We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing trip to Disney!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's All-Star Music Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's All-Star Music Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An amazing trip to Disney!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend booked a super Disney vacation and opted for the All Star music resort. We had a family suite since we were traveling with 2 boys age 15 and 16. We were in the calypso building and it was great since it was right next to the food court and the transportation to Disney parks. The room is nice and for the 4 of us it was the right size. I had brought a inflating mattress just in case, because on reviews, people were telling that they were not comfy...ok, not that great, but the boys did not use the mattress. The two bathrooms were great and the shower was really good. There is a lot of humidity so the odor was there.
On the first day, we took a taxi and went to Target for grocery. The fridge is a nice size and the kitchenette had what we needed. I would of liked to have real glasses in stead of plastic cups, but for the rest , the disposable dishes is very efficient.
The bus transportation is wonderful and we never waited more than 10-15 minutes. but it seemed we were always lucky cause it would always be there a few minutes after we were at the bus stop. :-). In the morning we would use the extra magic hours. and around 2-3 come back for a little nap. and go back at night in the same park or an other one since we had hopper tickets. This is a great way to discover the parks and to spend a little time at the resort and relax or take a nap. this way, we were always full of energy and stayed away from the big big crowd of the afternoon. at the food court, we could always find something to suit our taste. The coffee is awful so is the one in the room, so if you are a coffee amateur... that's not a good point. but I would find my energy in the magic of disney hey hey!!!
We had a great time and for family with a budget it is perfect. The family suite is a little bit expensive, but it was the biggest time of the year. and a little privacy with the closed room is great for parents. It puts some magic in bed also lol

Room Tip: A family suite in the calypso building next to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    864
    1,058
    485
    126
    86
See reviews for
1530
404
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As we where only visiting Disney World for 7 days, the hotel was only ever going to be a base as we intended to be in the Parks for all the available opening hours. So this hotel was exactly what we needed. The reception was very clean with quick and attentive staff. The hotel grounds where well kept with two pools, both more excellent for children with on duty lifeguards till 11pm. The room was very clean with two double beds, a large tv, clean and spacious bathroom and free wifi (although we found the wifi quite slow compared to the free guest wifi you got in the hotel grounds and at every Disney Site). The maid/room service was also very good with the room being cleaned, beds made and fresh towels every day. The only dining room was self service offering pizza, pasta, burger or salad dishes (we found this to be pretty much the staple diet in all Disney Resorts) all reasonably priced and plentyful portions, the hotel also offered pizza delivery to your room. As we where on the Disney dining plan we also recieved drink cups which we could refill 24/7 for the whole of our holiday. All in all for a single parent with 3 kids this hotel offered everything you needed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for convenience to the parks. This resort is older...nothing fancy, but our room was clean. Checkin was a nightmare...very unorganized as their system was down. No one was explaining why such a long wait...even for those who had checked in online. It was confusing finding room at night. The shuttles were great! Food is just ok.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had 3 adults and one teenager in a standard room in the "Country Fair" building. Yes, the rooms are old. Yes, the carpeting is worn is some spots. Yes, the property is huge and it's a LONG walk to your room (and after walking around the parks all day the walk seems even longer.)
With that said, the rooms are clean. The mini-fridge comes in handy for cold drinks or for those desserts that you can't quite finish at the restaurant. The location was quiet.
My family didn't spend much time here. We got up early, showered, dressed and headed to the parks. We returned late a night (sometimes after midnight), fell into bed, slept, got up and started the process all over again. We decided on a value hotel because we preferred to spend out money at the parks and not on the hotel. This hotel certainly met our needs.
If you're looking for a hotel with lots of amenities and plan to spend more time at the hotel, this hotel might not be for you. Very little in the way of amenities. I've stayed at some of the high-end hotels (Boardwalk, Saratoga Springs) and they have spas, lounges, etc. All-Stars have none of this. Very basic. So know your needs before you select this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed at Disney Pop Century previously with all my family members but decided to try out this hotel just for one night with my daughter. It was a mother/daughter overnight stay to celebrate her 11th birthday. I would definitely choose Pop Century over All-Star Music.
I agree with the previous poster RaysFans4. There really is a reason this is one of the cheapest place to stay at Disney World. At the time of the booking I mentioned it was my daughter's birthday so we got a room on ground level which was convenient, and very close to the entrance/exit area of the building to wait for the buses.

The rooms are almost exactly what you would expect from a motel off the Interstate but with some Disney touches (Disney themed shampoo bottle and soap). I wasn't overly impressed or depressed with the room. It sufficed for one night.

What did make me wonder:
A used soap in the shower area with long black hair (not mine) all over the tub upon check in, a stack of towels on the small table with two Powerade bottles. I don't remember Disney having complimentary drinks. Random towel animals around the room. I assumed the room was used for staff to make towel animals, etc. but we were given it before they had a chance to clear out the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Look, it's a discount resort at WDW. What do you expect for less than $90/night. Here's what you do to maximize your experience.

Drive your own car and ask for a building toward the back of the property near pool number two. We got Broadway #8. It was quiet, comfortable and cool. We were on the 1st floor, so no stairs or elevators necessary. We were near the parking lot and our car, so very convenient.

Yes, the room is small and you basically have to back into the bathroom to close the door. So what, if you want to spend time in your room, you're not at Disney.

The walk to the main building for morning coffee is long, so, use your car. I did. Drove right up the parking lot to a space near the main building, went in for the $15 plastic mug, drink all the fake coffee you can stand - but hey, it's loaded with caffeine, and there is no Starbucks at Disney, so deal with the Nescafe for a few days...

Use your car to drive off property for water, drug stores, wine, beer, and anything else you want to buy at normal American discount instead of paying the up-charge WDW tacks on. Sure, the rental costs money, but the time and money saved on not taking the buses and not being stuck on Disney property where they charge $9 for a cheap glass of wine will quickly equalize and if you stay for more than 4 days, or even if you don't, will be well worth the freedom of your choice and freedom from mass transit. I think WDW mass transit is the worst thing about Disney. Long lines, packed buses, and drivers who appear to be in their 90's driving lots of families at 55 mph is not my idea of relaxing or fun. Go with your independence and American given right to drive yourself. You'll be much happier.

Back to the Music resort. The beds were fine, the flat screen TVs were fine. The water pressure was fine. The pools were great. The grounds were perfect. The housekeeping was great. What's not to like. For the price, this resort can be great if you are in the right building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

There's a reason that this is the cheapest place to stay at Walt Disney World. This hotel is dirty and out dated. Disney you can't continue to charge people $150 plus a night and not update this hotel. Let me start out by saying we've stayed at just about every Disney hotel and resort, included a couple that are on Disney property, but not owned by Disney. We've lived in Florida all our lives and are premium pass holders. We've stayed at all the All Star resorts, including Pop Century and have never really been as disappointed as we were with this hotel. Luckily we only stayed one night, otherwise it would have been a disaster. It started at check in with a very rude and snotty cast member (check in clerk). Without going into details, we were left wondering where this resort gets their employees, because we've never been spoken to the way this female clerk spoke to us. In fact, usually people at Disney go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. On to the room. We were given a room at the very back corner of the resort near "Broadway Street". I have no idea why we were assigned this room so far away from the main buildings, other than the fact that we didn't pay to upgrade our room. This resort did not appear full at all. We entered the room, which was very dreary and dark and immediately could tell it was old and run down. The beds appeared to be made very sloppily, not nice and neat like usually. The furniture was very outdated, the linens and pillows were old, and the bathroom was dirty. Just because you roll up an old white towel and two wash clothes in the form of a Mickey Mouse head and put it on the bed, doesn't make the room feel warm and inviting. We found numerous clumps of hair on the bathroom floor and the room was in serious need of painting. It appeared that maintenance had just touched up paint as they needed and never really professionally painted the room. The beds were the most uncomfortable beds that we've ever slept on, with constant creaking of the springs every time you moved. I really felt the bed was going to collapse at any moment. The linens looked like something you would find in an older hospital. The towels were the same cheap ones that you get poolside. We never really turned on the TV, because we weren't in the room much, other than one night to sleep. The bathroom sink didn't drain right because the stopper wouldn't go up and down, so we had to eventually take out the stopper. The carpets were stained, the walls were all beat up, and this room was just a mess from the start. Fortunately our stay was only one night. This hotel ranks up there with a Motel 6 or Days Inn, so if you plan on staying here, don't expect much. Disney, if you are going to charge $150 plus for these rooms per night, you better think about upgrading and cleaning them to compete with other hotels, otherwise you might begin to loose customers to the other chains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the main building, which is where the buses and food court are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's All-Star Music Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Music Resort

Address: 1801 West Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#111 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#124 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Music Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's All-Star Music Resort is a Disney Value Resort hotel featuring giant icons that pay homage to classic music genres—including Broadway show tunes, calypso, country, jazz and rock n' roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Disney's All-Star Music Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Star Music Hotel
Disney Music Resort Star
Disney Music Star
Disney All Star Music Hotel
Disney All Star Music Resort
Disneys All Star Music Resort
All Star Music Resort Orlando Fl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's All-Star Music Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.