We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and perfect for Universal Studios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and perfect for Universal Studios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Loved the atmosphere from the moment we entered the lobby. There's a great vibe and loved the pictures and music. The room was average but comfortable. We had 2 queen size beds which was fine for a family of 4 but I wouldn't want to spend too much time in it. BUT as the hotel has a great pool area and is so close to Universal studios you don't need to. The walk to Universal is lovely - beautiful gardens and walkways or you can take the water taxi. And the Fast Pass and early entrance to the park makes a huge difference. We managed to do all the rides in Harry Potter world before the park even opened. We didn't eat in the hotel as City Walk is so close by but the menu looked good and the prices reasonable. There is a little market place which was ideal for picking up early morning croissants and coffee and although not cheap was no more than the other eating places in and around the parks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,725
    1,359
    480
    231
    116
See reviews for
3,041
698
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the Hard Rock in July 2012 and from start to finish has a fantastic time . The rooms are a great size and are ideal for families. We all loved the Pool area with "DJ Scooter" entertaining everyone, so much fun for the kids. We ate at the Pool Bar area and everyone was happy with their meals and cocktails. The beauty of the Hotel is the direct access to Islands of Adventure and Universal Studios , the 7am start to IOA is worth the early rise for the Harry Potter area alone. The Fastpass ticket you get for staying on Site is invaluable - we made it round the parks in the mornings as we could get straight to the front of the ride queues, this allowed for afternoons at the Hotel pool. The water taxis that take you from the hotel to the parks are so convenient and easy to use - always seemed to be one within 5 minutes. For a full on experience would highly recommend the Hard Rock Orlando .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had our first "once in a lifetime" family holiday to Disney Orlando in February 2012 and were so dissappointed with "everything Disney" that we took in Universal for the final two days. We had such a good time that we decided to redeem ourselves in the eyes of our children and booked a week just for Universal. We booked a Universal Package specifically for the Harry Potter package and Halloween Horror Nights. We also took along one of our sons friends. Three 14 year olds who are into the macbre and zombies, with a bit of Harry Potter thrown in turned into a awesome holiday week. So much fun!! Roller Coasters, haunted houses and Zombies, out ranks Disney every time with teens. We booked the Hard Rock because of its proximity to the parks and the included ride express pass for Universal. (Overall, the cost of this trip was about half of what we paid for Disney and we stayed on the resort, whereas last time we booked a condo. No groceries to buy, no cooking, no car to rent, no wasted travel time. Included expresses passes to bypass what can be really long lines in the park and early entry into the park. When you are on a trip like this, time is money and you want to get the best bang for your buck.) Given the size of our party (5 of us, two adults three teens) we paid a bit more and booked the kids suite. Good size main room with lounge, big screen TV, King Size, Uber comfortable bed for us and a seperate room for the kids, twin beds, extra "cot" which was a twin bed on wheels, thier own TV and lounge area. Connecting bathroom(toilet,tub & shower with a portable attached cloths line for drying swim suits) and large second shower, two sink room, the only drawback was their was only one toilet. Lots of space for the 5 of us. There was also a mini bar with a key, not weighted so we could poke around in there and at least it didnt cost us anything to look. A Keurig coffee machine with coffee, tea and hot chocolate for the kids, large seperate foyer with a huge storage room, coat closet so the rooms didnt get congested with all of the shoes and luggage, and a safe for your valueables. And because teens eat all of the time, we booked a small fridge to keep some healthy food on hand. (see thier website for room pics-very accurate photos) Check in was a breeze, friendly staff and the reservation was correct. Because we ordered a package with Universal tickets, we were then sent to the Concierge desk where much to my surprize, everything was ready and once I put in the credit card that was used to book the trip, all of our tickets, passes etc printed off right there in the lobby. That was great because the booking agent indicted that I had to go to Universals "will call" area to pick everything up. Very convenient! The concierge also asked if we were celebrating anything and gave Hard Rock Birthday pins to our twins and thier friend and made a note that our wedding anniversary was that week as well. Later in the week we found two champagne glasses filled with Hershey Kisses and a scavenger hunt with a map to take us on a romantic walk through the resort and grounds for some private us time. Very nice although we couldnt complete the hunt because we were running to Halloween Horror NIghts, but what a nice touch! House keeping was awesome, not only did they do a great job in keeping the room tidy, as much as possible with three teenagers, they respected requests for extra coffee and hot chocolate and left little gifts for the kids, Ie: hard rock key chains and those really popular Hard Rock rubber bracelates. Plus everyday they offered us turn down service which we really didnt need but was really nice. The pool - very nice. Lots of chairs, zero entry levels and deep enough to swim but not have divers or a bunch of kids jumping in on you while in the pool, a waterslide, sand beach, two hot tubs, one that was adult only which was very nice and movies in the pool. Drink/food service was a bit slow though. The temperature was very comfortable. The grounds were beautiful too. (see pics) Gorgeous walking paths, many places to sit and take in the scenery and if you smoke, thoughtful seating arrangements, where you are not jammed away in some alley or to be huddled or hidden away up by a door somewhere. We also felt very safe because the resort appears to be (but its not) surrounded by water so no outside world coming in. There is even a butterfly garden that is pesticide free with plants to attract the most colorful butterflys. The hotel itself was gorgeous (super, shiney clean) with many authentic artifacts from Rock n Roll icons that caused you to stop and take a look or a photo. Our kids enjoyed looking at the history and mocked us for how old we are because we liked Elvis or Kiss or Elton John - Yeesh the little rotters! The main check in area, which is actually the third floor provided a huge comfortable seating area that anyone could use to kick back. Our kids loved it to go down and hang out or play cards while they waited for us. We didnt use the restaurant or lounge but the menu's seemed reasonable. Water taxi's (free) provided a leisurely ride over to City Walk and the Universal Parks, although it is just a 10 minute walk if you want to enjoy the stroll and the beautiful gardens. From Check in to Check out, and everything in between, all of the staff was friendly, professional, helpful and really enjoyable. They took the time to point the way, have a laugh or ask where your from. Really great service, a terrific environment, express passes for Universal and all of the " little extras" that one doesn't see very often. Will definately try to go back and will recommend the Hard Rock Hotel, Universal Orlando to anyone who will listen.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with extra family or kids, Kids suites are the way to go. Pay the extra and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
folkestone, kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We loved this hotel. Laid back, easy check-in. The pool has a nightly 'Dive-in' movie. Happy hour in the bar for 2 hours..5 til 7. Restaurant had lots of choice...fairly priced..not cheap...excellent service. Our room was large and had all we needed, safe and coffee machine..coffee provided. If you drink tea source or bring teabags and use machine for hot water...simple. Staying at The Hardrock gives you a fast pass to the rides at both Universal Studios & Island of Adventure. You have to have bought your park tickets....the fast pass would cost quite a lot more if bought at the parks. Fast pass doesn't work on the Harry Potter ride which is amazing. As a hotel guest you can access the parks an hour early...great for visiting the Harry Potter World which gets packed very quickly once the parks actually open. There is a water taxi to the parks however the walk only takes 20 mins . Bicycle Rickshaws...no charge ...just a generous tip required ! We gave 15 dollars to take us back....seemed a fair amount for a 5 min ride at the end of a long day. .Strongly recommend this hotel and will go back again next time we're in Orlando !

Room Tip: Ask to be on the ground floor near to the walk ways to the parks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at The Hard Rock Hotel at the Universal Resort Orlando in August 2012. First impressions were good. We had paid for 'Level 7' accommodation. This is supposed to be the better rooms in the hotel located on the top floor and accessed with your room card in the lift 'Club Level'. Our room seemed to be tucked away in the corner and was full of dust along the head board and table. Even after a few days the room never got dusted. Disgusting. We had an awful nights sleep when a fan in the ceiling somewhere was rattling and an engineer was called. They never turned up and I had to go down to reception to see what was going on. The information had not been passed over. Bad communication. Fan never got fixed and went down to reception in the morning after a horrendous nights sleep to complain about the poor service/rattling fan and dirty room. We were moved to another room which had obviously been cleaned properly this time. What was surprising was that we were moved to the same type of room but this one was 10 times better. I wish we had had the 2nd room originally. Especially as it was our honeymoon. We felt we had bee shoved in the worst room on 'Club Level' originally. I did manage to get a part refund for the trouble but the damage had been done.

The Club level lounge is not worth the extra for staying on club level. Poor snacks and awful buffet food. The room is small and if you don't get in there early you won't get a seat. It's more like a play room. The staff were very friendly though.

The food from the pool bar was also very disappointing.

This hotel is great for getting the the universal parks and the fast pass you get for staying at the hotel is fantastic. Unfortunately the hotel is let down with it's over rated Club Level rooms and poor house keeping. How hard is it to run a duster over the furniture!

We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room over looking the pool with the rides in the background. Some rooms are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I must say this hotel disapointed me. It was exspensive so I expected it to be really nice. The rooms VERY average. Our "garden view" room was no where near a garden. It overlooked a service parking lot. The room was "cleanish". There was tons of dust collected on the mirror over the sink, the coffee area was very dusty too. Most of the staff was nice and the bell service was excellent. The pool was great and we really enjoyed that. The perk of the express passes to Universal and early entry to Harry Poter was great. Side note: The food prices at this hotel and at universal make Disney look afordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Words can't even describe our wonderful experience at Hard Rock, Orlando. Our family of 6 with 2 children ages 11 and 7, their parents and grandparents LOVED this hotel! The value of the exceptional hotel stay, express passes, water taxi and the hour early into Universal was a GREAT value! The pool and slide were favorites of my kids and they met a friend from Scotland! My husband enjoyed talking "football" with guys from England in the hot tub. Their grandparents enjoyed the movies in the pool. I am a huge music fan and looking at all the artist collections throughout the place was thrilling for me. We felt like pampered rock stars here and will stay again when we return to Universal Studios. Hard Rock was extremely clean and we realized we had been spoiled by our stay there after we arrived at our next hotel in Clearwater Beach, FL and snarled our noses because it in no way compare the Hard Rock Hotel! We parked our vehicle upon arriving and didn't go back to the car until we left. The water taxi was such a convenience and there was so much to do without leaving the property! Such a relaxing time with no complaints! HARD ROCK, ORLANDO ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#34 Family Hotel in Orlando
#35 Business Hotel in Orlando
#47 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.