We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our first time to America and First time At Disney and we had a wonderful holiday. We came with our family which included our son my daughter and her partner and their two children aged 6 and 3 and found this hotel was highly suited to us all. The pool and slide was great for both the children and us, so clean, loads of life guards, free use of life jackets for the children, as many towels as you needed on hand and plenty of sun beds and the hot tub was wonderful after a day in the parks. The staff could not do enough for us always courteous and kind, handing out mardi gras beads and lucky pennies (doubloons) to the children or mickey mouse stickers. The New Orleans music was playing everywhere even on the buses but not loud enough to be intrusive and the New Orleans theme was a change from the Mickey Mouse Characters in the parks. We were in block 6 and this was perfect looking out over the lawn/river where the Marsh Mallows were toasted every evening on the patio and on which the Disney films were played in the evening, towels to lay on were provided as well. We all loved the River boat ride to Downtown Disney and found the scenery stunning lots of wildlife around and fishing if you wish to try this. We went up to the Riverside hotel a couple of times used the river boat and also walked as its not far and just to try it ate there and also try their pool but although possibly a little more choice of food it was much the same as FQ and we definitely preferred the pool at FQ, a bit more choice in Riverside shop but that was all. FQ is smaller and more compact and we found everything easy to get to. Lots of little touches made our holiday and Disney do seem to think of everything. Even toilet facilities everywhere on Disney hotels and parks were immaculate and water points were provided nearly at every turn. We cannot wait to go back and would love to return to FQ my husband is a bit fussy but he loved the space, peacefulness and well maintained gardens which surrounded it. Also two lifts to all floors and free use of large ice machines on every floor, great at night on returning with cold water in your Disney mug.

Room Tip: Block six was good for us not far from anything pool, food court, buses nice and quiet we were on 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,867
    1,362
    372
    115
    55
See reviews for
2,209
770
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay the the French Quarters. We normally stay at the campground and since FQ is close to Fort Wilderness we were able to enjoy both. The rooms were a normal hotel room size and we had garden view which was perfect for us. I don't like the noise from the pool and was afraid we would hear it at building 2, but that wasn't a problem. We were close to transportation and the lobby but not too close. The one con was the boat service to downtown Disney. If you have dinner reservations make sure u give yourself plenty of time. The boat picks up from riverside first.. Always.. And leaves only about 10 spots for FQ guest, and if there is a wheelchair or stroller then be prepared to wait longer. It would be nice it the people with the strollers would fold them up before getting on the boats, it would make more room for other guest.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We are a party of five adults staying at the Port Orleans French Quarter for one week during 2013 xmas week. It was our very first visit to Disney and it was one of the most busiest time at Disney. The decoration was beautiful at the hotel lobby. Staffs were very helpful and polite, everywhere we turned, all staffs would say, "Have a magical time" to you!
We stayed at this Moderate resort as a compromise between Deluxe and Value; we were very pleased. We spent most of the time around Disney resort that we honestly would not fully utilize the Deluxe resort. Although some Deluxe resort offers more dining option on site and some are just so close to the Magic Kingdom which other people may preferred.
For us, French Quarter is quite convenient to all four parks. Bus ride to Magical Kingdom is not the closet but often felt the shortest bus ride (guess it depends on the route it travels). We took water taxi to Downtown Disney, it appeared to be quite slow, but if you stuck on a bus which travels through downtown Disney back to the resort would be even longer ride time!
Overall, it's a pleasant stay, rooms were clean, air-conditioning works fine, pool opens late which we could enjoy at the end of the day after long day at the park. Staffs are friendly. However, there were a lot of different quarters within the French Quarter, plus we were on the top third floor, not close to the elevator. We often just use the stairs.

- Laundry facility is available right by the pool, remember to bring credit card as the machine only accepts credit card!!

- We found this resort has less children... so, for us, as all adults, it is quite pleasant. So, it is upto personal and family perference.

- Only one fastfood style restaurant on site. The food was okay and filling.

- Staying at Disney and utilize the extended Magic Hours for Disney resort only guests is definitely a ++++. We will return to Disney and no doubt will stay at Disney resort. You just save so much time waiting in line for the first hour before the park open to public, plus you save time in driving in, taking shuttle in to different parks. All you need to do is get up, wait at bus stop at your resort and off to the park.

Room Tip: For senior or people who is not comfortable with walking up stairs, please ask for buildings that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Port Orleans resort in Walt Disney World is fabulous, fantastic area for great walks, so relaxing, plenty of lakeside walks, trees and lovely buildings, boat to downtown Disney, the food court caters for most needs, staff very friendly and helpful, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

this was our first visit since 2008 and our daughter is now 11. she is now very aware that she is not little any more so took 2 days to stop being to cool to appreciate how great Disney is !!!!!!!!!!
French quarter is great so compact (in Disney terms) but it has everything on your door step. building 4 is spot on near the bus stop near the pool near the food court (I went to get drinks each morning as the lazy lumps slept only to wake as hot drinks appeared at the bedside tables. we went to reception a lot more than in the past again as it was so close to just ask for information as required.
the boat service to the larger riverside area was a nice touch but it was a nice walk to it as well and the shop and food court were afforded more choice due to there size and this where the table service facility is but on this visit we did not have a meal there
one thing you notice at Disney is nothing is left to chance they are very good at what they do and if you ask they can help you with anything in our experience which is really appreciated as these trips are expensive when you travel from the uk
the hotel was great and is big part of the experience in as much as if you can do everything easily at base camp it puts you in the right frame of mind for the rest of the trip and our daughter fell in love with mickey all over again sleeping with her new fluffy mickey most nights (and sparky and giant stitch)

Room Tip: block 4 either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

It is a smaller resort. It is also close to Best Friends Pet Care. This was our first time staying here and we absolutely loved it. When we checked in to our room the refrigerator was not working. I went to the concierge desk to report this. in less than 10 minutes someone was in the room to check on it. The fridge was plugged into the wrong plug. Less than 5 minutes after this person left a supervisor came by to make sure that we had been taken care of. she told us to let them know immediately if there were any more problems. I can not say enough about the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. The only reason they got 5 stars is because I could not give them 6.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the French Quarter for 14 nights from 31 May. I travelled with my partner, 2 kids (6 and 3), my brother and my parents. This was our first trip to Disneyworld and America.
We chose the French Quarter on recommendation of my friend who visits Disneyworld evey other year and we were so pleased we did. The place is amazing, the staff are friendly and in the main try to help where they can. The rooms are nice but then again we didn't spend much time in the room. It is a small resort with only the 1 bustop unlike its sister hotel Riverside which had 4 bustops! We never waited more than 5 minutes for a bus. Another positive is the lovely boat trip to downtown Disney or Riverside. My kids loved this and felt it was a ride in itself. The pool was great and the kids loved that as well as toasting marshmallows each night and watching the movie under the stars.
We stayed in block 6 which was perfect location as next to the lawn with the campfire and movies.
All in all this was he BEST holiday we have ever been on and the French Quarter helped make that experience. The kids loved the Mardi gras beads and the pennies given out most days.
As it was a small complex everyone we met was nice and friendly.
We just can't wait to go back!!!!!!
AMAZING is all I can say.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#39 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the romance and pageantry of New Orleans's historic French Quarter at this Resort hotel, where cobblestone streets, gas lamps, wrought-iron balconies and fragrant magnolia blossoms evoke the Antebellum era and colorful Mardi Gras characters and jazz keep things lively. Then stroll along the Sassagoula River to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside, home to Cajun and Creole specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.