney does the fast pass. The staff is friendly and laid back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are so glad to hear that you had a great time with us! We hope to see you again in the near future. Rock on!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Me
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Absolutely loved every minute of our stay! We stayed on the concierge level, what wonderful service. The Club 7 team made our Christmas eve, day, and last night extra special. What a great group of people. We cannot wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I paid nearly $500 a night for a family suite at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. The room was designed perfectly for a family (2 sleeping areas and 2 bathrooms) so kudos to the hotel for that. Unfortunately the front entry way acted as a conduit for the noise coming from the hallway. I've never stayed at a hotel where the guests constantly yelled down the hallways. It was so noisy, and that noise just flowed right into the room. The biggest disappointment was the fact that everything was an extra charge. There was no refridgerator in the room, but they would be happy to rent me one for an extra charge. Seriously? We wanted to work out and we could use their facility for an extra charge. Are you kidding me? I understand we paid a premium to stay within walking distance of the Universal Parks and for express access to the rides, however I think it's low class to nickel and dime your guests to death.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at The Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. Our goal is to provide our guests with top notch service and amenities and I fear that we have missed the mark with your experience. We would like the opportunity to discuss these issues with you further and can be easily reached at HardRockCustomerService@loewshotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are average size and seemed clean, nothing fancy. The main reason to stay here, location and free fast passes to universal! Parking is close and easy, no reason to valet. (Would even recommend parking here when visiting the parks and not staying at the hotel). Pool and food/drink service closes at 10:00pm. Good customer service from all employees I interacted with. Roll away's are available for $20 a night and can be added to a 2 queen room. Good location for older kids, but "old school", the theme is based on a lot of classic rock. Seemed a little scuzzy but was worth it for the free fast passes and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We just spent 3 days at the hotel and I regret to not spend more time with them. Rooms are with lot of space for a family of 4, very clean and amenities are best. Staff are unique, always smiling and willing to provide you the best time ever during your vacation. We stayed over X-mas and was great !!
Next door to Universal parks and give you a vip pass to avoid lines. Great rock everywhre !

Room Tip: Any room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed at both the Disney and Universal resorts. I actually was able to enjoy myself as an adult here, versus the Disney resort, where I am about to put a gun to my head. Big thumbs up for slightly older families.

Minor ding was that Disney had free WiFi and Hard Rock didn't.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#35 Business Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.