We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Add Breakfast + WiFi
Ranked #178 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was staying here for a conference. First off, the manager was extremely nice and accommodating. Our flight in was cancelled due to weather and we missed a night of our reservation and he didn't hassle us and took the charge off no questions asked.

The hotel itself was nice enough. The pool area was very nice and the location was good, directly across from Universal. The rooms were alright. A little outdated, the furniture looked worn down.

I also experienced a few real negatives during my stay. One was there was hair all over the shower wall (not mine) and I didn't notice it until I was in the shower. I called down to the desk asking if someone could come clean it. No one came. Late in the afternoon I called again saying I wanted to make sure this was done before my next shower....No one came. That evening I asked the manager at the front desk to take care of it. NO ONE CAME. The next morning I once again took a shower with someone elses hair smeared all over the place. Left my room as I had to go to the conference and figured OK, they'll clean it when they clean my room...Did not happen. It was still there after someone came to clean my room. I called the desk now pissed, and someone finally cam to clean it.

Second, the first morning I wake up to take a shower and the water was cold. I had to wait a half hour for someone to show up and fix the boiler making me late for my first session of the conference. Next day SAME THING! This time someone came up faster though.

The breakfast place is also insanely out of control expensive and not worth it. Do not eat there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Nicoleb610,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I have shared your comments with our Engineering team and our Housekeeping team. They are working to make sure items such as the cleanliness of the shower and the temperature of the water does not happen again. I am sorry that we did not respond to your initial requests for service.
NicoleB610 I am sorry about your experience and I do thank you for your feedback from the stay as it will help us improve.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    933
    538
    226
    135
See reviews for
974
651
71
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The building looks tired on the outside, but our room was perfect and appeared to be newly renovated. The carpet and bedding were both fresh. My 9-year-old loved seeing Universal out the window (you have to ask for this view).

We walked to the theme park each day and took the free shuttle home at night. You can walk to a variety of eateries and to a drug store, meaning we didn't need a car for our stay. Because there is a mini-fridge in the room, we saved money by eating breakfast in -- yogurt, fruit, cereal and milk.

Tips:
* If you plan to use the hotel's free shuttle bus to get to Universal, book your shuttle reservation early. They fill up fast.
* You need a shuttle ticket from the hotel concierge in order to take the bus home at night.

Our critiques:
* A microwave would make the room even more usable for meals in.
* The hotel needs a "curfew" -- a time beyond which people cannot make noise in the hallways. A group on our floor was partying until the wee hours of the morning. I had to call the front desk on more than one night to report excessive noise. (To the hotel's credit: when I called, they responded quickly.)

Overall, this hotel was a great value for the money we spent. We had toyed with the idea of staying at a Universal onsite property, but decided not to spend the extra money, since we would be at the theme parks all day (and not spending much time at the hotel to make the extra expense worth it). My son says this Doubletree is his favorite hotel EVER.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you need more space. They seem to be a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear BoulderTravelMom,
Thank you very for your feedback about your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal. We are pleased to hear that your child loved seeing Universal out of the window, I bet he woke up every day and that was the first thing he did. We are sorry about the noise in the hallway from the group on the floor. We do take each call from guest seriously and react as quickly as possible.
BoulderTravelMom, thank you again for your feedback and if your travels bring you back to Orlando again please let us know.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visited the hotel because it was the location of the conference that I was attending and I felt the quality of the hotel was really sub par. For one thing, if anyone would like to have internet access, forget about it. There was only one area of the hotel in the main lobby that signal is easily accessible, and when there you have to register your room number and get only 24 hours of access. If you chose to pay for it(which I would), you can only use it on 1 device such as laptop. Cell phones and tablets or other computers would be not allowed to have access.
Also, cleanliness of the room could have been better. The plug was broken (chargers just fell right out), and the bath tub had stains on it.
On a positive note, the beds were comfortable and clean and the TV in the room was very nice. The conference center was also really conducive and the staff well trained to handle the conference.
Overall, good conference center, but rooms need an update.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Carly F,
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I am sorry about your experience with the internet service; we are currently working on upgrading our internet service and should have it completed by December 7th. We are adding additional bandwidth and making it easier to log on in the public areas of the hotel. I have spoken with our engineering and housekeeping team about the issues you experienced and I am sorry about them, they will be working harder to make sure these types of items are not missed.
Carly F, thank you again for the feedback we very much appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wow what a great hotel. My first trip to the states and gave a great first impression of this wonderful country!! The hotel was very busy with both holiday makers and business guests. Very smart hotel, rooms huge and kept clean by the wonderful staff. Pool area large for those rest days, which you will need between parks!! All staff very helpful, in particular the guest booking staff for events, gave me and my friend great tips to save money. About 10 - 15 mins walk to Universal and Trolley stop just outside linking you to all of Orlando I Drive, the Lynx 42 bus to florida mall and Lynx 111 to Disney (jump on outside Double tree at Seaworld). Taxi to Disney around $30 depending what time you get one, but much cheaper than driving!! Enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Rebs1983,
Thank you for the five star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We are so glad that your vacation and your stay with us was great. Thank you for choosing us for your first trip to Orlando with all the choices there are you decided to stay with us and that does mean a lot to us, thank you very much.
Rebs1983 if your travels bring you back again please let us know.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have just arrived back from a two week stay at the double tree by Universal. I rarely write reviews on places but couldn't resist this time as my stay was so amazing!! I loved the big comfy king sized beds and the size of the room as well as the views from the window. The room was cleaned every day with beds made and fresh towels etc. The cookie on arrival was yummy and I was ready for that after the long journey! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and were always very friendly and approachable. The ladies on the help desk were great and gave us top advice on how to save some money whilst visiting the parks / using transport etc. Great location and we walked to universal and city walk every time as it was only a nice 15 minute stroll away. We didn't hire a car so I was a bit worried about relying on public transport but the double tree has a i-ride trolley stop just outside. Oh and also the pool was lovely and quiet so it was great for those days when our feet needed a rest from all the walking. Easy enough to grab snacks and drinks too and the Starbucks is very handy! Getting around from here was so easy. I will deffinately be recommending this hotel to all of my friends and hope to visit again soon. Whoever has written a bad review on this hotel must need their heads seeing to as there really is nothing to fault. Thank you double tree and to all of your fabulous staff for the best holiday ever! xxx

Room Tip: Higher rooms - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Elise B,
Thank you for the five star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I have shared your comments with our staff about your stay; we are all pleased that you had a great time at the hotel and at Universal. I think most of our staff would also agree that the Starbucks is very handy; I know that most of them are there at least twice a day if not more.
Elise B, thank you again for the great review and next time your travels bring you to Orlando please let us know.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've stayed here many times for various business meetings. Every time I am satisfied.

Great location, especially for Universal Studios. Nearby Ale House is meh, but acceptable.

Get ready for the additional fees: valet or self parking, internet, etc. The Starbucks in the lobby is nice, although the prices are jacked up and they closed rather early in the afternoon last time I was there. Maybe their hours depend on the vacancy rate.

The lobby and bar are nice and updated. The rooms have decent furniture but overall need some repairs. It took a few hours before I realized that the small refrigerator is actually covered by faux drawers below the TV. D'oh!

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor facing Universal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Chad T,
Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We are looking at the possibility of offering different tiers of internet pricing when we finish installing the new Hilton Stay Connected High Speed Internet Access.
Chad T, thank you again for your comments and when your travels bring you back please let me know.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here on business, and really enjoyed it. The service was top-notch, and I really enjoyed having a Starbucks in the lobby when I was on my way out the next morning. The rooms could definately use a bit of renovation, but for the price I paid, it was an excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, General Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear FSUSean,
Thank you very much for your five star review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I have shared your comments about the service you received with our managers. A lot of guests would also agree with you about having the Starbucks in the lobby, the smell of fresh brewed coffee each morning sort of pulls you into the store.
FSUSean thank you again for your feedback and if your travels find you in Orlando again please let us know.

Best Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#148 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.