We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnnie's Hideaway

Johnnie's Hideaway
12551 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32836 (Lake Buena Vista)
+1 407-827-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Johnnie's Hideaway is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #487 of 3,180 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Lake Buena Vista
Cross street: Crossroads Shopping Center
Description: Johnnie's Hideaway is created in the image of time honored Florida flavors with emphasis on Floribbean coastal cuisine, serving hand cut dry aged steaks, prime seafood and an extensive raw bar featuring Florida stone crab claws. Johnnie's unique tableside cart service along with an award winning wine list can be enjoyed inside surrounded by authentic Florida Highwayman art or lakeside on the tiki deck.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“exceptional service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we have visited Johnnie's before and had a fantastic dining experience. So we certainly were not surprised. But the service continues to be exceptional ... solicitous without being overbearing. And the food was exceptional once again. Two of us had steak and two of us had seafood. Everyone came away pleased.

I have frequented hundreds of restaurants throughout Florida and Johnnie's is easily among the top 10. I have recommended it to many and will continue to do so. Keep it up! It is deeply appreciated!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    175
    96
    66
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
orlando
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our visit to Johnnies Hideaway was one we'll never forget. We come to Orlando every year for our wedding anniversary. Our concierge recommended we try Johnnies for dinner after asking for a place to dine outside the hotel. It was a disaster! 


Our server must have been having a bad day, which made our experience very uncomfortable. She just "took our order" after taking the time to talk the specials to her other table. When we asked her if there were any specials, she just pointed at the upper corner of the menu. So we just awkwardly ordered. My wife got the salmon which had a disgusting topping on it that we were not made aware of, and it was cold raw in the center. My lobster tails were mushy and smelled of ammonia! It took our waitress 15 minutes to check on us after someone just dropped the food off and ran. She sighed under her apology and took the disgusting over priced dishes off the table. We just asked for our check paid it and left. No manager visited our table or anything. We ended up going to the Red Lobster across the way. What a disapointment. 


We should have payed attention to the reviews on here. What a tourist trap. We don't want to mention any names, but we will be addressing the corporate office with our complaint. We can understand the food being off, but the rudeness of that waitress ruined our anniversary dinner. What a shame!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pt. Pleasant NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food;FUN night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just returned from a week in Orlando-we wanted to try stone crabs for the first time. Johnny's Hideaway was recommended and it was one of the best dining experiences in our travels. I worked as a chef for 22 yrs and I can be a harsh critic. Right off the bat we appreciated the valet parking after spending 1 hr. plus in traffic as the area is very congested. Secondly, the complimentary amuse bouche was a lovely and delicious touch. The stone crab exceeded our expectations but the evening would not have been the same without our wonderfully fun waitress Linda(from NY). She had a GREAT personality and an uncanny ability to anticipate our every need. The drink and dessert sizes were huge- if you don't have room for dessert please take home a piece of the coconut/pineapple cake-5 layers-I ate it for the next 4 days!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have visited Johnnys Hideaway a few times in the past while on holiday in orlando, and always loved it, this year was no exception. In fact we found time to visit on two evenings, once with family to make a foursome and once as a couple. We had great food and excellent service on both evenings from two different servers (David and Missy). Some of the best steaks we have ever eaten, including those I have enjoyed in South Africa. Prices are reasonable and we love the outdoor bar with its firepits for an after dinner drink to round off the evening. Well done, and thanksfor the wonderful memories.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Take money and an appetite and go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We don't normally spend a hundred and fifty bucks without alcohol at a restaurant. But we did here and loved it. Get David as your waiter. Sit by the water. Order the Moroccan shrimp. I'm not lying when I say they are as big as your hand. Steak and lobster was fabulous. You need the key lime pie...oh and forgot appetizers of an order of coconut shrimp and crab cakes.

This is not a place to bring the brats. When I pay this much for dinner for two, I don't wanna hear whining. If you can afford the dinner, spring for the babysitter, people.

It's a lovely place, but we weren't turned away in decent shorts and golf shirts. Outdoors on the water is pretty if you don't mind inhaling second hand smoke. Since I do, I opted for inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Hideaway also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Johnnie's Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnnie's Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.