We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but my bed sucked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X Points & WiFi Included
Ranked #179 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, but my bed sucked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Overall I would have rated this hotel excellent, but I was not satisfied with the comfort of my bed. Something just seemed off from the start, it felt like it was lopsided and very hard. The linens also did not fit on the bed properly. Elevators seemed to take forever to arrive. Great location, felt more upscale than most Orlando hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear JosephOIndianapolis,

Thank you so much for your comments. I truly apologize that there was an issue with the comfrot of your bed and the quality of the linens. We have recently ordered all new linens for the hotel and I belive there will be no more issues with the fit. The next time you are coming to Orlando, let me know and I will have our Housekeeping manager make sure the room is perfect.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    835
    458
    193
    120
See reviews for
871
579
61
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We travelled to Orlando and wanted to do Universal so stayed at the Doubletree for 2 nights. Great location. I think apart from the Universal hotels, this must be the closest to the park. The room itself was great. Clean. And the view was amazing coz we could see the park from our window. Highly recommended. Wonderful place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear FrankZ6,

I am so happy that our location added to your overall enjoyment of your vacation. Beiung across from Universal studios is a great plus!! Thank you so much for your review, I have shared it with our staff.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! Although we rarely used the room as universal studios is entertainment enough.

Firstly the beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms spacious and clean! I was greatly impressed with the staff and the hotel in general!

I am sad that I didn't get this cookie that everyone raves about :(!

This hotel is moments away (15 min walk) from Universal's Citywalk and 2 theme parks. Wet and Wild is around a 30/40 minute walk away!

TGI Fridays is literally next door to the hotel and we dined there twice during our visit!

Just some points that made me uneasy:
1) unauthorized persons have access to the hotel and placed pizza menus under our door, this places guests and rooms at risk and clearly this is an issue as signs are posted in the hotel to ignore these menus!
2) We stored our bags and were uncomfortable to see that they were not locked away but instead stored in a roped off area of the lobby!

Other than these minor issues I would absolutely stay with this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear rollo_100 ,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Doubletree Universal so much that you booked another night!! Thank you so much for your response. I guarentee you the next time you visit my hotel I will have an entire tin of warm cookies waiting for you. Please let me know when you are coming!!

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is comfortable and has great amenities for the family or even singles! Pool open till 11:00 is a plus, service at front desk is helpful and very friendly! I believe Wes was the name of the guy we dealt with and he was great after a bad weekend and long drive in and made us feel worthy as a guest!

Rooms are good, clean and comfy, they are not extravagant but they are just right. Our room is over looking Universal on 15'Th floor and are conjoined due to us having 2 rooms and six people. We didn't even have to ask for this as it was suggested and done! Walk to Universal in 10-15 minutes top is another plus. Lots of restaurants on property and in area. Safe and secure. If you are coming to Orlando with the kids you are at the right place. When we come back I will not go anywhere else..

Thank you Doubletree!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear wctraveler21,

I am so glad that you were "very pleased" to stay with us at our Doubletree at Universal. Thank you very much for pointing out what a great help Wes was. he is an excellent employee and I have shared this with him. We hope you will come back and see us again the next time your travels bring you to Orlando.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed @ the double tree hilton at the entrance to universal studios in orlando florida June 25,-30th 2013. Hotel was clean, front desk staff was AMAZING Louis, catherine, nigel, and evening shift (ex-brooklyner) Linda you guys were the BEST! great place to eat Carrabba's, just a 5 minute walk from your hotel. every night we would walk to Universal "CITY WALK" its a 15 minute walk crossing 3 major streets. the walk is very lovely (not sure if young children would enjoy and keep up with this 15 minute walk one way) if you drive to city walk you will pay $15.00 to park ( trust me walking better) lots of shops, restaurants, candy stores, ect.. City Walk is FREE , you are just outside the gates of universal studio. you will have your backpacks, purses, strollers, check by security before entering "CITY WALK" orlando it rains EVERYDAY, sometimes like a Hurricane then 20 minutes later it stops and the sun comes out again. I would bring a plastic poncho if you plan on going to Universal Studios or Disney. it will be a lot cheaper. IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Jamie L,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property. Louis, catherine Nigel Linda and the entire staff are so glad you had such a wonderful time. Please let uis know the next time you will be coming so we can block your room for you.

Best Regards,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have the experience of working in hotel in Ireland dublin and London , the Doubletree hotel was a frist class hotel . The check - was first class after flying from England about Nine hours the cookies are the best cookies we have had. The room was very large and beds fit for a queen . The fridge was great for complimentary water .The hotel was very quite , and you sleep like sheep , the parking was really easy because it was right out front. The front of house staff where always helpful,and friendly . The courtyard was relaxing . The pool everyone delight . You can take a delightful walk to universal , only about ten minutes from the hotel . Where harry potters and friends a wait your company . I guess I would say that coming from England but its like your in the movie yourself , and your country or county does not make a difference , you can fly on that broom stick if you believe , and I was up up up and away . The stay a the doubletree was magic , and made all are dreams . A great big thank you from the Minte family from Hampshire

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis E, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Hampshireukminte,

We here at the Doubletree Universal are so happy that you had such a first class experience at our hotel. Thank you so much for your review. We promise to make your next stay with us just as magical. please let us know when you are coming back.

Sincerely,

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for our vacation very 1st time in orlando customer service was great even got uogradded to a higher floor at no extra charge. The area was very convenient to highways, food, and drug store even tho we didnt go to universal they offer scheduled shuttles and if u didnt want to take the shuttle cab ride is a $5 flate rate ride the only issue I had was the tub ahad a very slow drain we had to wait almost a half hr after every shower each (there were 3 of us) before we were able to get in the showr. Overall experience was great and look forward to staying there again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Orlando
#145 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.