We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for larger families going to Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's All-Star Music Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's All-Star Music Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com amextravel.com
and 6 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Option for larger families going to Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are a family of 5 with our kids all under the age of 10. Our youngest still falls under the 3 year old cut off for hotels/tickets however the options for families greater than 4 are limited on Disney property. We selected the All Star Music resort mainly for value as we wanted the in-park experience but didn't want to pay high prices. We were very surprised by our experience. We got to the hotel early (9:00am) and were extremely surprised to find that our room was ready for us! We were given keys and the all-important parking pass. We are Florida residents and with the stroler we find it easier to take our car versus the bus system with the exception of the Magic Kingdom. The parking pass alone equated to $42.00 in savings for the three days we hit the parks.
Our room was extremely clean and had two double beds and a pack and play for our youngest to sleep in. The room also had a refrigerator which was a nice to have. My one recommendation here, or with any Disney property is to pay for a preferred room. Unless you are in a deluxe hotel paying for a view in my opinion is not worth the cost as all value and moderate resorts have outdoor corridors and to leave your curtains open means that people can look in to your room while you are looking out. The preferred room does get you closer to the main building for drinks/food etc, and usually the pool area as well. We were in the Calypso building which is closest to the lobby.
The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows. The room was by no means large, but was open enough to have the pack and play open the entire time and not be in the way. There is a small table and two chairs as well.
We requested additional pillows from Housekeeping which they were happy to bring us and we came back to different towel-animals each day including a bunny rabbit toothbrush holder on the sink and one in our window. On the bed was mousears made out of three towels. This is a nice touch that the kids absolutely love.
The grounds are beautiful and the pools were spotless. At night they have a movie outside in the pool area that you can watch from a lounge chair or the pool itself if you wish. There are also scheduled kids activities throughout the day.
I am sure you can stay close to disney for a little less than the $120 a night we paid for this hotel, but adding in the extra hours you can visit the park because you are staying on property as well as the no-charge parking or transportation and not losing the Disney feeling... I truly believe this is the best value for a Disney vacation.

Room Tip: The extra $20 for a preferred room is well worth the money to be closer to the main lobby area... Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    784
    954
    432
    115
    82
See reviews for
1364
363
52
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at All-Star Music as part of a Cheerleading competition group package. We were very happy with our room. It was clean and spacious for the 4 of us 2 adults and 2 girls (8 and 13 years old) We spent a bit more time in the room then we would have liked. My older daughter was on mandatory rest before her late night competition time. We don't usually go to Disney to hang out in the room but we managed to pass the time.

The girls enjoyed the tv channel selections.

The pool areas were clean and the water was heated.

We had a mini fridge in the room.

The only thing I didn't like about the room is that the toilets are very noisey when you flush.

Security was very visible everynight and kept the guests quiet. (not sure if the added security was due to the competition)

There was always lots of parking there is a security gate we needed to show our room key to get through.

Our checkin was through Celebrity Hall due to the cheerleading competition I never needed to go to the main checkin desk.

Ask for a parking pass if you are staying on property then you don't have to pay the daily parking fee at the parks. We had a rental car and didn't use the Disney Transportation.

We had dinner 3 times at the Cafeteria style restaurant at All Star Music. We enjoyed the variety of food. roast, mashed potatoes and steamed vegtables were our fave. Definately something for everyone. Fresh salads, fruits, pizza, chicken, pasta, hamburger meals etc.

We visited all 4 parks
EPCOT go early and fast pass Soarin fastpasses run out quickly and the wait can be huge! Use the single rider lane for test track. meet up with you party in activity area or gift shop.

Animal Kingdom closes early 7pm? most days Fast pass the safari jeep ride. Use the single rider lane for Mount Everest. Again meet up in the gift shop Have an adult go first and wait for the kids. SAVES TONS OF TIME!

Magic Kingdom has some great extended hours check online. They are adding some new attractions and Splash Mountain was closed for refurbishment.

Hollywood Studios Tower of Terror a must DO! and Rockin Roll Roller coaster also a must!

If you want any kind of character experience restaurant book months in advance. Our faves are:
Chef Mickey's in the contemporary resort.
Crystal Palace ( pooh bear and friends) Magic Kingdom
Princess experiences at Cinderella's castle and at the Grand Floridian are great too!

Room Tip: Ask for a building close to the cafeteria, main checkin and main pool or you will have to walk a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a sprawling resort on Disney property w/a musical theme.
Prices are reasonable compared to Disney's other properties as it is not a hotel w/the amenities of restaurants.
This is great for families or adults as there are many children related activities near the pool area if you're staying for an extended length of time.
The rooms passed the "white glove" test and I enjoyed the fact that they are attempting to go green. For long stays, bedding is changed in the rooms only every 3 days. The rooms are brightly decorated w/ the touch of wash towels made into figurines. The beds however are older and uncomfortable.
The resort provides a bus for free transportation to all their theme parks, but it can be gruling at times w/all the stops.
For those handicapped, please note that most of the buses are handicap accessible. Also, you can rent a scooter from an outside company and have it delivered right to the front of the resort for you. I would suggest that when making your reservations that you request a room near the front of the resort as it can be a long walk for someone w/a disability to get to the front if your room is in one of the far bldgs.
Also, even though management is efficient, the clerks are not as knowledgable as they could be as to park info and especially options for dining/shopping just outside of Disney.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were really satisfied with the value and our overall stay at the resort this year. The Disney Magical Express, which is included in the price, takes hotels guests to and from the airport at most times of the day and night. We were shuttled back and forth to the Disney Parks for our entire stay, which was included in the price as well. Some nice amenities were the two heated pools, the laundry facilities, a food court, the gift shop, transportation services, an arcade, and airport check in with some airlines. In addition, we were leaving on a later flight and the bell services desk stored our luggage at no cost or hassle. With all of the expenses of a Disney Vacation, this is almost a bargain! We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Family Room - 2 x double beds for 2 adults and 2 children was a bit dated and not huge but clean and comfortable which is all we wanted as not spending a lot a time in them! Housekeeping came in every day changing towels and making beds that we'd hastily throw the covers on on our way out the door!
Great having the bus stops outside the resort especially as even though we thought we'd researched a lot being our 1st time to Florida, we didn't really have a clue!!!! Buses regular and drivers very friendly.
Only stayed at the pool one day and a couple of nights out of the 2 weeks.... night time film for the kids on the huge inflatable screen was fab, daytime entertainment kept them 'entertained', not sure how thrilled my 10 year old girls would have been had they been 'parked' at the pool for a few days, think they would have been bored, but again we weren't there for the pool!
Food on site was very pricey for what you got which we didn't really appreciate until we had been to International Drive. We tried to mainly eat at the parks as found the whole queueing in different lines for different food types and then queueing again to pay very very frustrating and I grew to absolutely detest it, often by the time you had everything, something or other was cold!!!! We ate at another couple of places whilst in Florida that had the same idea but they just seemed to work as you ordered were given a 'pager', paid then collected your meals. The food itself was ok and the seating was fun, colourful and bright just the queueing system seemed to be disorganised.
Reception were very helpful and cheery and informatative.
Overall decent value resort, handy for parks, staff friendly but food system for us let it down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first time to Disney. We are a family of five so we needed a suite. We also knew that we would not be spending much time in our room so we wanted to keep our money for the parks and kids' activities. This resort is definitely worth every penny. Our room was wonderful so clean and bright - and had two bathrooms (which works well for 4 girls to share!). The food at the quick service was very delicious however I think they need to have more healthy options (not fries with everything!) if you want salad, you have to buy it separately or use a "snack" or "dessert" option from your meal plan. There was always lots of activities for the kids and the nightly movies outdoors was a big hit. We would definitely go back again and stay at this resort.

Room Tip: 2606 was a great family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Took a last-minute trip to WDW for 2 night with my 12-year old. We had previously stayed at the moderate resorts and once at the Contemporary. Since it was just a quick trip this time and we weren't planning to spend much time at the hotel, I decided to try the All Star Music resort.
I was pleased with the size of the room - it was nearly the same as the other hotel levels. Rooms were clean and the A/C worked well. I wish they would provide the more elaborate towel creations like at the higher end resorts. And I wish they would get rid of the old, potentially dirty bedspreads and replace them with clean, white duvets that get washed after each guest.
The grounds were nicely landscaped and I did not feel I was in the middle of a parking lot like I had feared.
The food court is a step down from the other levels and feels more like a cafeteria, but the food itself is identical to the moderates. Food is definitely not as good as the luxury levels.
Pool was basic, but for just a quick dip it serves it's purpose well.
The shuttle bus system is the same as the other hotels, but the bus stops are just a little further away from the park entrances. Not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's All-Star Music Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Music Resort

Also Known As:
All Star Music
All Star Music Resort
All Star Music Hotel
Disney Music Resort
Disney Music Resort Star
Disney Music Star
Disney All Star Music Resort
Disneys All Star Music Resort
Disneys All Star Music
All Star Music Resort Orlando Fl
Address: 1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#106 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#121 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Music Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's All-Star Music Resort is a Disney Value Resort hotel featuring giant icons that pay homage to classic music genres—including Broadway show tunes, calypso, country, jazz and rock n' roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Disney's All-Star Music Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's All-Star Music Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.