We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando to your Saves list
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Add Breakfast + WiFi
Ranked #178 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Destin, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Not a lot to say about the hotel, but it was perfect for what we needed. Close to Universal, rooms are clean, food and bev easily available. Self parking is easy. Although, the tile floor in the bathrooms are very slippery and I smashed my shin when exiting the shower. I almost called security...that's how bad it was. I bucked up, but limped around Universal all day. Staff was very friendly and overall good stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    933
    538
    226
    135
See reviews for
974
651
71
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have nothing but good things to sya about this hotel. First, you can't beat the location. You are right across the street from Universal, City Walk, and Islands of Adventure. From my room on the 18th floor I had a beautiful view of the parks. The rooms are nice with big comfy beds. The staff is great. We were greated as soon as we pulled our car up, given cookies at check in, and when we were leaving, we were helped with our bags. If you are planning a vacation to Universal, definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for staying here at the Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were vacationing with another family and picked the hotel since it was close to Universal Studios. Hotel is a little older but well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Great hot tub and your kids will love the pool. Unlike most hotels, it is nice and big. What really stood out was the service. The front desk staff was very friendly. I also liked they had plenty of people at the front desk so I did not have to wait. We really had some excellent service in the lounge. We stopped by for a drink and started complaining that a pizza we ordered (from a pizza place outside the hotel) did not arrive. The bartender (Vin) proceeded to get an order of pizza in for us and even took it out to our kids at the pool. Just great service! We also had some wonderful service in the restaurant for breakfast. In fact, one day I was talking about we did not have directions to the airport. Without saying anything, the waiter came back with printed directions from the hotel to the airport. When you don't have to ask for something, that is service. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for staying with us at the Doubletree B y Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Vin was helpful! I’ll be sure to share your comments with him. Can't wait to see you on your next visit to Orlando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Pros: Great location for visiting the Universal parks. Really, the only off-site hotel that you can walk from easily. Or a cab is only $5. We also found the employees to be very helpful and friendly. Our reservation and billing were accurate, check-in and check-out a breeze. The room was also larger than some and had a refrigerator. The breakfast in the restaurant was much better than expected--try the banana pancakes.
Cons: Room could really use a thorough cleaning in the short term (carpets shampooed, cleaned under and behind the bed, clean the sofa), and an updating quite soon. Beds were hard and the air conditioning was very loud. Also, I bought the weekly wi-fi for $20, but they wanted to charge me extra for using another device. Though the lobby area was very clean, the restaurant carpet was disgusting (like the carpet in our room).
If you get a low rate, it's worth it for the convenience of being this close to Universal at 1/3 the cost of an on-site hotel. It's more than adequate if you don't expect too much.

Room Tip: We had a view of Universal Studios from an upper floor. Really enjoyed that. Ask for Universal view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. I’m happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. We are actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Orlando].
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stay at the Doubletree frequently when in town for business . Nice location,easy to get to from I-4 and or Turnpike . It is an older property and could use some updates in certain areas , but does offer amenities that most of the other hotels nearby don't have . Nice lobby,with lot of sitting areas ,nice pool and patio areas outside ,with a very large hot tub . Does have a bar and restaurant on site,as well as a Starbucks ,and several within easy walking distance ,which can be a big convenience in Orlando if you don't want to get out and drive at night . Very friendly and accomodating staff everytime I've visited ,as well as a little better than average service for Hilton Honors members . Full bell service is always available when you enter as well .Not too happy with the lack of free internet in rooms,although it is available in the lobby. In todays hotel world that should be a gimme ,you can get free wi fi in a Sleep Inn room. Another complaint that seems to be an issue for most is the parking fees that they charge , but it does seem to make the parking lots more secure,and they also offer valet service .The rooms do need a little updating,but they are clean and comfortable with nice beds and bedding,and nice TV's as well . Bathrooms are on the small side ,but do have nicer than average toiletries . All in all a good clean hotel ,that I've always felt safe in ,and never had any real troubles at when staying there.

Room Tip: Higher floors in north tower offer nice views of Universal Studios as well as surrounding area . Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thanks for returning to the Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando. A return guest is something we strive for. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

You can't really complain about the hotel itself because it's your run of the mill 3-star hotel. Our room was clean and the lobby was spacious and welcoming.

We booked the hotel because of it's vicinity to Universal Studios...BUT! The free shuttle to the parks left in weird increments in the morning and only had three pick-up times for the evening. None of the evening times were convenient unless you wanted to stay until the very end of the day or after the park closed. If you want to leave early, you'll have to cab it because the "quick walk" isn't quick at all and isn't pedestrian friendly.

Please expect to PAY for parking and not a nominal $5 hotel guest rate but $12 PER DAY Average-Joe-Who-Walks-off-the-Street Rate! They have a big lot in the middle of nowhere so it's not like parking there is a privilege. Also, having to swipe your room key to get in and out of the parking lot is a major inconvenience especially in the rain.

One last thing that irked me was the concierge/front desk personnel's "helpfulness". Neither one was able to give us clear instructions on how to get around and when asked, the front desk gave us a sheet with vague directions to local attractions and the concierge didn't have a map. What kind of a hotel doesn't have a map? Yes, they had the large eagle view map of tourist traps and theme parks, but nothing with actual street names on it. Bring a GPS!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

First, the Doubletree was the only hotel in the immediate area that charged for parking. Next, I was not able to bring my laptop and so planned to use the business center to check email etc. Imagine my surprise when I learned that the cost would be .59 a minute! When our reserved room was not ready at 3 pm we asked where we could get a cup of coffee while we waited. We were told that the Starbucks closed at 3 pm and the snack bar opened at 4 pm so there was NOTHING they could do. Really? Later we asked the concierage about obtaining tickets for Disney's Epcot Center. He casually informed us that he thought we could probably purchase them at the gate, but he only knew about Universal. Really?

Room Tip: Bring a laptop unless you want to pay $.59 a minute to use the business center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeUniversal, Manager at Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your honest review. While we do charge for parking we also offer packages that include parking and guest room internet in the rate. Because we are a Universal Partner Hotel we cannot sell tickets to the Disney parks. Our check in time is 4pm and while our staff tries very hard to make rooms available early it is sometimes not possible. Again we thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando

Address: 5780 Major Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#148 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando 3.5*
Number of rooms: 742
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton At The Entrance To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree
Doubletree Universal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.