We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter to your Saves list
Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Quiet resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I really liked the theming of this resort, it didn't SCREAM Disney like the value resorts do. It also was quite calm and laid back, there weren't tons of kids running around. It seemed like it would be a great resort for couples or people with older kids. The rooms were a bit small compared to your standard hotel outside of Disney, but I think they are pretty standard for on property. The pool was nice, and I liked that it is pretty compact so you were never far from the pool or the lobby or the gift shop. I didn't actually eat a meal at the resort as we ate in the parks every day, but the one thing some people complain about is the lack of a sit down restaurant. Really, I'd only go to the sit-down at a resort if it was one of the deluxe resorts, so this did not bother me. I would definitely stay here again, especially on an adults-only trip. I want to take the horse-drawn carriage ride through the resort as well. I think young kids might be bored here. Transportation wise, this resort was running it's own bus to the parks and not sharing which was nice, but even so sometimes you'd get multiple buses showing up for one park, and it could take a long time to get the one for the park you wanted. I didn't get to try the boat to downtown Disney, but I suspect that is more efficient than the bus.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,794
    1,305
    358
    112
    53
See reviews for
2,117
735
45
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

On the last night of a 14 night stay and it has been great we have had no problems here at all. The rooms were a good size for myself, my husband and two teenage boys they were cleaned daily to a high standard. The food was fine not top quality but a good choice of fast food staff were friendly and had no problems. We stayed at Coronado Springs last year which I prefered looks wise but french quarter wins hands down for the size of the resort everything is very compact and a short walk to everything. Had no problem with disney transport and only waited once for more than 10mins some buses are shared with the riverside so that can sometimes add to your journey. The pool was nice and there were always sunbeds available also movies under the stars on thr grassed area between buildings. If I decided to visit disney again i wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The grounds were well kept and spacious. The room was a tad small for four of us but nice and clean. Not really what I expected from a Disney Resort, not a lot going on, but at the end of a long day in the parks I guess it's a bit of a blessing. The location of the room was great, in terms of being close to the amenities because we didn't have far to walk at all. The pool area was nice, although the first time we visited it, the water changed colour for some reason so it was everybody out and the second time it was everybody out because of an impending storm. Gave up after that!
The food was ok, basic, didn't do the dining plan. Should have a proper restaurant on site where you can have a proper cooked breakfast if you want one
Transport was ok, every 20 minutes or thereabouts. A bit of a drag coming back from Downtown Disney at the end of the day because it drives past the French Quarter first but drops off at all the Riverside stops before eventually dropping you off
Overall I enjoyed the holiday mainly because of my granddaughter, being her first time at Disney. If your looking for somewhere quiet and pleasant to stay in Disney then look no further. If your looking for excitement within this resort, then there's every chance you will be disappointed
I have given four stars mainly for cleanliness and no hassle. It's unlikely, I personally would stay at this resort again but only because if in the event of ever returning to Florida, I would probably want to try a different resort

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we would stay here again. 2 adults , 2 boys age 6 and 9. we enjoyed being in a building near the pool. lifeguards were outstanding. pool has a nice slide. food is good, but we really enjoyed walking to nearby Riverside and eating the pasta there. it was way more than enough food. room was clean. really enjoyed the no worries of driving and riding the bus to theme parks and riding the boat to downtown Disney. if you are on the Disney quick service dining plan, you can use bottle water or tea, etc as a snack item. of course you will want to get 1 mickey mouse ice cream with the snack option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We expected more from a Disney hotel, the grounds were nice, the water taxi, and the bus services were first class. It was however very disappointing with the so called cafeteria, which served poor food very poorly, and at Disney prices. We were compelled to use the Market Place for an eatery. The food there was good if somewhat pricy. This was our sixth visit to the Orlando area, in the past we have used an offsite hotel in Kissimmee, with a self drive car. The latter option we would use again if we travel to Florida in the future.
We felt like prisoners without our own wheels, but this was our grand-childrens first Disney visit, which they enjoyed, so at the end, and because of them we enjoyed ourselves, particularly as one of the children had been there for therapy for a brain tumour.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very nice, well maintained grounds. Pool is nice. Small children enjoy the slide, but they will need to know how to swim...or the hotel will also supply a life jacket. The service and staff are great. The rooms are clean and quiet. They rooms are a little small for a family of 4, but you have little time in the room when you are in Disney World. Bus service to the parks was great.

Room Tip: The lower numbered buildings are closer to the lobby, pool, ans restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful, if your a walker this resort is gorgeous to wander around. I give it a 10/10. The room was cleaned to high standard everyday, the Disney bus service came every 15 minutes and we never had a problem once getting onboard. The hotel has a "movie under the stars" every night at 9 which was really fun. The food court had plenty of variety and if you can get the Disney Dining plan do it! It saved us so much money! (Downtown Disney there is a tasty place to eat called Wolf Gang Pack Express - you can use your Disney Dining plan here and it's where we ate mostly).

Also they have different things going on around the resort so pick up a leaflet at reception with the timetable of activities.

The pool temperature was not to hot not to cold, not too busy either and the outdoor spa was so nice & relaxing after a long days walking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter

Address: 2201 Orleans Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Formerly Port Orleans Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#35 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#40 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Port Orleans Resort – French Quarter is inspired by the romance and pageantry of the historic French Quarter in New Orleans, and where every day is a celebration. Step through a wrought-iron portal into an alluring world of delicious Cajun food, jazz music and dazzling parades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Port Orleans Resort
Port Orleans French Quarter
Port Orleans Orlando
Disney Port Orleans French Quarter
Disney Port Orleans Hotel
Disneys Port Orleans Resort French Quarter
Port Orleans Disney
Disneys Port Orleans Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Port Orleans Resort - French Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.