We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 332 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Visited with my infant and spouse. Pool was amazing, nice and quiet which I loved (off season). Loved the taxi boat to universal, made universal citywalk into my daily routine taking the boat back- the walk through the gardens were beautiful so make sure you do that as well.
Note: Wanted a king size bed and found out there are only six rooms with a king bed I the entire hotel! We got one across from the kids club on the first floor, the doors to the closet were broken and the duvet was really lumpy. The room was a nice size.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,132
    1,502
    518
    246
    128
See reviews for
3,504
765
36
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (979)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights this November. The hotel and grounds are beautiful! We spent time at the pool and loved the atmosphere, the water slide was great as well as all the activities for the kids....hula hoop contests, waterballoon toss etc. The servers around the pool were very attentive, great mixed drinks and wonderful snacks...nachos, chili cheese fries, wings etc. They also had a Dive In Movie each night at the pool. The kids loved watching the movie from the pool after a long day at the parks.

The hotel rooms were clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint was that the foam mattress tops they had on the beds were not that comfortable.

The express pass you get for the rides at Universal are worth every penny of the cost of the room. We went to the front of all the ride lines and were able to do much more in the parks because we had shorter wait times at all the rides. The other perk of getting into the Wizarding World of Harry Potter and hour early each day was fantastic. We walked right on to the Harry Potter Ride 2 times before the park opened to the public! It was fantastic! We would definitely stay at the Universal Hard Rock Hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfild, Mo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

So the hotel itself was a normal resort hotel. No complaints. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The pool area was huge, and shallow so if you you have kids they will like it. But the main reason to stay here is the location. It is a four minute walk to the theme parks. You can spend a few hours at the parks, go back to the room and rest or swim, then go back to the park. For us, this made it worth the money ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

So fantastic, could not fault anything ...express pass for the rides ..so you can enjoy the pool area in the day .. and hit the park rides later!!..great location for the Universal experience and the shopping ...yes you can do a Florida vacation cheaper...but if you can, do it this way...All of my family would return to this hotel again and again such fun ...what a good time we all had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

So we went for the express passes and the early entry to Island of Adventure and I have to say that it was definitely worth it.

They have some good dining options on site and Emack & Bolio's ice cream was very nice indeed.

We sat by the pool sipping cocktails whilst the kids enjoyed the pool and the waterslide, everyone had fun and we would do it again for sure.

Rooms were spacious and the shower was powerful and not weak like some hotels which is nice if you like to shower 2 or 3 times a day and want a decent water pressure.

All in all not five stars and I can't give it 4 and a half because tripadvisor wont let me, so worth at least 4 stars

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one day as a mini vacation to celebrate his birthday because we are Universal season ticket holders. The hotel is beautiful with two seperate restaurants and a small diner type eatery as well that serves Starbucks, ice cream and deserts, and pizza. The hotel has a huge pool, jacuzzi, and even a water slide. It also has a gym and spa. The rooms are spacious with a mini bar inside and very comfortable beds. The thing that made the stay most worthwhile to us was the free express passes. It was a quick 4 minute walk to the Universal parks or you could take the complimentary water taxi or pay a bicycle taxi. We had a blast and will return again, for longer the next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 10 days in the Hard Rock Hotel in October and it was fabulous. The location is amazing - a stone's throw from Universal and Citywalk. The pool area is gorgeous with good music all day long and live entertainment on certain days. The staff were very friendly and helpful ... especially Angie, Bri and Robyn from the Velvet lounge (the best bar in the world! ;)) They couldn't have made us more welcome if they tried and really made our stay special.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough and look forward to a third visit soon.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a pool view room on a higher floor - great views over the pool area to Uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Homewood Suites Orlando-Nearest to Universal Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#29 Family Hotel in Orlando
#29 Green Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
#42 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Amex, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.