We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at The Hard Rock Hotel at the Universal Resort Orlando in August 2012. First impressions were good. We had paid for 'Level 7' accommodation. This is supposed to be the better rooms in the hotel located on the top floor and accessed with your room card in the lift 'Club Level'. Our room seemed to be tucked away in the corner and was full of dust along the head board and table. Even after a few days the room never got dusted. Disgusting. We had an awful nights sleep when a fan in the ceiling somewhere was rattling and an engineer was called. They never turned up and I had to go down to reception to see what was going on. The information had not been passed over. Bad communication. Fan never got fixed and went down to reception in the morning after a horrendous nights sleep to complain about the poor service/rattling fan and dirty room. We were moved to another room which had obviously been cleaned properly this time. What was surprising was that we were moved to the same type of room but this one was 10 times better. I wish we had had the 2nd room originally. Especially as it was our honeymoon. We felt we had bee shoved in the worst room on 'Club Level' originally. I did manage to get a part refund for the trouble but the damage had been done.

The Club level lounge is not worth the extra for staying on club level. Poor snacks and awful buffet food. The room is small and if you don't get in there early you won't get a seat. It's more like a play room. The staff were very friendly though.

The food from the pool bar was also very disappointing.

This hotel is great for getting the the universal parks and the fast pass you get for staying at the hotel is fantastic. Unfortunately the hotel is let down with it's over rated Club Level rooms and poor house keeping. How hard is it to run a duster over the furniture!

We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room over looking the pool with the rides in the background. Some rooms are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,382
    1,228
    438
    210
    112
See reviews for
2,696
611
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I must say this hotel disapointed me. It was exspensive so I expected it to be really nice. The rooms VERY average. Our "garden view" room was no where near a garden. It overlooked a service parking lot. The room was "cleanish". There was tons of dust collected on the mirror over the sink, the coffee area was very dusty too. Most of the staff was nice and the bell service was excellent. The pool was great and we really enjoyed that. The perk of the express passes to Universal and early entry to Harry Poter was great. Side note: The food prices at this hotel and at universal make Disney look afordable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Words can't even describe our wonderful experience at Hard Rock, Orlando. Our family of 6 with 2 children ages 11 and 7, their parents and grandparents LOVED this hotel! The value of the exceptional hotel stay, express passes, water taxi and the hour early into Universal was a GREAT value! The pool and slide were favorites of my kids and they met a friend from Scotland! My husband enjoyed talking "football" with guys from England in the hot tub. Their grandparents enjoyed the movies in the pool. I am a huge music fan and looking at all the artist collections throughout the place was thrilling for me. We felt like pampered rock stars here and will stay again when we return to Universal Studios. Hard Rock was extremely clean and we realized we had been spoiled by our stay there after we arrived at our next hotel in Clearwater Beach, FL and snarled our noses because it in no way compare the Hard Rock Hotel! We parked our vehicle upon arriving and didn't go back to the car until we left. The water taxi was such a convenience and there was so much to do without leaving the property! Such a relaxing time with no complaints! HARD ROCK, ORLANDO ROCKS!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for the last 2 nights of our holiday in Florida after having a villa for the previous 12 nights. Hotel was an experience and worth it for the Universal fast pass. However, EVERYTHING has a price - parking $17 ............ fridge in room (if required) $15/night ................ hire of microwave (if required) .................. and so it goes on. We were on the 5th floor - room was nice and spacious but nothing special and had absolutely no view whatsoever. The sandy area of the pool was infested with small red ants. Drinks around the pool were pricely $18 for 2 beers. With the exception of the fast passes you don't actually get very much for your $$$$. There was nowhere to sit in the morning as none of the rooms have balconies. Personally, any more than 2 days and you would be stirr crazy. Nice experience but don't think we will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff were very helpful. Rooms are large and the pool is brilliant! Music is played throughout the hotel and pool area but the rooms are very quiet. The added bonus of staying here is the short walk to Universal and Islands of Adventure and the early entry to the parks. We managed to tour Harry Potter while it was still very quiet. Highly recommend this hotel and would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were actually staying for two weeks on international drive but had decided to stay at the Hard Rock for one night on easter sunday, as we got our fast passes included for the two days!

Upon arrival at the hotel I was amazed at how grand the entrance was, you walked in and they were playing rock music, had pictures of rockstars all over the walls, overall it was just a great atmosphere.

The hotel rooms were lovely and big so no complaints there!

The pool area was the best, lots of entertainment, beautiful big pool, music. We did purchase some food and drinks which were quite expensive but I expected that anyway.

The main reason for staying here was to gain early entrance into Harry Potter, which was so worth it. After completing the whole area the park had just opened to the public and the que times increased rapidly for the Harry Potter rides. So that saved us lots of queing time.
With the fast past we didnt que for any rides at all on both days, which meant we had completed both Islands of Adventure and Universal with time to go back to the hotel and relax by the pool.

I am a travel agent and would certainly recommend this hotel if your budget is higher than most.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed from Sun 7th Oct to Wed 10th Oct in a deluxe room .The concierge service is very good as you arrive at the hotel and the hotel looks nice upon arrival.i chose to self park and drove up to the main entrance and dropped the luggage off and you drive up to the barrier and collect a ticket to gain entry but you do not need this ticket again as your room key gets you exit and re-entry to the car park.The parking fee is charged at the end of the stay. We had a deluxe room on the 4th floor and it was ok but nothing special,we had stayed at the Waldorf Astoria down in Disney last year and the Hard Rock was more expensive and nowhere near as good from a room piont of view.The pool area is nice but we had to take our " clean " towels back as when we opened them they were covered in suntan lotion stains . We paid around $42 for 6 bottles of miller in an ice bucket from the pool drinks service attendant.The small cafe area downstairs is very good for a light breakfast with pastries,doughnuts fruit,toast etc .

Be very aware of the Rickshaw boys outside the hotel as they ask you if you would like a ride to the parks and there is no set price you just tip them what you feel it is worth,the problem we had was that they appeared to have no regard for the people on the footpath and came hurtling from behind and towards you on the narrow path and this was more of an issue at night when the path is not so well lit. We took the hotel water taxi a few times but if your going to studios its not worth it as the boat docks in one place over at city walk so the walk back to studios is just as long as the walk from the hotel.If you use the pool gate as an exit from the hotel you can be at studios in around 5 mins.

We thought the hotel was perfect as a location for the parks and the express pass that comes with the package saves a lot of time but in our opinion the hotel is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
#44 Family Hotel in Orlando
#58 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.