We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Wow, i have been a business traveler now for over thirty years and have never been treated like this, ever. We booked early for a conference, along with multiple early day arrival to try and get a simple king size bed. Even though at reservation, our contact commented that it was good we called when we did to lock in our room, it carried zero weight. The manager at check in "Gabriel E." treated us as liars. He wanted to see our confirmation email, which we showed him. He knew that it would not directly state the room type, as he intimated. But, we make a call, prepay for our room, we are told info, and then we receive a confirmation number. Why would we think any different. The simple truth is, our conference, which i am sure booked at least 250 rooms, received a discount, so we were booted. Even that is ok, but come on man, treat us with a little respect as you take the greenbacks out of our back pocket.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    307
    127
    61
    53
See reviews for
712
216
7
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel ideal for visiting universal studios. Visited December 14 with family kids aged 6 and 7. Rooms large and comfortable. Harbour area was lovely with restaurants, bar and shops. Nice and easy to hop on a boat five minutes to universal and with the fast pass included in the hotel stay hardly any queuing and early access before open to public!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

least # of kids and teens; most beautiful; lots of food choices; 4 pools; spacious rooms; comfortable beds and great toiletries. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. No longer can get hot chocolate for keurigs though, and they would only bring 1 type of tea - we'll bring our own next time. The early park access is the BEST benefit. I love the easy park access via boat, pedicab, or walking.

Room Tip: Ask for the WEST wing - it's closest to the boat landing
See more room tips
Green Features: nice, bonus - no other comment .......................................................................................................................................
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

great family hotel. rooms are lush and very large. the club room is well worth the additional cost-serves breakfast/snacks and drinks in the evening
pool area is great and staff are very attentive. stayed twice

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Amazing place to stay with a short water taxi ride to the parks entrance

Friendly service everywhere

We ate at Sal's regularly and enjoyed the sun setting and the opera. Really romantic

Fabulous gelato at the geleteria

Great small pool at the end of the west wing.

Tried to upgrade us as they were aware of our anniversary. No rooms available but made us aware of it and shared their congratulations .

No negatives. Whatsoever

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olrando
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's a beautiful hotel. The rooms are quite pricey but it's to be expected. Beware of the 900 SF 'Parlor Suite' which is just 2 rooms with an adjoining door and 2 room charges as opposed to 1 room with all charges.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It should always be known that vacations will have hidden surprises and this was no exception. Service here was wonderful from the front desk and valet to the pool side service. Great place to stay if you like the opportunity to visit Universal without the trouble of driving. Thanks for giving my family a weekend they will always remember as a great time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#17 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#37 Business Hotel in Orlando
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#88 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate la dolce vita — the sweet life — at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®. Located at Universal Orlando® Resort, this luxurious hotel re-creates the charm and romance of the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy, right down to the cobblestone streets and outdoor cafes. Hotel guests enjoy spacious guest rooms featuring authentic Italian furnishings, impeccable and attentive service, an opulent spa, three themed swimming pools and exceptional dining. Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including: * Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required)* Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time * And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.