We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersGold level
La Grange, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were deciding between finding a vacation rental vs hotel and opted for pacific royal. We are very happy with our decision. It is a short distance from the parks and city walk. We usually walked but a boat is available for the trip. The pool is nice - nothing extraordinary but kids liked it and spent a afternoon there( also a couple of short evenings after the parks). We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel and just opted for the city walk. It was also nice to get the express pass. We were able to ride several favorite rides repeatedly during our stay. Staff was friendly but honestly did not have huge interaction because were out most of the time. Our room was cleaned every day and hotel was well maintained.

Room Tip: we were on the main floor so windows covered by tress etc - not much a view if that's what you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,217
    1,536
    554
    257
    149
See reviews for
2,806
744
36
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I agree with most of the reviews here. I had a standard room with a pool view. My room was comfortable and well maintained. There are plenty of options for food, the the food quality was quite good. The best parts of this hotel are the great pool and the location, both are excellent. I stayed here 4 nights for a business conference with roughly 400 attendees. This was the best location I have attended a conference of this size at. The meeting rooms were great, the food was fabulous, and the location was perfect for groups of people to break off and go to city walk for some fun at night.

Room Tip: The palm trees are about 5 floors high, so if you can get a room on the sixth or seventh floor you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha Relax77!

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent conference visit with us. It is spectacular to see the resort was able to meet all of your business conference needs, as well as food and entertainment needs. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo!
Larry Beiderman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Royal Pacific was one of five hotels / rentals we stayed in on this Florida trip and it was by far our favourite!

We got a very good rate for the Club level, which included a great continental breakfast, snacks all day, a light dinner buffet with free wine / beer and an evening dessert selection. The value of this alone is fantastic, plus the services of the club concierge, free wifi in the club lounge and a great place to relax.

The staff all seemed friendly and courteous and little extra touches like complimentary chilled towels and frozen grapes at the pool are much appreciated. The pool area is beautiful with lifeguards, plenty of lounge chairs, a zero entry / beach end, water park feature, separately fenced wading pool, two hot tubs, ice cream stand and a poolside bar with a great snack menu. Chairside service was prompt and friendly. Children's activities were ongoing throughout the day and a movie screen was set up in the pool each night. The towel desk also provided pool noodles, sidewalk chalk, newspapers, magazines...everything the whole family could need for a relaxing day in the sun!

The public spaces at the resort were tasteful, beautifully kept, clean and elegant. We did not eat other than in the club lounge and pool bar so can't comment on the quality and service of the restaurants.

the main reason we chose this resort was to visit Universal Islands of Adventure and we were not disappointed. The walk to the park was easy and the water taxis, though slower than walking, were a nice way to rest aching feet after a long day.

Compared to Disney we enjoyed the compactness of Universal. both my kids (5 and 8) ADORED Suess Landing, even though Harry Potter was the real reason for our visit. The extra hour of park entry is essential to visit WWOHP and the Express Passes were a nice bonus, although lines didn't seem too long in general on the day we visited.

We experienced exceptional customer service from Guest Services employees at both Islands of Adventure and Universal Studio. Somehow in our jet-lagged stupidity we missed the fact that Universal requires paper tickets and doesn't simply add your ticket to your room key like Disney. When we arrived at Islands of Adventure without our a Guest Services employee called our hotel to verify the purchase and was able to reprint them, saving us a trip back which would have cost us most of the early opening time.

My younger daughter desperately wanted to go to the SpongeBob store in the other park, but as none of us had much interest in the attractions there we balked at the expense of adding a second park to our tickets. Again guest services came to the rescue. They first offered to sell us discounted tickets which they would then refund if we returned within the hour. We were very pleased with that solution; however a manager then offered an even better option. Apparently they had some extra staff on duty and a VIP tour guide came out, personally escorted us through the park to the store, told us to take all the time we needed, waited patiently while we shopped and escorted us back when we finished! Simply astonishing and very much appreciated.

The only area in which our Royal Pacific / Universal vacation could have been improved was the room itself. We were on the 11th floor of Tower 3, overlooking a parking lot, pond and busy road. To say the room was compact is an understatement. While it had everything we needed and was clean, it was dated, a bit dingy and very cramped, particularly in the bathroom. This is not what I would expect of club level at a Loews property.

Another detail is a common complaint at higher-end properties. There is simply no reason in this day and age for hotels to be charging for in-room wifi. If $60/night hotels can supply it at no charge there is no reason for a $250 / night property to be gouging customers. Luckily our room was close enough to the club lounge that its wifi was usable inside our room.

All in all an excellent choice, particularly for Universal visitors. We will make this our go-to hotel in Orlando for all theme parks in the future!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the club lounge to access free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha MyWordSmith!

It is delightful to read the fantastic vacation experience you and your family had here at our resort. Our apologies for any unpleasantness the room décor or charge for wifi caused you, but we are pleased the additional resort amenities and outstanding customer service made this an overall enjoyable visit. We hope to see you return for another memorable experience soon!

Mahalo!
Larry Beiderman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the fourth time I have been to Orlando in the past 9 years and I have to say that the difference in staying on site makes the difference to your holiday. Yes it is expensive but I have to say that if you are wondering is it worth the extra money? then all I can say is if you want the perfect Florida holiday then you'll have to pay for it. The location of the hotel is perfect for those who can't drive and want to enjoy what Universal has to offer. There is a free boat to the parks and you can walk to Universal city walks in just over 5 minutes which means that you can come and go at your own leisure. As for the hotel, it is cleverly set between the roads amongst the trees and bushes and it gives you a feeling of being in a secluded location even though you are clearly not. It is hard to say anything negative about the hotel, I mean it's beautiful, clean, well maintained and everyone is so helpful and polite. There is only one real negative and that is the running costs of your stay with regards to the initial cost and then the food and gifts. To summarise if you want the full Florida holiday and money is no object then by all means this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha ireid!

We are so pleased to see you and your family enjoyed such a wonderful vacation! Thank you for your kind words detailing the role our resort played in providing you with a memorable experience. We hope your travels bring you back to our resort soon!

Mahalo!
Larry Beiderman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Be very aware that when you stay at this hotel they will keep records of your credit or debit card details when you leave so my advice is to pay cash for any purchases and don't give them your card details.

My family and I along with another family stayed for two nights at this expensive hotel and when we left our cards were debit for the food and drink we had purchased whilst there. Three months later they debited our accounts again without having the decency to let us know in advance. To us that amounts to stealing.

Such a shame to spoil our fantastic memories of a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LRPR, General Manager at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Aloha Teresa B!

We are extremely sorry to hear about the issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We would love to have the opportunity to discuss these issues with you further and can be easily reached at RoyalPacificCustomerService@loewshotels.com. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

Mahalo!
Larry Beiderman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The main reason I enjoy staying at the Royal Pacific is its' proximity to Universal City Walk and the beautiful grounds. The staff is friendly and efficient but it seems, sometimes, that it's less of a culture and more because they have to. The prices are very fair for the area and the selection of food options are good. I ate at the nice downstairs restaurant and the the Emeril's downstairs and had really good meals at both. This is my fourth time here and I'll probably stay there again on my next trip to Orlando.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My complaints: you have to pay $10/day to use the fitness center. The breakfast that's served is the Same as free continental breakfast options that the Hampton offer- but it's expensive! You pay per egg and piece of fruit...silly. Pricey parking and an in-room charge for Internet.
The perks: perfect location! Walk to the theme parks before they're open! Happy staff! Spotless and polished! Food options are wonderful (the sushi was fair priced for the quality). Pool area huge and very nice. Very family friendly or couple friendly :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando

Address: 6300 Hollywood Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Orlando
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#31 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#45 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#79 Business Hotel in Orlando
#91 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the allure of the South Seas at Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando® Feel the excitement of a time when adventurous travelers first island-hopped the South Pacific, relaxing along their journey at magnificent resorts where they could just kick back and enjoy the beauty of the islands. You can dine on exceptional cuisine; delight in the impeccable service; and soak in the breathtaking splendor of lush tropical surroundings at a white sandy beach of the lagoon-style swimming pool; all while enjoying the latest in modern conveniences. Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including:* Early Park Admission† to Islands of Adventure, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day^ (valid theme park admission required)* Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time * And more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Royal Pacific Resort At Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Loews Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Resort Orlando
Universal Royal Pacific Hotel
Royal Pacific Hotel Orlando
Universals Royal Pacific Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.