We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Olrando
1 review
“excellent stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is our favorite hotel in Florida! We visit here at least 2/3 times a year and we are never disappointed. The staff is exceptional and rooms & pool areas are absolutely gorgeous! The parks are directly connected to the hotel which makes this such an easy & fun vacation for all!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    223
    100
    45
    37
See reviews for
526
164
5
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my fourth trip to Universal. Previously, we had stayed at Hard Rock, Royal Pacific, and Portofino. Our last trip with Portofino was such a positive experience we decided to try it again. Unfortunately, our flight was delayed going into Orlando and we were checking in at around 11pm. We had requested a bay view room in hopes of receiving a patio room on the first floor. When asked about the room we found out they were reserved for those traveling with pets. At first, this was concerning as my mother has a pet allergy. We were assured however, the rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and we would have no issue. There was a room with a king bed only but we were offered a cot for free (we declined but appreciated the gesture). We gladly accepted the patio room and boy was it a wonderful decision! Since our last trip, the rooms were redone and looked beautiful. We had done a grocery order from Orlando Grocer and the hotel held it for us all day and had a mini refrigerator. (It costs $15/day but our fees were waived). The air in the hotel could be cranked down lower than most hotels so we were able to sleep comfortably. Our views were wonderful as we had a view of the boat dock and the Christmas tree. Bathrooms were large and spacious and we enjoyed the robes waiting for us. You cannot beat the boat transportation to the parks except we did have an issue with a captain named "Bob" who was rather rude and extremely slow. The express passes included were wonderful, you could do everything you wanted all in one day. However, the concierge was closed at this time of night and we were told to wait till the morning to get our tickets for the parks.. This was concerning as the parks opened up early and we did not want to miss any time there. Luckily, we had a helpful gentleman who was a bellman get our tickets for us. I would, however, recommend you should be able to get your park tickets at any time of the day. We went to Sal's a few times and overall enjoyed looking out at our rooms. Be sure to request first floor patio rooms if you want to enjoy what we had. Do not be concerned about pet allergies! If we ever go back to Universal Orlando, we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Bay view and request the first floor patio pet rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: They needed separate cans for recycling items. We tried to separate cans from trash as much as we could.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Let me start by saying the staff was very nice and helpful. But that is where the good ends. I have stayed at Loews Royal Pacific on separate occasions and was quite satisfied. I expected an even better experience here considering the significant increase in room rates. We checked in at 4.00pm on Sunday 12-7-14. Here we go :-(

1. Our room had a filthy comforter and holes in the bed sheets. We contacted the front desk and they immediately moved us.

2. Our second room also had stains on the bed sheets which they changed to our satisfaction. They did however throw the dirty linens out in the hall for the night.

3. There was trash on the floor behind the room trash container such as sugar packs and coupons, Indicating the floor had not been vacuumed.

4. The toilet was not very clean showing signs of matter in the bowl.

5. There were dripping stains on the bathroom wall next to the toilet that were disgusting and tried NOT to guess what it could have been.

6. The in room safe did not work when we tried to secure valuables. There was a piece of tape on the backside of the door dated 9-01-13. I am sure this was the last time the battery for the keypad was replaced.

7. The handset on the cordless phone was dead.

8. The window cranks and mechanisms were broken.

9. There was cobwebs and what appeared to be mold on the inside of the window casements. They were disgusting.

10. When the toilet in our room as well as nearby rooms flushed, you would here it in the sink drain.

11. The desk had residue on a good part of clearly indicating it had not been wiped clean prior to our arrival.

12. The Universal times and info provided in room was from the previous month.

13. What appeared to be mold or mildew in the shower.

As I had mentioned in the hotels customer satisfaction survey, We were only there for a 3 day theme park vacation and did not want to spend our time chasing these issues. I have some photos but I am not going to post them here. After completing the survey, I received what I felt was a sincere attempt by Mr. Dennis Yu, the hotels Guest Services Manger, to discuss the shortcomings of our stay.
He asked for a valid contact phone number from me and a time to call, Which I readily provided. This was on December 12 and as of this post I have yet to hear from Mr. Yu. Don't indicate you wish for resolve and not follow through. HIGHLY unprofessional. Some of my friends have advised me to contact my credit card issuer. THAT would get some attention I'm sure.
In conclusion, I am a 54 year old male and I am a Loews YouFirst member. My wife travels exstensively for her work and is a Hilton Honors Gold Level member. We could have stayed anywhere we would have liked on points alone but chose to spend several hundred dollars a night to stay at Loews Portofino Bay to be onsite at Universal studios.Very sad.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We visited with an 80 grandmother and with young teenagers. It was perfect. My mom took the boat ride to the park entrance and returned trip several times throughout the day for the fun of it. The kids enjoyed the park and pool. The rooms where spacious. The food is much better than expected at hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Loews Hotels and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'll start by saying that I have visited Orlando extensively over the past 10 years, visiting 2-3 times per year. The Portofino is my favourite hotel.

From the moment you arrive, the atmosphere is lovely and relaxing. The subtle Italian music in the background, calm atmosphere and pleasant staff make this possible.

- Rooms - the rooms are amazing. Very comfortable, large bed - perfect after a day in the parks.

- Location - the river boat to Citywalk for park access is regular and comfortable, the staff on the boat are always pleasant and give tips - sometimes with funny jokes to brighten your morning.

- Dining - we ate at the poolside bar, the service was a little slow, but good and the food portions were large and excellent quality. Mama Della's is great to pick up a snack or food, they have great olives in here!

Pool area - perfect after a day in the parks.

I can't recommend a stay here anymore. This was our 3rd stay and already booked for next year.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The main benefit of the Portofino Bay is its position, just a 5 minute boat ride or 10 minute walk from the enmtrance of Universal Studios. That shouldn't, however, detract from the fact that it is an excellent hotel in its own right.

There are a number of good restaurants including Bice at which you can nevr go wrong. The pool area is also everything that you could want when having a rest from the stresses and strains of the theme park.

Unfortunately we had some exceptionally chilly weather when visiting in early December meaning we couldn't take full advantage but we still very much enjoyed our stay.

I think it is worth paying the additional fee for a lake view room as this is what sets the hotel aside from the other on-site offerings. The Christmas tree by the lake was also impressive.

The hotel offers the fast pass and early entry option for the theme parks which is good nd allows you to do the busiest rides before the masses arrive.

We also hired a car whilst at the hotel as we needed to drive to Miami to catch a flight. This was excelptionally easy and painless.

Room Tip: Get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently my family and I went on a vacation to Disney World and Universal Studios in Orlando, Fla., and stayed 5 nights at Lowe's Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal. The hotel itself sits on a small bay within the Universal complex, and replicates the town of Portofino, Italy. Having been to the "real" Portofino in Italy twice, the designers did a truly wonderful job in replicating the charm of Portofino. Everything about our experience was first rate, from the check-in, to the bell service, to the eateries, to the concierge. Each day you can take a water taxi ride from the hotel to the Universal entry gates, which in and of itself is a pleasure. In addition, by staying at this site, you receive complimentary "Fast Passes" for the Universal Studios rides, as well as gain early 1 hour admission before the park opens to the general public to explore the latest Harry Potter World.
Bottom line-I would highly recommend travelers to look into Portofino Bay as a great place to stay. It might cost a little more than some of the other hotels, but the service, atmosphere, and perks such as Early Admission and Fast Pass for my money are definetely worth it!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando

Address: 5601 Universal Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Orlando
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#22 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#34 Business Hotel in Orlando
#58 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#96 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate la dolce vita — the sweet life — at Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando®. Located at Universal Orlando® Resort, this luxurious hotel re-creates the charm and romance of the famed seaside village of Portofino, Italy, right down to the cobblestone streets and outdoor cafes. Hotel guests enjoy spacious guest rooms featuring authentic Italian furnishings, impeccable and attentive service, an opulent spa, three themed swimming pools and exceptional dining. Hotel guests also enjoy an exclusive package of theme park benefits, including: * Early Park Admission† to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter™, one hour before the theme park opens (valid theme park admission required)* Universal Express ride access* to skip the regular lines throughout both theme parks - a FREE benefit worth up to $87 per person, per day (valid theme park admission required)* Complimentary water taxis or shuttle buses to make getting around the resort fast and easy so you can make the most of your time * And more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Portofino Bay Resort
Portofino Orlando
Portofino Bay Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Portofino Bay Hotel at Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.