We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience for young and older couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Coronado Springs Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1000 W Buena Vista Dr, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great experience for young and older couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Coronado Springs Resort. We are young at heart and enjoyed the time we spent at the parks. The hotel is themed South American and the restaurants also mimic this region. The buildings are all built around a lake. We happened to have a great view of the 'beach' near the main pool. It made grabbing a quick meal easy and convenient. There is also a very nice bar at the main pool. Make a point to select a building near a bus stop. The week we were there we never ventured our in our car. We simply hopped a bus to all parks, downtown disney and any hotel for meals.

I'm completely surprised how busy all of the parks were during our stay (Nov 10-17). Perhaps it was due to the Epcot Food and Wine Festival. At any rate there were more small children than any November we can recall.

We had a great experience at our own leisure and hope to go back again in the near future.

Room Tip: we upgraded to a water view. Because the resort was not sold out we had a hand in selecting our vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    1,237
    636
    322
    199
See reviews for
1593
616
66
514
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We wanted to stay at a Disney "moderate" resort while my husband was attending a business conference at the Orlando Convention Center so that the children and I could take advantage of the Disney transportation system. We did not realize that Coronado Springs also had its own convention center. As a result, there were so many business people going back and forth with their business suits and their wheeled briefcases, that it was hard to relax and feel as if we were at a resort. The food wasn't good at all. There was one fast service cafe, Cafe Rio, but there wasn't much indoor seating and the walk back to our room was too long. As a result, we ended up eating our breakfast in a corner in the bar area. The other restaurants are a buffet type restaurant which had a fenced off from the rest of the resort seating area where the food wasn't very good or a Mexican sit down restaurant which was very pricey. Our room was very small but clean. We liked the double doors that sealed off the bathroom/vanity area from the sleeping portion of the room, but the bath/shower area leaked water all over the bathroom. Because of one of the many conventions going on the 10 days we were there, the main pool, which is very nice, was closed from noon on Sunday (when it finally warmed up to 80), to noon on Monday, our last two days staying there. We have stayed in the past at Pop Century, All Star Music, and Port Orleans Riverside. All of them were more enjoyable stays than this one. This is a beautiful location, but plan to do a lot of walking if you stay here, and plan to eat elsewhere. It's unlikely that we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casitas section and were a long walk from everything. We would recommend the "Caba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Some people think this is a Southwestern United States design and it may be to some degree but for me it represented more of a Central or South American Flair. The hotel is beautifully done and as always the staff is pure Disney. They are professional and go out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. Pepper Market is somewhat of a buffet style with many choices to pick from. You are given a ticket and you go to the area of food type you want, order, they stamp your ticket and then you come back a few minutes later and pick it up. The waiters only bring you drinks and condiments here. Contrary to what another writer said this is a great place to eat. Everything from Steaks, roast chicken to sandwiches or Mexican Cuisine. The other resturant is the Maya Grill. Absolutely 4-Star all the way. The steaks will melt in your mouth and the appetizer is very unique and very good. The Maya Grill is a wonderful experience. It's true the hotel is huge and spread over quite a distant but that does not detract from the overall experience. The rooms are very nice and the pool is great fun. This resort is closest to the Animal Kingdom.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closest to the lobby. The buses start running at 7 and run every 10 mins taking y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family stayed here for approx 10 days (end of April to beginning of May) We all loved it. Being a moderate resort it felt like a deluxe resort. It was beautiful!! We had the dining plan and really enjoyed having the breakfast buffet in the morning. What a fantastic selection!! The pools were great and it was nice having a gym on-site. We have stayed at other Disney resorts in the past...they are all nice, but I think this one so far is our favorite :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've stayed at Animal Kingdom and Port Orleans as well, but we enjoyed our stay at Coronado Springs and felt it was a really good value (for a Disney resort).

The room was large and clean and decorated in a Mayan/Mexican motif. Bed was comfortable and had all the usual Disney stuff there.

The grounds are lovely though the maintenance crews seem to be out early, where we were. Our room was pretty far from the center entrance area, which was not great- a 10-15 min walk. Not bad but its spread apart b/c of the lake. We took the shuttle busses around, which I didnt love and we seemed to wait a lot.

The main pool and hot tub area was great- we loved that. Multiple pools and play areas too. The main check-in/restaurant area was ok- medicore food- I've go elsewhere for that.

Good value, nicer than Port Orleans but definitely not close to the upper tier Disney resorts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on business for 4 nights in November. When we arrived at the airport it was a little difficult finding the Disney express but Great service! The bus driver was very friendly and told us about lol the best things to see in each park.
We had flown most of the day before and all night and arrived a little after 6am. We had called and informed the resort of this well in advance. When we went to check in at about 6:50am they told us our rooms would not be ready until 3-5pm and they had no waiting facilities what so ever. We ended up having breakfast and then sitting around til about 11am when they informed me they had changed my room to one that was ready. My co worker did not such luck and ended yup waiting another 45 min before she went to the front desk and told them that this was ridiculous, after speaking to the manager they gave her a room but informed her they were giving her someone else's room.
After arriving in my room I soon realized the power in half the room did not work including the tv and outlets on the desk. I called the front desk after taking a nap and they did come fix the tv but not the rest.

Rooms are average, beds are comfortable enough. Bathroom is very small the water out of the shower facet sprayed everywhere.

Grounds were beautiful but huge and some rooms were very far away. That did not bother me at all but for anyone who has a hard time walking I don't recommend it.

Pool was nice, there were 2 small pools and then the main one that included a kiddy pool and water slide. There were activities at this pool for children which is nice.

We were not impressed by the food. There is pretty much the same food at all the restraints open during the day. We never did eat at the main Mexican place but it only served dinner. There is another eatery but it is buffet style which is a waste of money for me. It's 14.99 for breakfast and 16.99 for lunch so unless you can eat that much worth of food not worth it.

I got a pedicure at the spa that was not worth it. I would not waste your money on anything at the spa.

Overall the stay was ok. Free shuttles to the parks I'd nice but I would choose a different resort next time.

Room Tip: If anyone has problems walking a long waysbmakensure you ask for one close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stay there for four night during a medical conference. Expect delay if you take the free Disney's Magic Express Bus from the airport to the hotel, you have to wait for the bus to come and getting on the bus was slow and they make stop at another hotel first. The service at the hotel is poor and the properties looked a bit dated. My room was at the other end of the hotel and I have to walk a distance to the lobby or restaurant. The room is good size but with small bathroom. It is enough for a family of four. The food at the resort is expensive and very poor even for Disney's standard. The pool is only so so. Like all of the other Disney's resort, there are different buses for different theme parks and Downtown Disney.

Room Tip: Ask for room closer to the hotel lobby, so you don't have to walk too much especially after a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Coronado Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Coronado Springs Resort

Address: 1000 W Buena Vista Dr, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#93 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#152 Family Hotel in Orlando
#181 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Coronado Springs Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Coronado Springs Resort is a Southwest-themed Disney Moderate Resort hotel encircling Lago Dorado—a glimmering 22-acre lake—that evokes the spirit and romance of Spanish-colonial Mexico. Follow in the footsteps of explorer Don Francisco de Coronado as he searched for the legendary Seven Cities of Gold while you discover the beauty and fantasy of a unique Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Disney's Coronado Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Coronado Springs Hotel Orlando
Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Resort
Disneys Coronado Springs Resort
Disney Coronado Springs Hotel
Disneys Coronado Springs Hotel
Coronado Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Coronado Springs Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.