We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Level” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Club Level”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

In October five of us traveled to Orlando for Halloween Horror Nights. We were slightly dissapointed. The lines were WAY too long, the attractions were ok and it was definately not as good as it was years when it was at Islands. We stayed at the Hard Rock on the Club Level floor. Honestly, it wasn't worth the almost $200.00 hike per night. The food selection is ok, nothing to write home about. There's also not enough seating during busy times, but you can bring it back to your room if you want.

The hotel itself is AWESOME. I LOVE that everything is just a walk away (City walk, Universal, Islands of Adventure, tons of restaurants, etc.). The pool drinks are pretty expensive. I mean, I know you're on vacation and we don't mind paying a little extra but I ordered one drink that was $18.00 and it was a regular size and is wasn't made with any high end liquor so watch what you order if you're going to visit the bar but the pool atmosphere is amazing. I could have just stayed at the pool the whole vacation!!

So, in closing DEFINATELY visit the Hard Rock but save your money for those expensive drinks, or something else, get a regular room and plan to spend a few hours each day at the pool.....its so worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,484
    1,270
    450
    213
    114
See reviews for
2,803
631
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (802)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is definitely full of kids and family friendly, but not for those seeking a quiet gettaway. The pool is rockin'.......music is above and under the pool...plus live bands at lunch time and other times.....pool is kid friendly with no deep end and although there's only one slide, it's a fun slide ! People here are laid back and chilled out.....food at the beach club by the pool is good and so is the breakfast at the kitchen....you can find almost anything you need for breakfast, you can eat indoors and out, and they actually replenish the used items at the buffet until it closes....not like a lot of other places we have stayed.

Staff are really laid back and friendly. The marketplace has breakfast to go, chips and ice cream/coffee etc Was a nice addition to the hotel. Universal is super handy with a boat, a walk or a rickshaw as any choice of transport. It is 3-4 mins from the hotel.....the hard rock cafe in universal itself, is also an experience......

The concierge organizes almost anything you need from their front desk, and whatever they can not organize, they seem to have a fairly good idea of where to direct you.....the shop on the main level has some cute clothes and souvenirs.....the hotel also supplied a bus service to Seaworld and the aquatica waterpark near Seaworld.....plus a number of other Orlando parks.......

The only complaint I had was no balcony and no windows that open....but this seemed to be typical of a number of hotels in the Orlando area....so maybe it's the norm down there.....

All in all one of the more relaxed and fun places to stay with kids.......you can go to Universal Citywalk every night for dinner and experience something new each time, NBA City , Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville , Nascar Sports Grille etc.....

We didn't even get a chance to experience the kid's club at the Hard Rock as there's so much to do at it and in Universal.....and Orlando in general.....everything seemed very central to the Hard Rock.....At the pool in hard rock , there's a stall to buy inflatables for the pool and a hair stall for feathers etc...

We also choose to do a Pirates's dinner on International Drive which was seriously cool action for the kids, but awful food !

I liked the Hard Rock for the fact that kids can chill and be kids....everyone is just there to have fun and relax.......and staff are super friendly...all in all a recommendation........one of the more enjoyable kids places we have been...!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This property is a must if you are going to Universal Studios and Island of Adventure. The walk is only 6 minutes. It makes life so easy when the family is tired and wants to take a break from all the park activities. The concierge floor is the best way to go.

Room Tip: concierge floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are ecstatic to hear that you had an awesome experience with us and we look forward to seeing you in the near future! Rock on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited Universal the first week in December. Debated the cost of staying at one of the in the park hotels. We stayed on the B&B package - breakfast and express pass built into the stay. Probably the cheapest room at the hotel - far from eveything and the halls a bit run down - but we don't spend lots of time in the room. The hotel was clean, very good service, nice breakfast buffet -- you can walk to the parks easily or take the shulltes. The park was not full - but the express pass was useful and the hour early addmision to Harry Potter a good perk. I would not plan more than 2 days at the parks - we were really done after one day. Nice pool area. But we had a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is definitely an awesome resort to stay at if you are visiting Universal Studios. It is within walking distance to the parks. And the perk of getting the express line pass was definitely worth it.

Our room was a decent size for a family of three. We only got the basic room. It was well kept. The bed wasn't great though. It wasn't a very sturdy mattress.

The only major complaint I have about this place is the Wi-fi. It cost $10/day and the device that logs on first is the device that gets wi-fi. There is no password so others in the family can sign on as well. And then it didn't even stay connected for a full 24 hours! I think it was only 16! I'm sure we could have called and complained but we were so unimpressed at this point we didn't care.

Overall it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRockHotelOrlando, General Manager at Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the amenities that are provided with your room! We do apologize for the issues you experienced with your in-room internet and bed. Hotel management has been made aware of these issues and we are working diligently to resolve these issues. Please feel free to contact us at Hardrockcustomerservice@loewshotels.com should you wish to address these matters further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great pool, location and food. Be sure to get the universal speed pass card before going to the parks. For the breakfast buffet don't sit near the doors the cigarette smoke from outside it terrible. The pool is great. However they seemed a little understaffed on staff.

Room Tip: Get the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the kids suite at the hotel which was very large and accommodated our children fine. The room was very large. On the same floor was a hospitality suite with snacks three times a day. The breakfast was only pastries and coffee. (Marriott would give you a breakfast buffet) the lunch snack was chip and drinks. The evenings had a few appetizer styled dishes with free beer and wine. Overall the breakfast should be much better for the money.

The stay includes a fast pass for your stay. This was great as it allows you to skip long lines of your favorite rides. The stay also allows you to enter the park one hour before regular admission enters. By taking advantage of this we were the first in line at almost every ride.

The location is perfect for going back and forth to the parks. The gym and spa are nice.

The negative side is that almost every guest seemed to really be in "rock and roll" theme and there were not a lot of activities for kids to participate in while at the hotel. If there was a kids center adults could enjoy the lounge and pools while the kids took advantage of those activities.

Overall it was a good choice and the location combined with the fast pass outweighed and negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
#40 Business Hotel in Orlando
#56 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.