We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest hotel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Greatest hotel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

In a kids point of view the Hard Rock Hotel is wonderful! It has strait access to both theme parks! Also the rooms are clean and ready when we want them to be. Also, when I was there over the summer, I went to their pool at night and they were playing movies! They were also selling huge beach balls and their is a great pool side restaurant that serves you from the pool! It's also a beautiful place. All around the hotel is bushs, trees, and flowers! So, if you want loads of fun I would definately recommend the Hard Rock in Florida.

Room Tip: I would say that all rooms are very good. :O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,363
    1,220
    437
    210
    112
See reviews for
2,680
606
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just got back from a fun trip with my husband and four older kids. While staying at the Hard Rock was a great choice for location and complimentary express pass for our family, I was surprised by how run down and ill kept our rooms were. There was dust on the mirror frames and most surfaces and scuff marks on all the walls. When I have stayed there in the past, I had always been impressed by the hotel maintainence but not this time. Also, the wait staff at the pool was completely understaffed and disorganized. The staff at the hotel was very friendly. I found the beds to be really uncomfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I stayed here with my son in August 2012. It was a trip specifically for Universal Studios. I loved staying on property. It was so convienent to go to and from the parks. Additionally, you get extra perks such as Fast Pass (shorter lines) and earlier admission to Harry Potter which is worth its weight in gold. We took advantage of this every day. By time we were leaving the Harry Potter ride, the line was already 60 minutes and the park wasn't even open yet. We waited about 15 minutes to ride it. You can either walk over or take the free water taxis or pedicabs (for small tip) to get over to the park. No buses required. We did not do a meal plan. There are tons of food options outside the park as well as inside that are reasonable. Everyone was friendly. The hotel rooms were spacious and very quite. The location of our room was on the main floor with the lobby at the very far end near the water taxi. It was a garden view which was fine, we weren't in the room that much. The pool is great, my son and I really enjoyed our relaxing time out by the pool. The have daily activities for the kids and each night they show a movie out by the pool which was fun too. We booked a package with AAA that included private roundtrip transfer from Airport. Honestly, I would recommend this hotel and experience to everyone and I would go back in a NY minute. Great job Hard Rock!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here in July with teenage children. Early entry to the Universal parks and the complimentary fast passes are worth their weight ... The hotel is spotless and cannot be faulted. we were given an adjoining room which was appreciated. The kids loved the sunset movies at the pool. Walking to the parks is not a problem and there is a shuttle bus to Wet and Wild. If you fancy eating somewhere else there are a couple of alternative restaurants about 10/15 mins walk away on Vineland Road. The icecreams from Emack & Bolio's were fab! Staff were very helpful and there are some interesting artefacts to look at around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just got back from a few days at the Hard Rock at Universal studios.

The hotel itself is an average upscale hotel. They nickel and dime you to death and everything seems to be an extra that you have to pay for. If you are not careful in a hotel like this you will have $100 extras on your bill by the time you leave.

The pool was big but, shallow.. this is not a pool for actual swimming, more like wading around and enjoying the atmosphere.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. Nothing special but, in this hotel you are not paying for the room... you are paying for the atmosphere and the name.

Here is why I highly recommend this hotel... the Universal perks that come with it. For one thing you are extremely close to the parks.. just a 5 minute walk down a lovely tree lined path. Or you can take the boat that comes by every 15 minutes or so and get dropped off in between both entrances to IOA and US, right in the center of City Walk.

You get the unlimited Express Pass to both parks and let me tell you... this is an amazing perk!! Unless you stay on site at one of the Universal hotels you can't get it... you can't even buy the Unlimited Express Pass, it is only for the Universal onsite hotel guests. It is worth paying the extra money to stay onsite just for this one perk alone. Yes, you can purchase the Express Pass but, its expensive and you can only ride each ride once... hotel guests get the unlimited use of this pass.. that means as many times through the rides as you please. They basically give you a pass to walk to the front of the line and they always make you a priority when loading the rides. We rode Jurassic Park three times while those in the stand by line were still waiting. I noticed some were getting annoyed to see us coming back to ride again before they even got their first ride but, why should we feel guilty... Universal makes this an amazing perk to get guests to stay onsite at their hotels and we took advantage.

You also get an hour in IOA before the theme park opens to the general public, which for us meant having the Harry Potter area of the park practically to ourselves that first hour. Compared to how busy it got after the park opened to the general public, that first hour was like a ghost town and we were able to ride the Forbidden Journey 3 times before the park opened to everyone else.

So... the Hard Rock is a nice hotel that can definitely be a little expensive but, is worth every penny when you factor in the perks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Hard Rock and booked it through a Halloween Horror Nights package. We checked in and although we were booked for a garden room the girl ar front counter upgraded us to a pool room view for free. Our room was very spacious and clean. We enjoyed the stay and the benefits for staying there. For those that stay there, you get free early access to the parks and free entry into City Walk clubs. The only draw back we thought of was the daily parking charges. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Me and my two grandsons had a wonderful time. They loved the pool and the service was excellent. Only 10 minutes walk from Universal Studios and IOA. My grandsons are still talking about it 4 months later.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5800 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#27 Green Hotel in Orlando
#42 Business Hotel in Orlando
#44 Family Hotel in Orlando
#64 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live like a rock 'n' roll superstar at the exciting Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando® You’ll feel like rock 'n' roll royalty with impeccable accommodations, a wealth of recreation and personal service and attention fit for an "A-List" celebrity. The Hard Rock Hotel is lively, yet laid back. Classy, yet totally casual, with a sand beach pool that immerses you in sound, not just water; authentic rock 'n' roll memorabilia; the legendary Palm Restaurant and more. You don't have to be a rock star to stay at Hard Rock Hotel. But after just a few hours, you’ll definitely get used to living the lifestyle.Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required) * Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time* And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Orlando
Hotel Hard Rock
Hard Rock Resort
Hard Rock Orlando
Hard Rock Cafe Hotel Orlando
Universal Hard Rock Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Rock Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.