We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expectations but......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Expectations but......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2006

Great start. Checked in with no problems at 11am. (normally 16:00!)
Were directed to the car park for building 5. (go for the car park for building 4 as this is closer to building 5!)
The overall look of the resort is great.

The room was a bit dissapointing given that we had just stayed at the Residence Inn by Seaworld. (see reveiew!) It was small and dark even though we were on a corner with two windows.

Breakfast at the cafe was fine with a reasonable choice.

The security in the resort is great. You have to have your room cards to get past the security at the gate.

To get the full benefit of the magic hours and boat to Downtown Disney a stay of at least a week would have been better. (we only stayed four nights)

  • Liked — Location for theme parks and downtown disney
  • Disliked — lack of light in the rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — make use of the magic hours and boat to downtown disney
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,719
    1,248
    328
    105
    52
See reviews for
2,037
685
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

I have been to Disney World on three times over twenty years and have always stayed outside the parks. I was hesitant to pay the extra money to stay on site, but my wife talked me into it.

We decided to pay for a moderate hotel over the value ones, in hopes of avoiding the noise of children. We also read multiple reviews on various sites and they all stated that the smaller size of this resort made the stay here so much better.

We were given a room on the third floor of building seven and I can honestly say this is one of the quietest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. A huge selling point and not what I have come to expect as of late. I was thrilled by just how quiet and undisturbed we were. We were in building seven which was far from the lobby, but not worth complaining about. Its probably one reason it was so quiet.

The room was clean and larger than I was guessing. I liked the curtain that you could pull to seperate the sink area from the bedroom. This was nice when I woke first and didn't want to disturb my wife. Everything was spotless and we had no complaints.

The resort is beautiful and nice and we were amazed just how safe you felt no matter what the time of night. That's something you can't say if you stay off the Disney grounds. The transportation was great and we only used the car to drive to other resorts for dinner or to see SeaWorld or Universal.

The cafe on site is good for breakfast, but pretty bad for lunch/dinner. We did enjoy milkshakes and fresh fruit which were nice changes, but avoid the pizza. We ate all our lunches and dinners at parks and other resorts, but one because we were on the dining plan.

We would certainly stay here again. The only reason we would stay somewhere else is to experience a different theme. I am not sure it would be worth what we would be giving up!

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — On site dining
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2006

We just returned from our trip 10/28 thru 11/5 and overall had a pleasant vacation. My husband, self and 2 year old had a good time. Our room was in building 4-which was great as it was close to the pool, foodcourt and bus stop! Excellent didn't have to walk far for anyone. Our room had 2 double beds-which worked well for my 2 year old and they even gave us a bed rail which was awesome as neither myself or husband had to sleep with her so she wouldn't roll out of bed, but my husband and I found that the bed was tight for the 2 of us. The room was comfy-nothing special. Housekeeping did come everday and supplied us with clean towels and made our beds-but other than that nothing much else was done. The tub wall tiles needed a bit of scrubbing-as mildew was starting to appear and our floor could have used some vaccumming as our 2 year old had spilled some goldfish on the floor and had crushed it into the carpet. This occured at the start of our trip and it was still there the day we left! Housekeeping was very friendly and did leave our 2 year old a towel doll and duck on our 2 last nights!
Food: overall ok nothing gourmet. Typical fast food, quick lines. RECOMMEND the resort mugs for $11 free refills that was great!
Pool: GREAT- We were only in the kiddie pool but the large pool looked just as good and alot of people seemed to enjoy it.
Also there is a great playground next to the pool for kids. My 2 year old had a blast! And for us older adults a Hot Tub-it was great!!
Transportation: Buses are GREAT!! Never had to wait longer than 5 mins. Only Complaint is that some drivers don't know which buses come and go from different resorts. They should be a bit more knowledgable in that aspect. Also a + French Quarter is always picked up first for the parks and dropped off first as well GREAT when u have kids! Ohh and also if u are coming back to the hotel at night from a park with small kids pack a coat. The Buses are very COLD!! The have the Air Conditioner Pumping and it gets very cold
Also note, during the night the resort does most of its maintance so u will hear blowers and trucks coming and going and backing up. SO we were awaken several times at the wee hours of the morning with this noise.

Overall though this resort is awesome, great price, perfect for families. Would stay hear again without a doubt!

  • Liked — CLose proximity to theme parks
  • Disliked — Night time maintance on resort
  • Tips/Secrets — Resort Refill mugs
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

My husband, two children and I had a wonderful stay at POFQ in mid October.

Our room was very clean and house keeping was excellent. They were respectful of the 'do not disturb' sign, quiet when in the rooms adjacent to us and always left our room super clean.

The bus system was great. We had no long waits coming or going to the parks. It was nice to not have to drive for the week.

The food was mediocre, but always very fresh, large portions and served by happy cast members. The food court was never too busy or loud, and it was never messy or dirty in our experience.

The pools were wonderful for our kids (3 and 5). They loved the slide, but older kids might be looking for something more thrilling. The most activity we saw in the pool was late at night, and it could be quite loud. I wouldn't stay near the pool.

The laundry facility was clean and the machines were in good working order. It was $2 to wash, $2 to dry. There is a retractable clothes line in the bathroom, but I found it took a really long time for things to air dry.

Overall, POFQ was an excellent place for us to stay. Being onsite, in a smaller resort was just right for us. We found it to be a great place to return to after a crazy day in a park, and a great place to spend downtime.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2006

Myself and my boyfriend recently spent 7 days at the French Quarter resort (27th Oct - 2nd Nov). I chose the hotel based on previous reviews on the hotel and I was not disappointed.

It was much smaller than other disney resorts which made queues and services much better. We arrived earlier than recommended and they checked us in straight away and organised transport back to the airport for our return journey at no cost. Staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were very clean and were serviced every day. They were a great size and had a fridge, 2 double beds, TV and air conditioning. The bus stops to the parks are a very short walk from any part of the resort and it was also the first pick-up. We never had to wait for any bus for more than 5 minutes. The bus only made one more stop to the hotel's sister resort - Port Orleans Riverside.

On returning from the parks we were also the first to be dropped off. There is also a great boat that takes you staight to downtown disney (the staff that run these are great - they give you loads of info - and even told us that there is going to be a NEW PARK especially suited to teenagers/adults!!) The pool at the hotel was great and had a towel service. The hotel seemed to be slightly more grown up than other resorts. It was also incredibly clean and the grounds were very well maintained with lots of wildlife. The restaurant was a bit like a canteen but was extremely reasonable - around $5 each for breakfast and about $10 each for lunch/dinner. There was much more variety than the parks and downtown disney restaurants (and in some cases much better food - we paid $70 in Planet Hollywood and the food was BAD and the bill was on the table before we finished our main course).

Top Tips:
1. Buy a refill mug - $11 and refill as much as you like at the resort.
2. If you want to eat in downtown disney, try to book! (the resort staff give you a booklet with all numbers in it and to ring is free). If you want to eat in the Rainforest Cafe - BOOK!! There is a 2 hour wait time even in October (the Rainforest Cafe at Animal Kingdom is much better however).
3. If you want a character breakfast, book a couple of weeks in advance.
4. Try House of Blues and Bongos in Downtown Disney - the best meals we had - and the only places that we got vegetables on our plates and didn't sell just burgers and fries.
5. Try booking it through Disney's website - I am from the UK and booked it through their UK website and found this was the cheapest by far

Definitely give this hotel a go - I would truly recommend it!!

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Decor was a bit odd
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy a refill mug and go in October - no queues!!! ( we did the 2 universal parks in a matter of hours)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

We made the perfect choice in deciding to stay at this fabulous hotel! We actually had booked the Corronado Springs hotel but switched to the Port Orleans after reading the Trip Advisor comments. Boy, were we glad! The Port Orleans was still small enough (when compared to the other Disney properties) that we could run to the food court for a refill (of course, we got the refillable mugs!) and still enjoy the New Orleans Mardi Gras ambiance as we walked to our room.
Our room was great! I was expecting horrendous noise from the power toilet flushes after reading about them on this site, and was pleasantly surprised by the outcome. Our room was clean, we had a fridge,iron and internet access (for a fee). One day our mousekeeping uded our mouse ears hat and turned the towels into a little face with the hat on top. Too Cute!
The food court was fabulous! The bignets (Louisiana doughnuts) were prepared as we watched, just as in New Orleans! There were tons of choices at a good price for all meals. (We found out that the food pricing is directly related to the room pricing in Disney. The same rice krispie treat costs far more at the Grand Floridian than it does at the All Star Sports hotel.) The mardi gras float decor was kitchy, but fun!
Getting in to the Magic Kingdom an hour early as an on-site guest saved us a ton of wait time! We even got to stay 3 hours later than regular guests at Epcot. Another bonus of this hotel was the free boat ride to Pleasure Island/Downtown Disney. One night we took the ride there and back just for a relaxing break.

  • Liked — Disney quality
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

Stayed at Disney at this resort October 7 - October 11, 2006.
Was a family trip with my sister, her husband and 2 kids as well as our parents.

Hotel is listed by Disney as Moderate resort and cost was approximately $140/night. I last stayed on Disney in 1995 at the Wilderness Lodge which is a Deluxe resort. It's sister hotel is Port Orleans - Riverside which is a 10minute walk away along a canal. Riverside is much bigger in terms of occupancy than French Quarter and has a buffet rest. and an a la carte rest. as well as a good size bar that serves appetizers/snack type fare.
Staying at either resort gives you priveleges at both.

ROOMS - We had a room with a king bed that was in building 5 directly opposite the Laundromat and just steps from the pool. Room was a decent size with 2 sinks/vanities outside the bathroom. Bathroom itself was small but clean. Bed was comfortable and room came with a min-fridge which was a bonus.

PROPERTY - Grounds have French Quarter /Mardi-gras them as does the pool which has it's own waterslide for the kids. There is also a playground for the kids just outside the pool area. Pool area clean with plenty of chairs and 3 lifeguards on duty at all times. There are bathrooms with showers and changing area at the pool for those who can't get a late check out but want to enjoy the pool on get-a-way day. There is also a pool bar that serves just about everything and has 2 TV's for viewing. It did not serve food. They also have a gift/convenience store which in addition to souvenirs sold beer/wine/alcohol various snacks and sundries.

FOOD - There is only 1 restaurant which is a buffet and appeared to be open 24 hours. Food was average. Geared mostly toward families with kids so there were many different types of food to choose from. Service a little slow but given their are over 1000 rooms most with families in them it is understandable. The have small bar next to restaurant which has all your favorite drinks, 2 TV's and entertainment on certain nights...open until about 1am. You can also eat at sister hotel Port Orleans - Riverside. They have a much bigger buffet area restaurant as well as an a la carte restaurant. Also, they have over 2000 rooms so plan accordingly.

SERVICE - except for the restaurant service was prompt and with a smile.

TRANSPORTATION - Buses pick you up right outside front of hotel for all parks. Behind the pool is a water shuttle that takes you to the Riverside hotel or to Downtown Disney (approx 15 min ride). Never had to wait more than 10 min for a bus and on one occasion where there were more people waiting for a particular bus than could be accomodated the driver called in for a second bus which arrived within minutes of the first bus.

Overall a decent hotel for families. Would not recommend for couples or singles.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food options/night life
  • Tips/Secrets — If you want a king bed in your room arrange before arriving. Most rooms have 2 doubles.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#25 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#37 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.