We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Universal and disney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Universal and disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is amazing! Gorgeous with a taste of italy! Had a wonderful time!! Looking forward to next stay! Even get to take a boat to and from city walk in universal at no charge!! Rooms were a good size and the complimentary express passes were awesome

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    320
    132
    62
    55
See reviews for
739
223
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Make sure the front desk does not put you in the very back of the hotel. Otherwise you will spend 5 - 10 minutes each way getting to and from the lobby. This hotel feels more like a convention center than a hotel. Rooms are nice but the mattresses sag in the middle and caused us to toss and turn all night from being uncomfortable. heavily used hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great place to stay. If you are over 21 stay here and go to Universal. You will have a much better time than Disney. Disney is mostly for kids and way to crowded. Animal Kingdom is cool and unique. They have like 3 good attractions. Universal is new and has amazing attractions.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Themed hotel designed to look like the real Portofino Bay, with a free boat that takes you straight to Universal Studios. Plenty of shops and food choices although my room was so far away from reception, that became annoying after 2 days. The staff are very attentive and helpful, my room was large, well equipped and had beautiful views. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if on another business trip or vacation based around IDrive. Epcot is about a 30 minute drive away but you need to allow for the traffic. Sea World is 15 minute drive maximum. Cheaper than Hard Rock Hotel but better value and more kid friendly.

Room Tip: When booking ask which wing is closest to reception or at least aim for one on the 3rd floor which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled to know you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the amenities provided. Whether for business or pleasure we cannot wait for the opportunity to welcome you back to the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great trip to Universal and stayed at Portofino Bay. The room was lovely and the beds and pillows really comfortable. Slept well every night.

Bathroom set up was not ideal for a family of four trying to get ready for the parks each day. Wished the sinks had been outside the toilet/shower area. No refrigerator to store water or milk but we purchased a Styrofoam cooler at Target which was 10 minutes away and refilled it with ice each day.

Ride to parks on water taxi was quick and efficient. Walk to park was a bit long (only did this once).

Liked having Starbucks on the premises but they closed by 8 each day - not good for someone who likes to have a cup of tea before bedtime. The Gelateria served gelato which was very good. They also sell milk and juice and other breakfast staples as well as candy treats.

Sal's Deli was very good and we went there frequently. They serve meals, sandwiches, snacks, drinks (loved the individual bottles of wine for a night cap out on the piazza instead of the tea I was originally looking for). They do have other restaurants/bars but we did not take advantage of them.

Very hot and not very shady out on the piazza during the day but beautiful at night.

Pool was nice, slide was fun but ducks also seem to live there and left many gifts in the water...kind of gross. Did not have trouble finding seats and always had plenty of clean towels.

Overall, it is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you the detailed feedback about your stay. It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed yourself and the hotel accommodations. We would love the opportunity to serve you again and hope to see you in the near future. Until then, Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was able to stay here as part of a business trip with my company. It was my first time staying on property at a Universal resort, although I had been to Universal before (about 5 years prior). The first thing that needs to be said is that the property is beautiful. Definitely in my top five as far as properties go. It's modeled after the Italian town of Portofino, and I was told by a Universal employee that Steven Spielberg was vacationing in Portofino when he had the idea for the hotel. I'll have a list of pros and cons below, but here's my overview. Rooms were generally clean, nice and spacious at 450 square feet (that's a difference between the deluxe hotels and that moderate/value ones). My room was in the villa wing and had 2 queen beds. We even had a theme park view with a view of Hogwarts castle, which was awesome. The beds were very comfortable and the climate system was adequate.

Let's go into the pros and cons for this hotel which I think will sum my thoughts up much easier. Bottom line is that pros definitely outweigh any cons here.

Pros:
-Beautiful grounds with nice pathways, seating areas and harbor
-Excellent on-site dining which includes many options from quick-service to upscale, Mama Della's was exceptionally good
-On-site Universal benefits including free unlimited Express passes and early admission to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter
-Staff was outstanding and went out their way to make sure we felt welcome
-Rooms were very nice with large comfortable beds
-Wifi is free
-Package delivery service is convenient and free- allows you to ship any purchases to your room as long as it's in advance of 24 hours before checkout
-Theming is spot on, makes you feel like you're literally in Italy
-Bell service holds your luggage at no charge at check-in or check-out if you want to explore the resort or go to the parks, very simple process similar to other hotels' offerings
-Hertz location on-site for spontaneous or reserved car rentals if needed
-TV speaker on the bathroom ceiling is an interesting concept
-Transportation is free to parks or even to the other Universal hotels if you want to go for meals or to explore- there is water taxi service or you can walk if you want to

Alright, now on to the cons:
-Wifi signal was very bad in my room. It was strong by the window but not by the beds. Others in my group had similar issues. It should be noted, however, that the free wifi in both Universal parks and CityWalk was amazing. (Also- get the free Universal Orlando app- once in the parks it helps with wait times and interactive mapping)
-Hotel is very large which can result in long walks to your room depending on location- however there are many different entrances to the guest room wings with elevators which can lower the walk times
-The hallways are showing a couple of signs of age (scuff marks on the walls, etc). Rooms however were totally fine. It should be noted though that the hotel is literally undergoing a renovation right now, and I saw them painting walls and sprucing things up during my stay.
-The lobby is actually on the 3rd floor which can be confusing, but signage is very good and there are resort maps everywhere to guide you
-If you're driving, there's a $20 nightly parking charge.

All in all, I definitely recommend this hotel, but make sure to take a look at Universal's other properties to see if there's something that better suits your family (for example, Cabana Bay may appeal to children a bit more). This hotel is best for couples looking for a romantic getaway, or really anyone looking for a scenic, relaxing hotel with nice rooms that has all the benefits of an on-site Universal hotel. I'd definitely love to stay here again next time I come to Universal.

Room Tip: 2-bedroom Kids suites are available (Despicable Me themed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, yesterday
I am truly delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and pleased you took advantage of some of the many amenities we provide.

Thank you for recommended the Loews Portofino Bay Hotel and I hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A bit late on this review.

Beautiful property. The room was great. Nice large bathroom. Service was impeccable. Very friendly. Wouldn't recommend getting club level though. Just not worth the extra money.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPBHManager, General Manager at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly our friendly and helpful team members. We would value the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#16 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#39 Business Hotel in Orlando
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate la dolce vita — the sweet life — at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®. Located at Universal Orlando® Resort, this luxurious hotel re-creates the charm and romance of the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy, right down to the cobblestone streets and outdoor cafes. Hotel guests enjoy spacious guest rooms featuring authentic Italian furnishings, impeccable and attentive service, an opulent spa, three themed swimming pools and exceptional dining. Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including: * Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required)* Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time * And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.