We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Coronado Springs Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Stevensville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It had been over 10 years since we had been to a Disney Resort and may I say a lot has change. I have always praised the outstanding service that Disney had and was famous for. On this trip we were greeted to rude maids who wanted to clean the room while we were still dressing and then became upset when we asked her to come back later. There were also some quality control issues that were surprising like very slick walkways from the soap mixture they had used, no warning signs that the area was wet, and some dangerous pot holes in the walkways to the bus stop. For the price that a Disney vacation cost I excepted better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I exercise every morning and walk or elliptical every day, so don't picture a wheezing fatty who objects to some exercise.

First, the two stars is solely because the staff was great. Everyone was nice. Everyone lived up to the Disney standards. So much so that I almost hate to write the rest of this.

After a day of tromping around the parks and getting blisters, then the twenty minute standing room only bus ride to get back to Coronado, you can look forward to a possible half-mile hike back to your room. And if you want a snack or something? Yeah, same thing.

And no, none of the golf-cart guys are going to pick you up. If they ever did, they don't anymore.

The Pepper Market and Rix food is gross kiddie-food. Cheap in quality but not in price. Is it too much to ask that if you're paying to stay at a nearly $200 a night resort we can't have some quality food? Something besides pizza and soft-serve or greasy fried/grilled stuff. Go eat the breakfast at the Dolphins Fresh Mediterranean place to see what I mean. That place has fresh juicing (green and/or fruit!) omelets to order, coffee pot set on your table, Oatmeal bar!, and more.

Maya Grill is just a shame. What they could have if they brought in a real Mexico City chef who cared about quality ingredients, banned sour cream.... But no, It's the same icky faux-mexican food you'd avoid back home, complete with that culinary cop-out known as "spanish rice", except you're eating it in a beautiful place. The contrast is stunning. Save your money.

Don't plan on the quiet pool actually being quiet. People will bring their children there and allow them to scream and get in your space just like everywhere else at WDW.

For your own sake, don't ignore the "...and Convention Center" part of the title. At 2 a.m. and on I was awakened by screaming, laughing people outside my room as they streamed out of some dance to their cars. And I was on the other side of the lake from the convention center.

This is a value resort that LOOKS like a moderate. The grounds are beautiful. The room wasn't awful, though the mattress was curved into a bowl on one side from use.

Either save the money and just stay at a resort that's actually labeled "Value", or pony up and do a Deluxe. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Carlisle, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Coronado Springs was a fun, family environment. 2 different pools - one for kids and one for adults. Lots of poolside activities for kids during the day. Beautiful lagoon in the middle. Make sure to wait at bus station 2 when loading to go to the parks. It is the first one to load and unload so you'll always have a sit! The first stop is overly crowded and you may have to wait 30+ min for a bus. The breakfast buffet is a must! As well as the travel mugs. Free refills during your entire stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsLindsayClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
882 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 484 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently had the chance to stay at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort while attending Florida Hospital's Golden Gala, a fundraiser benefiting the Florida Hospital Foundation. This was our second stay at the hotel, the prior being about 3 years ago, for a conference.

I wish I could say I was impressed; but, honestly I don't understand the whole Disney mistique. Disney's Imagineers are very good at designing venues that get people through a queue as quickly as possible; and, separating those same people from their hard-earned money. But, beyond that, there isn't much "magical" happening as far as I can see.

For example, at check-in, I parked the car under the porte cochere as you would at any other hotel. I proceeded the football-field distance to the check-in, waiting in the queue; and, was promptly and quickly checked-in. I was provided a mountain of informational papers; and, sent on my way. When I came out, my wife told me that the valet suggested she move the car, or he would have to move it for her (if I wasn't back in 5 minutes.) Where was I supposed to park? Oh, over where it clarly states 30-minute parking... how could I have missed that?

Then, we proceed to our "premium" room, which was located in Cabana 1, right next to the event -- SUPER! Well, since all the employees working the gala had already filled up the parking spaces for Cabanas 1, 2, 3, and 4; I had to park at Cabana 5 after dropping my family off in front of Cabana 1. Hikiing back more than 1/4 mile to my room (NIke app on the iPhone), I was less than impressed. The woman in the Range Rover screaming at the parking attendendant about the parking fiasco didn't help either.

Now, don't let the name throw you, the cabana isn't a small hut at all. In fact, it is a large tenement (a large residential building) with dozens of rooms on multiple floors. And, the cabanas are spread out over a vast complex encircling the lake. My sole memory of our last stay is how sore my legs and feet were walking back-and-forth to the convention center. I relived that memory on this occassion.

As for the rooms, they are quite small by today's standards; and, the bathrooms are especially small... our's was equipped with a handicap access door; and, it barely cleared the commode and the bath! The one good thing about the bath is the generous bench for showering and toiletries. Climate control was very nice, despite the control button being broken. However, we were able to "MacGyver" it with a ball point pen! Despite the small size, we were quite comfortable, as the rooms were very clean; and, very well-maintained. The mattresses were just right; and, despite heavy foot traffic outside, the rooms were very quiet.

The staff was friendly, with a fond greeting from every "cast member." However, as you would expect, the food is outrageously priced --- $3 for a soda in the vending machine; amost $4 for a "large" coffee that I don't think measures 16 ounces; nearly $5 for a croissant; and, nearly $7 for a "personal" pizza that is barely a hand's-breadth in size.

The best advce I can offer is for any visitor to enjoy the theme parks as much as they can. But, stay at the less-expensive properties available to "guests" as you won't be in the room that much.

Room Tip: Bring your running shoes, as getting around Disney's Coronado Springs Resort requires a lot of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acecafe911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A real disappointment. There is really NOTHING nice about this so called hotel. It is a huge complex reminding of a dormitory, which presents a challenge finding your room in the midst of dozens of 4 story buildings that look identical. The rooms r well below average, without even a coffee machine in the room - so if you want to get a cup of coffee in the morning, you may have to walk close to a mile to the main building. And don't count on getting the courtesy of a late checkout! Awful is an understatement ... this place will spoil your overall experience at the Disney Parks, so I highly suggest u find a decent place that is so plentiful in Orlando, at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I am a long time Disney World traveler with more than 50 stays in Walt Disney World properties - but this was my first visit to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort. I had always hesitated due to the fact that it is a "convention" hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the resort - there was no notice of a convention feel at all. The rooms were very nice with only a "hidden" Disney theme - such as "hidden" mickey heads on the bed linens. Our room was in the Cabanas area and was very clean and well maintained. Our visit was during Thanksgiving week and we found the resort to be not crowded at all. Bus transportation was acceptable and convenient to our room. The only disappointing aspect of the resort was the lack of an adequate "Quick Serve" restaurant during the dinner meal - with Cafe Rix being your only choice. Cafe Rix is a very small area and the choice are VERY limited. I much prefer the other moderate resorts for the dinnertime meal choices - but overall (meals not included) I prefer this moderate resort over all of the other moderate resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank #1bamafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First the good:
Grounds are beautiful for walking, access to Disney bus service, good on-site restaurants and cafes. The pool is great with a nice waterslide that the kids never seem tired of. The lifeguards are good, making sure the pool is safe, but still allowing the kids to have fun.
The bad:
I am convinced that the cleaning staff did not wash the drinking glasses in the room. I had to ask for disposable plastic cups to drink out of.
The HVAC did not work properly in the room. Had to turn up the heat to 89 degrees to prevent the air conditioning from turning the room into an icebox.
The hotel is built in a Spanish colonial theme, so the rooms have only one window that overlooks the walkway, like a motel, so you have to keep the curtains closed to prevent peeping toms from looking in. Also, the window does not open, so you get zero fresh air, instead relying on the faulty HVAC system.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OutCruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
3.4 mi away
Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside
2.7 mi away
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
1.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Address: 1000 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#93 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#139 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1921
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico as you follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado at this Resort hotel. Find your own mythical city of gold in a Southwestern-themed haven of brightly colored Casitas, rustic Ranchos and beachfront Cabanas encircling a glimmering 22-acre lake. Each accommodation provides a unique escape and a welcoming home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing